We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lodge at Telluride

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Lodge at Telluride to your Saves list
Mountain Lodge at Telluride
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   457 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 for 1 breakfast
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistently good accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have come to Telluride three times in the last few years and always stayed at the Mountain Lodge.
The location is not very practical if you spend most of your time in Telluride, but if you don't mind being a bit cut out of the world, this is a good option.
The apartments are spacious and the kitchen is fully equipped with anything you may need. I don't like eating out and I am a decent cook, so having a fully functional kitchen for me is a must. The staff is friendly and the place is reasonably quiet. The food and drink choice at the bar is somewhat limited, but prices are honest and quality is reasonably good.
Now the bad:
There is very limited shopping in mountain village and everything is horribly overpriced, even for Telluride standards. Either you don't mind spending 5 dollars for a pound of pasta, or you will end up doing all your shopping in downtown Telluride. A ride with the gondola down to Telluride will take about 25 minutes.
The pool is nice if you have kids, but it is small and full of children; don't expect to be able to swim in it.
Parking is a bit hectic at times, they will charge you 20 dollars for roadside parking and in busy days you may have problems to find a free spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello Oceanflyer!

We are very thankful to have you as a return guest and we are delighted to hear that you had enjoyed working with our staff and our restaurant. For those that are driving in and plan on using their kitchens, I like to recommend picking up groceries in Montrose, Durango, or Cortez. The prices are typically less than the local markets and, seeing as our town is pretty far departed from any major shipping point, their selection is greater. Regarding our parking situation, we do have limited parking, albeit the least expensive parking in Mountain Village. We work hard to alleviate our guests' headaches of parking in Mountain Village and if people want to park for free, they can park in town and take the free gondola back to us here in the Village. One of the greatest things about this town is that a lot of people don't even need a vehicle considering our free shuttle and the gondola system. Overall, we really hope you enjoyed this summer's visit and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    90
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
193
202
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

excellent staff. bar is well run. pool and hot tubs are excellent. they understand motorcyclists. rooms are great. and you are very close to the gondolas. wonderful place to stay. the pool is open late as are the hot tubs. take a rob with from the room for the walk back.

Room Tip: the cheap queen bed offered on travelocity is small. buy it and upgrade at the desk when you arrive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello BBally!

It greatly pleases us to hear feedback from former guests as yourself. Coming to Telluride on a motorcycle can be a great time, riding through the mountains and enjoying the fun roads in the surrounding area. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and we hope to see you in Telluride again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife, two boys, and I had the best time at Mountain Lodge (ML). It is really a magnificent mountain lodge. Much better than the reviews we read. Nothing negative except we didn't have hot water one evening. We ended up using the club showers. We would have stayed one more night but were shut out of Telluride due to a mudslide. Very clean and serene. kind and helpful staff, like Robert and the patient shuttle drivers, made it great. We also enjoyed the free gondolas just up the street that took us down the mountain into Telluride.

Room Tip: Valet parking provided by ML is good idea. Don't really need a vehicle since the gondolas will t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello Randal!

Thank you for posting such a nice review of us on Tripadvisor! Having worked with Robert and our team of shuttle drivers for several years, I have to absolutely agree that they do a great job. The mudslide did create quite the obstacle that evening and we're just glad that such occurrences are rare. Some people couldn't make it in and some people couldn't make it out, and we are happy that you were able to stay an extra night with us! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was not our first time staying at the Mountain Lodge Resort in Telluride. But its beauty is still in rarest form. Our cabin deck was overlooking a small stream in the woods. The tranquill sound of the stream was extremely relaxing. I could have stayed in the cabin lounging all day, but my family wanted to go on some excursions. When our toaster would not work in our cabin, we saw Edward the maintenance man outside our cabin and let him know. Not 7 minutes later, John came to the door knocking with another toaster. What great service!! When we returned from our excursion , the cleaning crew had our cabin beautifully clean, as if no one had been staying there. The local market is in walking distance from the resort so it was not a long haul and even an enjoyable walk when I needed something.. The gondola was outside on the market patio so that made it easy for our brewd to load up and go to town. Way to go Mountain Lodge. We had an amazing stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Hendrickson, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello Nanette!

Thank you for your nice remarks regarding your stay with us. We never get tired of looking out at our mountains and we are very happy that you enjoyed the views from your cabin. Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent five nights here in the summer season. Enjoyed the area and lodge was in a good location for us (traveling with a dog).

We were upgraded from the one bedroom suite to the one bedroom deluxe for free, and that was nice. This room has a lot of space with a full kitchen (including all the extras, including a blender), washer & dryer, 6 person dining table, double sized balcony, an extra half bath, and roomy sitting area in living room. Surprisingly, the space is a little tighter in the bedroom and bathroom (with only one sink, narrow hallway and bathroom, and very low lighting -- the addition of a lighted mirror to bathrooms for the ladies would be appreciated). It would have been a very clever design to have the fireplace open to both living and bedroom, but it only opens to living room. Tile work, granite countertops, etc all very nice. There is no AC, and upstairs units can heat up a bit on warm days. There is a fan in the unit. Surprisingly, no wall hooks for jackets, but there are plenty of closets. You can hear some noise from above (we were on the 2nd floor); top floor would likely be quieter. Daily housekeeping service was good.

Know that there are not fantastic views from every unit here. Ours did not have a view of the mountains, but overlooked a small stream, some trees and the gondola building. Didn't mind this too much until some loud machine starting running during the days (power washing? Construction?); summer is work time in a mountain village, so be prepared. Certainly, it would help to ask for a room with a view when you reserve, but not sure how many there are here and you'd have to likely pay top dollar. If you have a larger group,inquire about the cabins.

This place is very dog friendly. Good walking/hiking areas from lodge. They supplied a dog bed. Dogs welcome in part of the restaurant.

Ate at the restaurant here once, and food was very good! There is a market a short walk away and plenty of good restaurants in the area.

The concierge was nice, but not very helpful...unable to answer most of our questions; have never had that experience before...new on the job or filling in for someone else? We found most of our answers online (free Internet appreciated!) and the maps were helpful. Everyone working at the lodge was friendly and tried to be helpful.

You really can park your car here (for the annoying $20/day required fee with or without valet) and get around easily. It takes two gondola rides to Telluride (easy) and one to the center of Mtn Village. There are trails all over the mountain to explore. A free shuttle can transport you to the nearest gondola, although it's so close, why not walk?

Last comment: the pool is incredibly small, although has amazing views! It is often full of kids, which makes it not so inviting for adults. Discovered the best time for some quiet in the hot tub/pool was 8-9AM; afternoons can be a zoo. Parents, we know your kids like to have fun in the pool and hope they do, just please teach them pool etiquette around other adults - thx! The exercise room is also very, very small, but hopefully you can get your exercise on the mountain!

Room Tip: Top floor may be quieter. Ask for a room with a view and then ask about the specifics of the view...
See more room tips
Green Features: Able to hang towels to reuse. Did not see a separate container for recycled items in rooms.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello Mtnwanderers!

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor! We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Telluride and at our hotel. I do agree that sometimes, especially during the summer when school is out, the number of kids in our pool can pose issues for those that simply want to relax and enjoy a drink or the sun, or a drink in the sun. That probably goes for many of their parents, as well. Just the same, we are glad that you enjoyed the view from our pool as well as walking around our scenic Mountain Village. We expect our staff should be able to help our guests out with just about any request and we hope that our concierge service did not disappoint you in such a way. If you would like to speak with me regarding any such concern, please feel free to contact me directly at 970-369-5000. We hope that you will come see us again sometime!

Thank you,
Doug H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending three nights at the Mountain Lodge in Telluride, Colorado. Nestled in a mountain village, the Mountain Lodge offers the finest in hotel accommodations and a breath taking view of the rocky mountains. A visitor to the area is surrounded by nature and the opportunity to commune with nature by hiking, biking, or just gazing at nature's most beautiful creations. It's an experience I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding Telluride and the Mountain Lodge. The reason why so many of us live here is exactly that, so that we can get outside and be immersed in a beautiful, clean environment. We hope that you will find the occasion to further explore our town and its striking surrounding wilderness!

Take care,
Doug H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife, son and I just got back from a 3 night stay at the Mountain Lodge. What a great location and wonderful hotel. The staff could not have been better. The hotel is located near the last gondola stop, just a short walk down hill, making it easy to get into the main Mountain Village and town of Telluride. The pool has one of the best views in Colorado. Can't wait to make another trip back.

Room Tip: The rooms in prospect creek building are above a small creek allowing for some great sleeping sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hello Breckenridgebear!

Thank you for submitting a review of us here on Tripadvisor! We are glad to hear your high opinion of our staff. I agree in your assessment that the creek going behind the Prospect Creek building is very pleasant to listen to at night, but I would also like to add that you can hear creeks from the San Sophia and the Double Cabins buildings, as well, provided that the unit is on the creek side of the building. We are also pleased to learn that you enjoyed the view from our pool, too! We look forward to your return and hope you enjoy the rest of your summer in your great ski town, too!

Take care,
Doug H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Lodge at Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge at Telluride

Address: 457 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Telluride
#2 Business Hotel in Telluride
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#4 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#7 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Lodge at Telluride 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Telluride hotel options include spacious hotel suites and condo rentals. Mountain Lodge Telluride has never been better, with slope-side convenience, upscale amenities and gracious services, Mountain Lodge at Telluride completes the ultimate Telluride skiing experience. Located in the contemporary Mountain Village resort community, our resort is ideally located midway up Telluride Mountain. Surrounded by panoramic views of the majestic San Juan Mountains, our hotel features three log-and-stone buildings and a main lodge, whose tremendous lobby is warmed by an immense river-rock fireplace. Gleaming with rich leather and rustic Western elegance, the lobby also features the View Bar and Grill, perfect for quiet afternoon and evening gatherings while on your Telluride vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Lodge at Telluride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lodge At Telluride Hotel Telluride
Mountain Hotel Telluride
Telluride Mountain Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lodge at Telluride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.