We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On top of the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lodge at Telluride

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Lodge at Telluride to your Saves list
Mountain Lodge at Telluride
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   457 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 for 1 breakfast
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“On top of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Driving up the hill to the hotel, my husband was dismayed we were seemingly far from downtown Telluride. Ah, fear not! There is a superb free gondola system that efficiently whisks you down the hill like royalty. The resort is perfectly situated so that gorgeous views of the mountains abound. We were so lucky to get some Sept snow to make the vistas breathtaking in every direction. Front desk staff were very professional and helpful. Our condo room was very well appointed, comfortable, and kept immaculately clean every day. There is also a very well stocked supermarket right next to the gondola boarding station. I would have to say my husband and I enjoyed every minute of our stay and would return without any reservations.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello OneilPasnik!

Thank you so much for your nice review. It's very gratifying to hear that our staff was helpful and professional. It's great that you were able to time your stay for the somewhat surprising amount of snow on the peaks here in September. It's also great to hear of your pleasant experience getting around on the free gondola. It truly beats any traffic-ridden highway. We hope you can come out and see us again soon!

Have a great day!
Doug H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    90
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
193
202
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I like to stay in Mt. Village and this has proven to be a great home base. Very close to market and gondola - a five minute walk, but they will shuttle you there if you want. Kitchen was well stocked. I took advantage of a great package that included parking and a 4x4 excursion that turned out to be a very good deal. Mt. Lodge was less expensive than most other Mt. Village properties that I priced. Staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: A room with kitchen allows you to eat some meals in
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello J.J!

4x4 trips around Telluride are always a fall highlight what with the emerging golden aspen trees and the often snow-capped mountain tops. We are very grateful that you choose us as a base for these excursions and that you found our staff helpful. Please come see us again soon!

Take care,
Doug H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at the Mountain Lodge Telluride in one of their one bedroom suites. I couldn't have had a better time. From the Front Desk experience, to the bellmen who take your car and shuttle you around the Village, to the awesome rooms. The room is very well appointed, with two tv's in the living room and in the bedroom. There is a two-way fireplace that provides awesome ambiance and heat. There is a full size kitchen, with all of the appliances that you need--even has the Margarita blender! Full size oven and stove, fridge, dishwasher....everything. There is a nice bathroom as well with a glass walled shower and tub. I am going back again, and honestly wouldn't stay anywhere else. They are 200 yards from the Gondola station and the Village market. If it is raining or snowing, there is a free shuttle that takes you right there. It is a ski out hotel as well, with access to the ski run at the bottom of the property. Can it get any better?

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any room on property
See more room tips
Green Features: There is ample recycling available--if you don't do it yourself, the front desk will recycle it for you!
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Kelly A!

We are very glad to hear that you had a good time making margaritas in your "well-appointed" room! Just so you know, we also have a beautiful bar by our pool and hot-tubs that can also make some great margs. But, regardless of what you're up to in your room, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope you can come out and visit us again soon!

Have a great day!
Doug H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Mountain Lodge is a wonderful hotel and is very well located, with easy access to gondola and shopping. It is maintained very well, and rooms, although a bit small, are very comfortable. Telluride in the fall is a glorious place to visit.. actually ANY time of the year is perfect in Telluride and Mountain Lodge is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: we were in a corner room.. great location. The facility is quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello OuttenAbout!

We are glad to see that you enjoyed visiting Telluride and that you found a place in Telluride to park your car for free. Seeing as there is no free parking in Mountain Village, we find it a nice alternative for our guests who want to save $20 (or more if they are staying elsewhere) per night to park their vehicles in town and are glad that you were able to save money that way. You make a good point about stopping to purchase groceries prior to your arrival in Telluride, although I would also add that one would probably do better to shop in Montrose as Ridgway's grocery store is just as expensive as Telluride's options. We our best to accommodate guest requests regarding their lodging, whether they are searching for a mountain view, top floors, pet friendly or free rooms, etc. and we do so as according to the time of booking and when guest requests are made. Should you find the opportunity to visit Telluride and you can not find a reasonable rate in the town of Telluride, we would like to work with you again and get you in the ideal room for you. If you have anything additional that you would like to share concerning your stay here in Mountain Village at the Mountain Lodge, please feel free to contact me directly.

Have a great day!
Doug H
(970) 369-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great place to stay while visiting Telluride. Staff is excellent! Rooms are great! Only drawback is parking issue. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Picture a long drive to Telluride, then drive up the mountain to The Mountain Lodge at Telluride, unload your vehicle(s), drive down the mountain to the free parking lot in town, take the gondola back to the lodge, and start your vacation. Parking is $20/night at the Lodge. The accommodations are nice, not exceptional. If you want to cook and you mistakenly didn't know to stop in Ridgway prior to driving to Telluride, add grocery shopping to your list of things to figure out when you get there. There is a well-stocked grocery store on one of the gondola stops. We stopped for lunch after parking downtown and spent the afternoon shopping. There are wonderful shops, great places to walk by the river, several hiking areas to fit most abilities.

Room Tip: Our balcony view was a parking area. We were on the second floor. The top floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello OuttenAbout!

Thank you for sharing a review on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you found some free parking here in the area as it is hard to come by. We always try to help our guests save money when we can and we think it is great if this option worked for you. Thankfully, the free gondola is quite close to our lodge and that is the primary mode of transit for our guests after their car is parked or they are dropped off by a shuttle. I also find myself in agreement that one can save money by purchasing groceries prior to coming up to Telluride, although I would probably recommend stopping in Montrose or Durango for less expensive options than in Ridgway. Overall, we hope you enjoyed your stay in Telluride and Mountain Village and that you may consider coming back to our lovely town. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here during the Telluride Blues Festival Sept. 2013. Great property. Very clean and secure. The kitchen was stocked with appliances and made cooking meals very easy. Couch folded out into a bed which was convenient for our family. The drive into Mountain Village is breathtaking and the transportation (gondolas) is free. Get here and bring a nice camera. The scenery is majestic and inspiring!

Room Tip: 1 bedroom condo is spacious.
See more room tips
Green Features: Mountain Lodge is a Green Leader. They use biodegradable materials and nn-toxic pesticides.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Lori!

We greatly appreciate your kind comments! We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the scenery here in Telluride and Mountain Village even if you came just a little early to witness our truly majestic fall colors. While it was a much wetter than usual during our Blues and Brews Festival than normal, we think you'd agree it was still a great time. We hope to see you again next year!

Take care!
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Lodge at Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge at Telluride

Address: 457 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Telluride
#2 Business Hotel in Telluride
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#4 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#7 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Lodge at Telluride 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Telluride hotel options include spacious hotel suites and condo rentals. Mountain Lodge Telluride has never been better, with slope-side convenience, upscale amenities and gracious services, Mountain Lodge at Telluride completes the ultimate Telluride skiing experience. Located in the contemporary Mountain Village resort community, our resort is ideally located midway up Telluride Mountain. Surrounded by panoramic views of the majestic San Juan Mountains, our hotel features three log-and-stone buildings and a main lodge, whose tremendous lobby is warmed by an immense river-rock fireplace. Gleaming with rich leather and rustic Western elegance, the lobby also features the View Bar and Grill, perfect for quiet afternoon and evening gatherings while on your Telluride vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mountain Lodge at Telluride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lodge At Telluride Hotel Telluride
Mountain Hotel Telluride
Telluride Mountain Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lodge at Telluride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.