We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lodge at Telluride

Save Saved
You added Mountain Lodge at Telluride to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain Lodge at Telluride
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   457 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cool Summer Savings
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in Telluride
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just got back from a couple of nights at the Mountain Lodge in June and absolutely loved it! We fell in love with Telluride and loved staying in the village. You park your car and never have to get in it again due to the free gondola system. We were traveling with our 2 kids, 9 and 11 and stayed in 1BR suite, which had plenty of room for us all. There is a big pullout couch and even room for a rollaway too. The service is excellent, the kitchen fully equipped, the kids loved the pool and the hot tub and you can't beat the setting. Just GO!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain/river view room as opposed to one facing the parking lot
See more room tips
Green Features: Above and beyond, Colorado is leading the green charge!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello HotOCMama!

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We always like to hear about families having a good time in Telluride. Hopefully your family will consider making it a tradition! It is definitely hard to beat the view from our pool...

Take care!
Doug H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    73
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
170
182
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at the Mountain Lodge. It was comfortable, clean, beautifully appointed and at the same time homey. The service was incredible, and especially we would like to commend Heather Nelson, our reservation agent - for the wonderful service she gave us.
The bar and grill serves a great breakfast as well....
it is well run!

Room Tip: The executive suites are wonderful - with a great kitchen!~
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very "green". Although we don't judge hotels by their environmental practices - they seemed to be on top of it.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello Christy!

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor! We are grateful to learn that you enjoyed the Mountain Lodge and working with Heather. Come see us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite for five nights. For starters, the customer service at the front desk was fantastic! Upon arriving, we were greeted and were able to check in promptly. They provided us details of the grounds (parking, access to the gondola, pool, hot tub, restaurant/bar, nearby grocery store, etc.). Our suite was unbelievable--the view of the mountains right outside our balcony! Because our suite had a full kitchen, we were able to bring our own groceries and cook dinner a few nights during the week. A great way to save some money! Also, the gondola station is just a few minutes away next door to the grocery store. The hotel offers a shuttle ride there or you can access it easily via a sidewalk/trail near the lodge. The gondola ride into Telluride was approximately 10 minutes from Mountain Village--not bad! The concierge supplied us with magazines on Telluride and pamphlets on fun activities throughout the town (and nearby towns). We also took advantage of their swimming pool, which was perfect on a hot, summer afternoon. Initially, we planned to stay in Telluride to be closer to the shops and restaurants, but in hindsight we are overjoyed we chose to stay in Mountain Village at the Mountain Lodge instead. This place is quiet and you really get to experience nature--mountains, the wilderness, etc. And we were looking to squeeze in some R&R! Overall, our experience at Mountain Lodge was top-notch! This place was very convenient, affordable, and accommodating. We would certainly stay here again and highly recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello Melinda!

We appreciate your comments about your recent stay with us. As someone who lives in Telluride and works in Mountain Village, I feel that I also understand the differences and highlights of both communities and how they work together to offer visitors a unique experience. Telluride becomes the biggest attraction to people staying in Mountain Village and Mountain Village the biggest attraction to those staying in Telluride. All told, we are just happy to hear that you had a great time in our community and we will hope to see you soon as a return guest.

Have a great day!
Doug H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were able to check in early as well as upgrade to a junior suite thanks to Robert and Doug!! Robert and Doug were extremely friendly, helpful and gave us good suggestions about the town, Bridal Veil Falls, and helped map out our trip to Breckenridge for a more scenic drive. So thanks you guys!! In fact, the entire staff was very friendly.At one point, we had called the desk to ask them to print out some maps. Not only did they print them out, but they had someone deliver them right to our door. Wow! What service.Our room was awesome, our patio offered beautiful views of the mountains and the gondola's. It was quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. Did I mention our room 2014 was awesome? Two fireplaces, two bathrooms, a kitchen, dining room, living room and king size bed. And yes, we did use the fireplaces for the chilly mornings.We had breakfast at The View restaurant right on the property and our waiter was very nice, friendly, and we had a nice chat as to how he came to live in Telluride. Seems like everyone comes for a season, and never leaves. The food was excellent, the coffe good. It was a short distance to walk to the free gondola's which you take to get downtown. It was perfect. We didn't move our car for two days. The gondola is a beautiful scenic ride; we saw an Elk on our last day right under us. This resort is beautiful and we came at a perfect time of the year as it wasn't crowded and the rates were very good. There is a grocery store by the gondola's. It's pricey, but has whatever you need. So bring your bikes, your walking sticks, your adventure and definitely stay here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello Bunky!

