We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lodge at Telluride

Save Saved
You added Mountain Lodge at Telluride to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Lodge at Telluride
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   457 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Free
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Telluride
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed in a condo here with my dad and two children. Great accommodations! Loved the kitchen, having the washer and dryer and the pool/hot tub were really nice. The exercise room also looked nice, but didn't have time to try it out. Very nice location, right by the gondola station. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hello Acgator!

Thank you for staying with us this August! Seeing as the record temperature for August 6th in Telluride was 75 degrees in 1996, you may understand why very few hotels and houses have air conditioning in the area. While we do provide fans in all of the rooms, I can understand that sometimes people will mistake the heat control to be air conditioning in our rooms, thus producing latent heat that may rise through the building. We are glad to hear that you found the staff of our hotel helpful and friendly. We are glad that you enjoyed the suite as well. Concerning the upkeep of our hotel, we agree that the carpet needs to be replaced and we are hoping to do so soon. The parking fee is clearly stated on our website as it is on all 3rd party websites. If you can prove otherwise, I would happily refund your parking fee.

We hope you come visit Telluride again!
Doug
(970)-369-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    80
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
185
192
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here on a week-day night in early August. We booked a suite because we were told there was no AC in any of the rooms, but we could open the porch doors in a suite if it got hot. Mind you, this is a room that cost $200.00+ per night. When we arrived, we were told there would be an additional $20.00 per night for parking. Absolutely no mention of this on the booking site. The suite was very nice; the kitchen was well appointed, the bed was very comfortable, the furniture was of fine quality, but the carpet was stained and frayed. I've seriously seen better carpet in budget chain hotels. The restaurant was a bar-grill with a limited menu. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a nice stay, but it there are better values in the area. Probably our one and only stay here.

Room Tip: Get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our third trip to Telluride for the jazz festival. We chose Mountain Lodge based on reviews from this website, but, have stayed at other accomodations that were nicer. We had a suite, but the kitchen was barely furnished. There are no ceiling fans in any of the rooms so it was very stuffy, even with the Windows and balcony door opened. Forget the restaurant, and, the bartender could not have been more detached. The suite was dated and needs refreshing. The balcony was ok, if you like looking at the unit across the street. Overall, keep shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hello Reikigirl!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us over Jazz Festival! Reading your review raises a few questions, as we would like to know more specifics (i.e. what was missing in your kitchen, what was going on in the restaurant when you went there, how the room was stuffy when the temperatures barely reached 70 degrees during your stay). We value your input and would like to know more as we strive to be the best value and the friendliest hotel in Mountain Village. Please contact me directly if you would like to provide us with additional feedback.

Have a great day!
Doug
(970) 369-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetrista, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Mountain Lodge was a great place to stay for our first visit to Telluride. We stayed in a suite that had 1 BR plus a loft with 2 twin beds. The living space was super. The view of the river from our balcony was perfect.

The pool is not huge, but worked fine for the kids. They enjoyed the hot tub that was adjacent to the pool too. And there are noodles and diving rings right at the pool to use. Great to have bar service right there for the adults too. The kids liked that the pool was open late.

My husband and I both utilized the fitness center. The equipment is fine - enough for the workout we both needed.

All the Staff were very kind, polite and attentive to all our needs.

Prior comments note the lighting - this is true - the rooms are all kind of dark. And the cleaning - not the worst - but we did find cobwebs on some things and places that hadn't been vacuumed.

Overall, we were very happy here and would definitely return. The kids loved it. The location was fantastic and the views were wonderful.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the river - not the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello Bauer Family!

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us here at the Mountain Lodge on Tripadvisor. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Telluride! We are working on the lighting as well as working with our housekeeping staff to ensure that all rooms are cleaned to our strict requirements. We hope you get the chance to return to Telluride and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel - but for a few problems. The location is excellent, only a very cool gondola ride away from Telluride. The gondola is free and runs until midnight - not a problem for us, but if you stay out later, it could be an issue. The staff was also excellent - very thoughtful and quick to help. There is a great pool that stays open late - perfect for the kids after day of hiking and biking. As far as the room, it was very large and well appointed. That being said, it had a few build quality issues and, for some reason, was very dark. It seems like they changed all the light bulbs to florescent - but set to a level that made everything very dark. The biggest problem was the cleaning staff - basically it was horrible. There was hair in the tub upon arrival and later we found garbage placed under the sink - all in all the room was not cleaned well. I mentioned this to the staff directly and things improved - for the most part. But still - that's pretty gross so I can't give the property the highest rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello "Procurare!"

