We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“41-C Bargain maybe & Parking a scam!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mesa Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blue Mesa Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Mesa Lodge
117 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“41-C Bargain maybe & Parking a scam!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Unit 41C. Suppose you could say this is the best bargain in the village for the money especially with the upstairs balcony but just understand what you are really getting. Our unit was rather tired looking and some things we're in disrepair. Lastly, the parking situation is a scam. No one tells you the parking will be 25.00 per nite but only that the gondola from the parking area is free. They allow you to park temporarily at your complex so you can unload luggage then you must drive to paid parking area and ride gondola back to village then walk from there back to condo. Very inconvenient. Not worth it in our opinion.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Not at all what we were expecting. True enough we went to this location in Late April, however, the place was like a ghost town... The condo we rented was nice enough, but never could figure out how to park in the garage, couldnt get any one to help on the phone when trying to check in, park, find the condo, the whole experience was just ... annoying. we cut our trip short because we were just so frustrated..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This studio apartment is very good value. A king size bed with two lounge chairs and a kitchenette all in a large room with windows on two walls and a balcony. Lovely views of snow in trees and other lodges.

We found the location in Mountain Village to be ideal - a short walk across the paved plaza and we were on the snow and able to put our skis on and were off skiing! The restaurants under the apartments are also very good.

The ski and boot lockers are convenient and only a lift ride from the apartment.

The only improvement I would suggest is more effective light blockout on the windows at night as there is a street lamp outside the window that shines all night through the wooden blinds into the bedroom. If there were curtains with a pelmet this issue would be resolved and guests would be able to sleep more easily.

This apartment does not include a parking space so we parked our vehicle in the recommended parking station for $25 per day. We noticed there were many unused parking spaces in the carpark under Blue Mesa and wonder why these are not offered to guests at an extra charge rather than remaining empty. We would be happier to pay for a park at the apartment rather than have the vehicle a walk and gondola ride away.

A fantastic 5 days on the snow in the wonderful Mountain Village of Telluride - do try it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed for two nights of skiing. The room was fairly large and comfortable. There was a king size bed on the main level and the loft contained a queen sized bed. There was a small kitchenette with a sink, microwave, fridge and coffee maker, no stove. The room was pretty clean but a needed a little work. The carpet was a little worn and needed to be stretched but not bad. The tiles in the bathroom have popped up in several places and are loose. It the number 4 lift and gondola were just a short walk away. You can actually just ski over to both after walking about 25 yards across the sunshine plaza. The only downside I can think of was noise transmission. You could hear the neighbors, not what they were saying but if they coughed, sneezed or snored you could hear it. I mostly slept through it but it woke my husband. Oh and there's no parking with this unit. You have to park in the parking garage about 200 yards away and pay 25 dollars a night. The weekend at the lodge cost us 360 with tax not including the parking. Overall it was a nice place and I would stay again for the price and the amenities. I only give it a 4 because of the things I mentioned- parking, noise and the carpet and tile issues.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Blue Mesa Lodge #40B , was a wonderful loft bedroom with 2 full baths, a full kitchen, electric fireplace, everything one could want really. A very good price, much better accommodations up in Mountain Village than down in Telluride, and with the Gondola just a short walk away, no need to be down in town. These are privately owned and rented through a company in town. First night the power went out on the second floor part of the loft and didn't regain that until the next day, so being a rental lodge is different from staying in a hotel, repair service at night isn't always possible, however i'm sure during most stays things like this don't come up so no worries there. Otherwise it was clean comfortable and wonderfully fantastic with a great view. Skylights were a wonderful idea however they do make it hard to sleep in with all the light in the place, again for most people who probably are very early risers not an issue. Overall, look forward to a return visit, can't imagine a place much better than this to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We just spent 3 nights at the Blue Mesa Lodge (20B). It is by far the best value in Telluride/Mountain Village when compared to similar studio/1 bedroom non-hotel accommodations. At $115/night (taxes included & no cleaning fee).

We were originally looking for last minute accommodations in Telluride on VRBO with no luck. We contacted Telluride Alpine Lodging hoping to find a place and they had several affordable options for us. We were hesitant at first about not being in downtown Telluride. After our stay we can’t wait to go back to Mountain Village. It is a great place for a romantic getaway, weekend adventuring or a vacation with kids. Lots of activities, parks, trails for hiking & biking and a quick gondola ride down the mountain to downtown Telluride. Their staff was both friendly & helpful. Their offices (for check-in) are easy to find, a couple of blocks down the main drag in Telluride.

PROS: Blue Mesa 20B was spacious for a studio, accommodating my family with a young child who requires room for a pack and play sleeper, clean spacious room with tiled entry, super comfortable king size bed, large bathroom with awesome washer/dryer, super easy access to FREE gondolas, great views, quiet location at end of hallway overlooking courtyard, wireless internet, HDTV, Fireplace, small patio, Good size kitchen for a studio, quiet retreat in the off season, available parking (free) at another building in Mountain Village, great location to hiking & biking trails, grocery store, park with new play equipment (visible from unit), easy to find from main offices downtown, elevator, dishwasher

CONS: parking (if Telluride Alpine Lodging has no vacant spaces for their properties that have no parking assigned), room is over-furnished (10 chairs in a space that sleeps 2 adults), older carpet but clean, no AC but fan is provided, kitchen is not well equipped for basic cooking needs & dishwasher needs some maintenance (latch for soap is broken & it runs really loud) Simple fixes for maintenance/management to make which would give this studio 5/5stars.

It is hard to think that Blue Mesa 20B would not get a favorable review. Those who have been disappointed with their stay may have been too cheap to afford their own tastes. We are seasoned vacation renters and have seen a lot and for $115/night (off season) this unit is a great value for the price. This is a resort town with resort prices so with that expectation in mind we hope you have as enjoyable stay as we did!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Too much fun..... Will definitely be back... Second trip there in three years. Favorite mountain, favorite ladge.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Mesa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mesa Lodge

Address: 117 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty lodging in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Blue Mesa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mesa Hotel Telluride
Resortquest Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mesa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.