Thank you for your kind comments! Robert and I recall talking with you and having a good time. Our jobs are pretty fun when we are helping people as nice as yourselves. We hope you had a great time in Breckenridge, too!

Take care!
Doug H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at one of the 4 bedroom cabins. The Silver Glade has one of the best views from the back porch. Everyone was awesome! We rented the cabin for a week since we got married at the mountain top at San SophiaOverlook. The shuttle bus guys accommodated us the morning of the wedding - awesome! Great location since you can walk to the gondola in to town. The office staff got us a gift basket and made us feel very welcomed! The best view from the pool (hence the name of their restaurant "the view)." We will definitely be back! Best experience - you won't be disappointed! Definitely a 5 out of 5!

Room Tip: If you are staying in a cabin, the view is the best from the Silver Glade cabin. We checked it out a...
See more room tips
Green Features: I liked how environmentally-friendly this lodge is (re: Energy efficient, towels, recycling, etc).
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are very happy to hear that your wedding went so well! We are very glad to have been part of your most special of days and we hope you will come see us again!

Best wishes and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a room that was so small that we were happy not to spend a lot of time in the room. Bathroom also very small. Only one wastebasket for the whole unit, and we had to look for it. Nicely appointed. Good bed, good linens. I saw a friend's suite. Absolutely terrific.spacious, patio, really nice. Parking a trial. Has a restaurant but you really have to go a ways off the property to find much going on.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTfrontdesk, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello Long Time Traveler!

Thank you for taking the time to posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you found the room nicely appointed with good linens.

When it comes to the space offered in the Lodge room, we strive to be as up front as possible when it comes to the square footage in these units. We offer a very good value for the Telluride area with these and I completely agree that they can feel cramped if you stay in one for longer periods of time. However, they do seem to work well for travelers who are looking for the least expensive option room option available. Our other room type options start at 650 square feet and go all the way up to luxury cabins at 2500 square feet, and all include a kitchen, balcony, living area, and much more space. Due to this difference in size, we always offer our guests the option to upgrade to larger rooms per availability. During the weekend in which you visited us, we were very full and did not have other rooms to offer as upgrades. We hope that the Ride the Rockies group provided the correct details regarding the room you were booking, as we do our best to ensure that our guests' expectations are met.

Overall, I hope you had a great time in Telluride and that you will consider coming to stay with us in the future. If you would like to further discuss anything regarding your stay, please feel free to contact me directly.

Have a nice day!
Doug Hendrickson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We just returned from an 11-day road trip in Colorado. We found ourselves with an extra day between reserved stays so decided to spend one night in Telluride. Because we arrived mid-week before Memorial Day, we had no problem getting a studio suite at Mountain Lodge at the last minute. We couldn't believe our eyes when we saw what we booked for $125! A gorgeous suite with a king bed, a fireplace that opened to the living room and bedroom, two flat screen TVs, a fully-outfitted kitchen that included high-end appliances, a jacuzzi tub, and a balcony with a mountain views. the staff at the Lodge were incredibly helpful and extremely friendly. Our only regret is we were too early in the season for the gondola, which was not yet operational, and the restaurant, which was not yet open. We can't wait to return to Mountain Lodge at a time when we can enjoy all of its wonderful amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug H, Front Office Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hello Byrdlover!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during our "shoulder season." As you probably know, the gondola is running now and the restaurants and shops opened shortly after your vacation. We hope that your timing for the next visit will better afford you a more complete experience in our beautiful town. Hopefully you will get the chance to come visit us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Lodge at Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge at Telluride

Address: 457 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Telluride
#1 Green Hotel in Telluride
#2 Business Hotel in Telluride
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#3 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#3 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Lodge at Telluride 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Telluride hotel options include spacious hotel suites and condo rentals. Mountain Lodge Telluride has never been better, with slope-side convenience, upscale amenities and gracious services, Mountain Lodge at Telluride completes the ultimate Telluride skiing experience. Located in the contemporary Mountain Village resort community, our resort is ideally located midway up Telluride Mountain. Surrounded by panoramic views of the majestic San Juan Mountains, our hotel features three log-and-stone buildings and a main lodge, whose tremendous lobby is warmed by an immense river-rock fireplace. Gleaming with rich leather and rustic Western elegance, the lobby also features the View Bar and Grill, perfect for quiet afternoon and evening gatherings while on your Telluride vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Lodge at Telluride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lodge At Telluride Hotel Telluride
Mountain Hotel Telluride
Telluride Mountain Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lodge at Telluride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.