We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lodging for a fantastic price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mesa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
You added Blue Mesa Lodge to your Saves list
Blue Mesa Lodge
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   117 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
349 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodging for a fantastic price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Blue Mesa Lodge #40B , was a wonderful loft bedroom with 2 full baths, a full kitchen, electric fireplace, everything one could want really. A very good price, much better accommodations up in Mountain Village than down in Telluride, and with the Gondola just a short walk away, no need to be down in town. These are privately owned and rented through a company in town. First night the power went out on the second floor part of the loft and didn't regain that until the next day, so being a rental lodge is different from staying in a hotel, repair service at night isn't always possible, however i'm sure during most stays things like this don't come up so no worries there. Otherwise it was clean comfortable and wonderfully fantastic with a great view. Skylights were a wonderful idea however they do make it hard to sleep in with all the light in the place, again for most people who probably are very early risers not an issue. Overall, look forward to a return visit, can't imagine a place much better than this to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
3 Thank northernk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We just spent 3 nights at the Blue Mesa Lodge (20B). It is by far the best value in Telluride/Mountain Village when compared to similar studio/1 bedroom non-hotel accommodations. At $115/night (taxes included & no cleaning fee).

We were originally looking for last minute accommodations in Telluride on VRBO with no luck. We contacted Telluride Alpine Lodging hoping to find a place and they had several affordable options for us. We were hesitant at first about not being in downtown Telluride. After our stay we can’t wait to go back to Mountain Village. It is a great place for a romantic getaway, weekend adventuring or a vacation with kids. Lots of activities, parks, trails for hiking & biking and a quick gondola ride down the mountain to downtown Telluride. Their staff was both friendly & helpful. Their offices (for check-in) are easy to find, a couple of blocks down the main drag in Telluride.

PROS: Blue Mesa 20B was spacious for a studio, accommodating my family with a young child who requires room for a pack and play sleeper, clean spacious room with tiled entry, super comfortable king size bed, large bathroom with awesome washer/dryer, super easy access to FREE gondolas, great views, quiet location at end of hallway overlooking courtyard, wireless internet, HDTV, Fireplace, small patio, Good size kitchen for a studio, quiet retreat in the off season, available parking (free) at another building in Mountain Village, great location to hiking & biking trails, grocery store, park with new play equipment (visible from unit), easy to find from main offices downtown, elevator, dishwasher

CONS: parking (if Telluride Alpine Lodging has no vacant spaces for their properties that have no parking assigned), room is over-furnished (10 chairs in a space that sleeps 2 adults), older carpet but clean, no AC but fan is provided, kitchen is not well equipped for basic cooking needs & dishwasher needs some maintenance (latch for soap is broken & it runs really loud) Simple fixes for maintenance/management to make which would give this studio 5/5stars.

It is hard to think that Blue Mesa 20B would not get a favorable review. Those who have been disappointed with their stay may have been too cheap to afford their own tastes. We are seasoned vacation renters and have seen a lot and for $115/night (off season) this unit is a great value for the price. This is a resort town with resort prices so with that expectation in mind we hope you have as enjoyable stay as we did!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank HepburnClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Too much fun..... Will definitely be back... Second trip there in three years. Favorite mountain, favorite ladge.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
Thank holliday33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

We stayed here in the October of 2007 (I know this is a late review), the place was clean and good but comes with a number of problems. 1. Expedia markets Slope Side Studio, but there is NO slop side, huge construction building blocks with view of the mountain side. Expedia must remove the Slop Side Studio option as this is NOT true. I had numerous calls to Expedia and they refused to accept responsibility of information on the Expedia site, they claim that this was provided by Resort Quest Rentals and Expedia does NOT validate the claim. During that period, I didn't have the time to sue Expedia in a small claims court but now I intend to get this done. While I have been using Expedia for the last 4 years, I will not use their services in the future.

The Construction was noisy, and this was exactly like the hotels dot com TV advertisement showing a construction building right across the patio (Ahhaaa lol, but it sucks). I tried to get an upgrade, apparently they had no other options, interestingly, I was told by the Resort Quest Rental person that they DON’T own/contract/service any of the rooms on the front side of the building. The photo on this Expedia shows the front side of the building for which they have NO access and NO rooms. Parking - Again, Expedia's marketing trick, displaying free parking and parking nearby. There is only a 30 minute parking in front of the building and you need to use the Gondola to go to parking area (15 minutes). YES, there are many places in Mountain Village WITH parking.

Avoid this place unless you are okay with the contruction building.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank veen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Telluride hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

My family stayed in the Studio loft with two tweens.
On Mountain transportation was great due to the gondola's we never needed our car.

The condo itself was very nice. The unit was clean and sunny. They had supplied us with hairdryer, shampoos, soap.

The kitchenette consisted of a small refrigerator, microwave, toaster and coffee machine, and a micro sink. They had stocked it with all the dishes to heat and eat things.

The condo was right in the south village on the mountain and a short walk to lift 4, ski school and the mountain village shops.

The bar below always got out at about 130am and the people stood below our window (we were on the 4th floor). and shouted at each other very loudly.

The lights from the lift and town screamed through our vaulted top windows and we did not have any covers to block them off.

The combo of the two left us with very little sleep!

The condo did not allow us to park at this place but we could park at the free parking garage and take the gondola to the mountain village, (5 min walk to condo). So you had to park in a very funny place and lug all your stuff to your room down slippery steps, then go park your vehicle and come back.

Resort Quest - They were very ineffective when we had to make any requests or complaints, we had to have the lock combo for our ski locker and I had to call them three times. They refused to switch our unit due to the noise. The persons you had to call for help were clear over at the bear creek lodge.

The condo also did not have a spa as indicated and the staff seemed very unwilling to let me know what amenities or facilities there were for me at the village to use. Although eventually I found the information in the guides I picked up in their lobby about the gondola systems and taxi's and restaurants it wasn't because of their help or lack of it.

Go there but get side not over the courtyard and you should be fine.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
0.3 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.0 mi away
Lumiere Hotel
Lumiere Hotel
#1 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#12 of 18 in Telluride
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mesa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mesa Lodge

Address: 117 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Mesa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Mesa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mesa Hotel Telluride
Resortquest Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing