We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old west modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street

Main Street
Main Street, Telluride, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 18 Attractions in Telluride
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Nightlife
Attraction details
Woodbine, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“old west modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Plenty of shops,galleries,spas, and restaurants. Many of them are upscale due to it being a resort area. We had fun browsing and buying things. The town is very pedestrian and dog friendly. It's one of the most beautiful places in the world! Everyone is laid back and very friendly

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    10
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Main St is the same as Colorado St”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lots of places to eat. Lots of unique small galleries and jewelry stores. We loved that the speed limit in town is 15 mph and cars yield to pedestrians everywhere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute western town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It is a great place to walk and shop. Fun restaurants, especially Brown Dog Pizza. Sad to see that Sweet Life has gone out of business.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Something For Everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Don't expect to see Starbucks or any other familiar names on Main Street. Instead you'll find many restaurants, stores, and galleries that are unique to Telluride. Several blocks filled with choices for the foodie, clotheshorse, dog lover, or bookworm can fill up at least one afternoon.

Sunshine Pharmacy is a good place for souvenirs, drugstore items, and magazines and Between the Covers Bookstore has lots of books about Telluride and Colorado as well as new releases. Window shopping was fun at jewelry stores but prices were very steep. And don't miss the deals at Telluride Thrift Shop, where proceeds go to the local animal shelter. Lots of stores for beautiful boots and luxe western wear and plenty of places to stop in for a beer or snack when you need a break.

The merchants at stores I visited on Main Street were all lovely and the variety of shops for a town of this size is excellent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small town perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I want to move here. I really, really do. It's such a cozy, small town -i I love it! My family has been coming here for decades, at least the early 70s, and it's still remained an accessible, friendly, low- key place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street also viewed

 

Been to Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.