It is great to hear that your family had a good time in Telluride. We appreciate your input regarding the housekeeping. We strive to ensure that our rooms are cleaned up to stringent specifications and in this case we clearly missed the mark. For that, we humbly apologize and are working with our staff to make certain that we are meeting these standards. With regards to the lighting, we are in the slow and somewhat expensive process of changing our lighting from CFLs to LEDs. This will improve the brightness in the rooms as well as save on our utility bill. At the end of the day, we want our guests to enjoy their clean, well light rooms, after enjoying our beautiful surroundings during the daytime. We hope you get the chance to come visit Telluride again and we would really like to work with you again.

Have a great day!
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

First let me say that I had originally booked a hotel room, not a suite. The hotel rooms at the Mountain Lodge are extremely small, they do not provide a desk or a fridge or any extras and it is a very tight squeeze. I upgraded to a Junior Suite, which I have to say is a really nice room, very spacious and nice, upgraded finishes. My big complaint is with the noise. I can hear every footstep and every chair that is being moved around in the room above me. As a business traveler, I would not stay here again, it has been very hard to get work done with the constant noise above me. On the other hand, if you do not plan on spending much time in your room, this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a top floor to avoid noisy upstairs neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello Ann!

We are glad to hear that you appreciated the larger room over the smaller one. Many of our guests who are only using their hotel room as a place to sleep like the less expensive price of a lodge room, whereas people working remotely prefer the much larger junior suites and one bedroom suites. In your case, you were situated under a unit that was not in our rental pool until very recently. We have plans to improve the soundproofing of that unit as we intend to bring it up to the specifications we have set for our rooms. We hope that will improve the experience of those below it as well as the guests who rent it. Overall, we hope that you had a successful trip to our town and that you may reconsider us in the future. If there is anything else that you would like to speak about with regards to your stay with us here at the Mountain Lodge, please feel free to contact me directly at 970-369-5000.

Have a great day,
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night while passing through Telluride. We were in a suite, which had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a full kitchen. The only negative was that one of the bedrooms had two twin beds instead of a king or queen, which we didn't know when we booked it. Everything was very clean and the staff was very friendly. They provided a shuttle to the free gondola (which is amazing) and gave us suggestions of places to eat in town. It's not a cheap place to stay, but you receive great service and nice accommodations. The views are absolutely incredible. It is back in the mountains and away from town. I would love to come back in the winter when everything is covered in snow!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello Austin_Autumn!

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Mountain Lodge! We are happy to hear that you had a good, if short, time in our town and at our hotel. One thing to note is that we do have rooms with split kings in the upstairs loft bedroom, which can be used as either a single king or two beds. We also have two bedroom condos that have a king bed in the master bedroom and a queen in the adjoining bedroom. We always do our best to ensure that our guests have the accommodations that fit them the best and we would really like to work with you again should you be coming back our way. We hope you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Lodge at Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge at Telluride

Address: 457 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Telluride
#2 Business Hotel in Telluride
#2 Green Hotel in Telluride
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#4 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#4 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#6 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Lodge at Telluride 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Telluride hotel options include spacious hotel suites and condo rentals. Mountain Lodge Telluride has never been better, with slope-side convenience, upscale amenities and gracious services, Mountain Lodge at Telluride completes the ultimate Telluride skiing experience. Located in the contemporary Mountain Village resort community, our resort is ideally located midway up Telluride Mountain. Surrounded by panoramic views of the majestic San Juan Mountains, our hotel features three log-and-stone buildings and a main lodge, whose tremendous lobby is warmed by an immense river-rock fireplace. Gleaming with rich leather and rustic Western elegance, the lobby also features the View Bar and Grill, perfect for quiet afternoon and evening gatherings while on your Telluride vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Mountain Lodge at Telluride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lodge At Telluride Hotel Telluride
Mountain Hotel Telluride
Telluride Mountain Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lodge at Telluride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.