We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were dizzy with delight....It could have been the altitude!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lodge at Telluride

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Lodge at Telluride to your Saves list
Mountain Lodge at Telluride
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   457 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 for 1 breakfast
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
GreenLeadersGold level
Sedona, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“We were dizzy with delight....It could have been the altitude!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

It could have been the altitude, but we were dizzy with delight at the exquisite Mountain Lodge in Telluride! (Full disclosure: Mountain Lodge is actually located in the charming town of Mountain Village, which, at 9600 feet elevation, literally takes your breath away. It is a sister city to Telluride, which is nestled in a beautiful valley below -- a 13-minute FREE gondola ride away.) Thanks to the gondola, you never have to drive your car anywhere. The Lodge is a short walk to a gondola station.

We got lucky: Our reservation, placed via a call center, got a little messed up. But thanks to the grace and calm, professional handling of the situation by Megan Cordry of Guest Services, we were upgraded from a studio room to a luxurious one-bedroom apartment! Luxuriously furnished, full kitchen, king bed, two huge TVs, gas fireplaces, fantastic views, etc., etc. -- it was wonderful.

We would heartily recommend the Mountain Lodge to any visitor, for any season. Summer is full of festivals and other happenings in both Telluride and Mountain Village. In the winter time, of course, this is one of the major ski places on the planet.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to a junior suite or 1-bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hrcord, Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We are also dizzy with delight to receive such a wonderful review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    90
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
193
202
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Our recent stay at Mountain Lodge in Telluride was great. Not only is the location breathtakingly beautiful, it is very accessible to the rest of the city. We enjoyed eating at the lodge and particularly enjoyed the company of our bartender, Abbott. He was very personable and look time to make sure guests enjoyed their time. I couldn't help but notice other guests at the hotel knew him by first name and were eager to exchange conversation. He is a great asset to you staff.

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper level for the best mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The Mountain Lodge was the perfect hotel for traveling with our dog. (It would also be perfect without our dog.) Our room was wonderful -- fireplace in the living room and bedroom, patio with grass for walking back and forth with our dog -- and best of all, a great kitchen for preparing our dog's meals. It's hard to beat the beauty of Telluride. We took our dog on the "pet" gondola into town and he got to run the ski trails on the mountain. We will definitely stay at the Mountain Lodge again in the winter to ski and in the summer with our dog.

Room Tip: The staff were great about putting us in the best room for traveling with our pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hrcord, Manager at Mountain Lodge at Telluride, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
We are so glad that you and your dog had a great stay at the Mountain Lodge. We are definitely proud to be one of the few pet friendly properties in Mountain Village & Telluride. I agree that it is hard to beat the beauty of Telluride. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Mountain Lodge was a great place for wedding guests to stay for our daughter's wedding at Gorrono Ranch. The staff was great--- very friendly and helpful in all areas. The rooms were clean, spacious and perfect for families or friends to stay together.We would love to return!

*It would be even better if parking were free. I would also suggest that the restaurant consider serving breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can hear the stream and see the gondola.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The staff was very courteous to us before we got there, during, and after. Can't wait to visit again. The parking fee is the only negative thing about my stay. I just feel parking shouldn't be something that is included.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed in the Junior suite with kitchen, fireplace between bedroom and living room- king size bed (very comfy) - great room - small balcony- well equiped kitchen , had everything we needed-stop at grocery store when we first arrived- cooked breakfast in the morning and ate out other meals. Kept windows open the whole time we were there because there was a mountian stream right below our window and the sound was worth a million dollars to us!!! Price was very reasonable for what we got! loved riding the Gondola up/down to the town of Telluride- took about five miunutes to get to town !! Very pretty mountain village above the town- would go back in a heart beat!!! wouldn't stay there if altitude gives you problems- you are very close to 10,000 ft. and streets are steep- but we like to walk!! can drive everywhere if you want!! we never used the car unless we were going for balloon ride or going up to Bridal Veil falls!!!! great place

Room Tip: ask for mountain view and the sound of the stream- second or third floor is best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We recently stayed at the Mountain Lodge in Telluride. It was just my husband and myself celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath room condo. It was beautiful. It had a fireplace, and the master bedroom room was fantastic! The pool and grounds were spotless! The property was decorated with large hanging baskets of flowers. We would recommend this resort to anyone!! Upon our arrival, we the staff found out we were from Wisconsin they were quick to let us know that the bartender was also a fellow cheesehead! He quickly let us know what local pubs in Telluride would be broadcasting the Packer pre-season game that was going to air that night. The walk to the Gondola was easy however a free shuttle was offered, We the gondola to Mountain Village and then to Telliride for dinner and shopping.Smooth ride on gondola but I do have a fear of heights, it was scary but well worth the beautiful view. Even I would go again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Lodge at Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge at Telluride

Address: 457 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Telluride
#2 Business Hotel in Telluride
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#4 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#7 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Lodge at Telluride 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Telluride hotel options include spacious hotel suites and condo rentals. Mountain Lodge Telluride has never been better, with slope-side convenience, upscale amenities and gracious services, Mountain Lodge at Telluride completes the ultimate Telluride skiing experience. Located in the contemporary Mountain Village resort community, our resort is ideally located midway up Telluride Mountain. Surrounded by panoramic views of the majestic San Juan Mountains, our hotel features three log-and-stone buildings and a main lodge, whose tremendous lobby is warmed by an immense river-rock fireplace. Gleaming with rich leather and rustic Western elegance, the lobby also features the View Bar and Grill, perfect for quiet afternoon and evening gatherings while on your Telluride vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mountain Lodge at Telluride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lodge At Telluride Hotel Telluride
Mountain Hotel Telluride
Telluride Mountain Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lodge at Telluride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.