We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lodge at Telluride

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Lodge at Telluride to your Saves list
Mountain Lodge at Telluride
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   457 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 for 1 breakfast
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
GreenLeadersGold level
Defiance, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with our 2 night stay at Mountain Lodge. The room was very clean, comfortable, up-to-date, and the views unforgettable. The property was very well cared for and the staff above par. Any future visits to the Telluride area we will definitely be staying again. Wonderful end to another great Colorado vacation!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review about us on Tripadvisor! We are glad to hear that you had a good trip in Colorado and we hope you will come see us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    91
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
194
202
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Been vacationing at Mountain Lodge for 7 years and the place just keeps getting better with each visit. Our most recent vacation was a 7 day stay (June 29th)in a 2 bedroom loft with an awesome mountain view. When we weren't hiking the nearby trails or strolling through town, we simply enjoyed taking in the view form our balcony or sitting by the pool at the lodge which has one of the most amazing views in mountain village.

As others have commented, the lodge staff is simply the best. Friendly, helpful and skilled. The maintenance staff keeps the grounds and building in tip top shape.

As far as the rooms are concerned, they are well appointed with nice furniture, fast internet, flat screen/high def TV's and a full kithchen. Not that u spend alot of time there but when u do it is convenient and relaxing. The concierge does a great job of arranging and recommending activities and most of the local companies will pick u up at the lodge for most adventures.

Highly recommend and will continue to stay at the Mountain Lodge.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Bigeasy!

We are very grateful to have repeat guests as yourself. We look forward to seeing you next time!

Have a great day,
Doug Hendrickson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Any time one takes a first trip to an area, you can be rolling the dice when making an internet reservation. Mountain Lodge proved to be a home run in every conceivable way.

From the location (convenient to the free gondola, outdoor experiences, essentials shopping, etc), to the quality of the property, to the staff, this facility far exceeded our expectations. The staff, in particular, could not have been more friendly, courteous, punctual, timely, and openly honest. I have never experienced such service from top to bottom in a staff at any facility.

The community of Telluride/Mountain Village, if you've never visited, is simply an incredible experience. We couldn't believe how child/family friendly the community is (and pet friendly too, for that matter). This is not to say a couple couldn't have a romantic experience here, as there is plenty of space left for those as well.

We rarely return to the same area/facility (there is only so much time in life, and so much to see, after all), but we will definitely make an exception with Telluride and Mountain Lodge. Amazing place. Amazing people.

Green Features: The entire area is environmentally friendly, and Mountain Lodge certainly plays its role in that
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Gregory!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Mountain Lodge on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to hear of your plans to return to see us again in the future. Please call us if there is anything we can do to help you get back here!

Have a great day!
Doug Hendrickson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Ok, This is what I'm talking about!!! We just returned from the grand circuit of traveling around Colorado. Our first stop was Crested Butte, then, Durango. Telluride was #3 because of the Telluride Blue Grass Festival. Several months prior I tried to find something in town for the event. Everything was sold out. The only alternative was to stay in the Mountain Village away from the center of town. I wasn't thrilled to do this, but we had no alternative. We usually stay in the mountain village during skiing season. This is where you want to be to ski in ski out. I wasn't sure how this was going to work out in the summer.
When we arrived at the Mountain Lodge, our room was not ready. However, the front desk staff was professional and efficient. They took my cell number and recommended that we use the facilities (restaurant, pool, hot tub) while waiting. We did just that. The restaurant was 10 steps away and adjacent to the pool and magnificent view of the mountains. The waiter/bartender immediately greeted us with a wide smile and took our order. He recommended we might enjoy sitting by the pool and he would bring our lunch out. We did. It was one of those perfect, sunny, cool, low humidity days in Telluride. We enjoyed our lunch and checked back at the front desk. The room was almost ready. We had noticed a grocery store within walking distance to the Lodge. We decided to go stock up while we waited. The grocery store was fantastic. Sort of like a Whole Foods and gourmet market. By the time we got back, our room was ready.
After staying in two hotel rooms, I was thrilled to enter our one bedroom studio. The architect should be commended. This studio was designed to maximize the space in a well thought out configuration. There is a duel electric fireplace on the living and bedroom side. A small sunny balcony with red geraniums in a planter box greeted us as we walked in. The unit had a well appointed, modern (although rustic style) kitchen, dining room for 4, big King bed and plenty of storage. The bathroom was a bit small, but it was appointed with nice finishes. The mattress was uber comfortable and the linens were lux. Shower pressure was perfect and there was no problem with hot water. An added bonus was a guest laundry 3 doors down with no-one in the place. We used the pool area and hot tub. The pool was heated and the views (as I said before) were magnificent!

To get down to the main part of town it is necessary to take 2 gondolas. The main gondola is adjacent the grocery store. It goes to the mountain village where you change cars to get to the main part of town. We had a car, but parking during festival weekend is tight. It was better to ride the gondola. Really fun coming back late at night when you get to see the whole town lit up. The hotel has the trees lit up with blue lights and so is the pool and hot tub. Really stunning!
Every staff member was attentive and customer service oriented. This went for the front desk, baggage /bell man and driver.
The only complaint we had was the $20.00 per night parking charge. I realize parking is a premium in Telluride, but they have room on their property for parking and should not have charged extra. I would have felt better if they would have buried this in the room charge.

Other than that one complaint, the Lodge was wonderful and I would return in the summer or winter.

Room Tip: Remember, this hotel (like most in Co) does not have a/c. You have to keep the window open. Make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Discriminating Diva!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor! We are glad that you found the Mountain Lodge and Mountain Village as welcoming as you did during our classic Bluegrass Festival. Even when people encounter an occasional line leading to our free Gondola, it is still among the best commutes, anywhere. With regards to our parking situation, we do charge the least amount for parking among the hotels in Mountain Village, thus we consider $20 to be a reasonable charge for this finite resource. During the Bluegrass Festival, the town of Mountain Village was nice enough to offer free parking on the street as well as in their parking garage across the ski run, so for once, we had a free option for our guests at the Mountain Lodge that we happily offered to them. Hopefully, you were able to take advantage of that and save some money. Overall, we are very happy to hear that you had a good time in Telluride and we hope you will come see us again.

Have a great day!
Doug Hendrickson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a well run, high end hotel. The service and location is great but at least the loft condo units have some flaws you wouldn't expect. First there is no AC so if you are there in the summer in a hot spell the loft sleeping area is uncomfortably stuffy as there is no outside ventilation. This could be easily remedied by having the skylights operable but they are not. Also the patio is too small for the large uncomfortable chairs and the doors to the patio open out and conflict with the chairs. Also the audio system is hopelessly outdated and has no provision for ipod connection. Not what you expect in a high end operation. Also the $21 resort fee is not quoted when you book the room and the $20 parking fee for parking on the street seems excessive.

Room Tip: Don't book loft condo when it's hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Shelterform!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the staff and the location. Fortunately, up here in Mountain Village, we are not typically very warm, with highs in low to mid 70s most days in the summer and lows in the 40s and 50s. During your visit, we did experience above-normal temperatures, but considering the generally mild summertime climate at 9500 feet, we are lucky in that we don't necessitate air-conditioning. While we do have ipod docking stations in every bedroom in our hotel, I agree that it would be nice to have upgraded stereos in the living areas of our rooms. Depending on your method of booking the room, you should have seen the resort fee percentage listed as well as the parking fee. As our parking is limited and is the only least expensive parking offered in our area, we feel that this price is fair. Overall, we are very glad that you found the chance to visit Telluride and would love to have you come visit us again. If there is anything else regarding your stay that you would like to speak with me about, please feel free to contact me directly.

Have a great day!
Doug Hendrickson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Mountain Lodge for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom condo. The accommodations were great. The staff was very friendly and responsive to any of our requests. We had a view of the mountains and highly recommend this. It was awesome to return to the condo after a day of hiking to relax on the balcony with the awesome view. I read a previous review which mentioned wifi issues. On our stay, the wifi worked flawlessly and my internet speed app recorded over 15mbps download.

The proximity of the resort to the free gondola offers guest easy access to Mountain Village and the town of Telluride. There is also easy and convenient access to the many awesome hiking and biking trails on the mountains. We dined at the Mountain Lodge restaurant about 3 times. The staff was very friendly and the food was very good. We will definitely stay at the Mountain Lodge resort again.

Room Tip: Views of the mountains are worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello George B!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your summer visit here with us at the Mountain Lodge and we hope that you will find the occasion to come hike and bike with us again, soon!

Take care,
Doug Hendrickson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just recently returned from 4 nights here. Our 1BR suite was very well appointed with a super comfortable bed and had a wonderful view of the mountains. The staff was all friendly and helpful, and the pool area was a pleasant place to hang out in the afternoons with a tremendous view. Easy walk to the Gondola and the adjacent grocery store. Our one dinner in the restaurant / bar was good but the menu is pretty simple. On the downside the suite was quite small, three people (using the sofa bed) made it quite cozy and only two could fit at a time on the balcony, and sofa bed users have to go through the bedroom to reach the bathroom. Four would be a crowd here. On-site guest parking is tight and outdoors (I think the small garage is for owners), and they hit you up for $20 a day for the privilege. You don't need a car in Telluride so avoid one if you can. I could see parking being a real hassle in the winter with the snow. Lastly they were revamping the Wi-Fi system while we were there so access kept crashing - bad luck for us and they posted a notice, but still an annoyance. Overall Mountain Lodge is a great value - I'd give it 4 1/2 stars if I could - and we'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms face the mountains - ask for one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Buzzfan!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay including your interactions with our staff. While the one bedroom suites are comfortable for a couple of people, we believe that our two bedroom suites and condos offer an excellent value when you have more than 2 or 3 people. We have since upgraded our Internet to be among, if not the fastest, in the area. We apologize for any intermittent outages you may have experienced during the time of your stay. We do have both indoors (valet) and outside parking, both available for $20 per day, making it the least expensive parking in Mountain Village. Overall, we hope you had a great time in Telluride and that you will consider visiting us again in the future.

Have a great day!
Doug Hendrickson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Lodge at Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge at Telluride

Address: 457 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Telluride
#2 Green Hotel in Telluride
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#4 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#7 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Lodge at Telluride 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Telluride hotel options include spacious hotel suites and condo rentals. Mountain Lodge Telluride has never been better, with slope-side convenience, upscale amenities and gracious services, Mountain Lodge at Telluride completes the ultimate Telluride skiing experience. Located in the contemporary Mountain Village resort community, our resort is ideally located midway up Telluride Mountain. Surrounded by panoramic views of the majestic San Juan Mountains, our hotel features three log-and-stone buildings and a main lodge, whose tremendous lobby is warmed by an immense river-rock fireplace. Gleaming with rich leather and rustic Western elegance, the lobby also features the View Bar and Grill, perfect for quiet afternoon and evening gatherings while on your Telluride vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mountain Lodge at Telluride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lodge At Telluride Hotel Telluride
Mountain Hotel Telluride
Telluride Mountain Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lodge at Telluride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.