We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel - Never Wanted to Leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums to your Saves list
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 West San Juan Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Best Hotel - Never Wanted to Leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

The Camel's Garden is the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The location is superb - not only is less than a few blocks from Telluride's main street and many restaurants, but it's literally just steps from the Lift 8 AND the Gondola. The rooms are incredible, ours had a king size bed, fireplace, a sitting area with a leather couch, a kitchen area with a refrigerator and an incredible bathroom with an over-sized marble tub. There were picture windows that looked out to the beautiful mountains just about everywhere you turned. There was a massive hot tub patio just down the hall. The staff is all so nice and eager to help with anything you might need. Complimentary (extensive) breakfast to get you going before you hit the slopes in the morning and free wine and cheese in the lobby in the evenings. I really can't say enough good things about this hotel, you'll just have to go see it for yourself!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    34
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
95
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I know that title sounds like hyperbole, but, actually, I don't think so. "Ski in and ski out" and "slope side" can mean all sorts of things, as experienced ski travelers have no doubt discovered. But rarely does it mean a hotel that's virtually on top of two main lifts and that's also in the midst of America's best ski town, complete with old-west charm, world-class restaurants and a hoping nightlife. You can literally ski into the Camel's ski valet room, and when you walk out of the room in the morning, the distance to the lift and gondola can't be more than 20 yards. No stairs. No trudge. No lines. Absolutely zero need for a car. Add in the fact that the Camel's has a spa, ski and rental shop, and restaurant and bar (with outdoor seating) in its lobby, and you'll see that the title of my post is no exaggeration. This place takes the work out of a ski vacation and let's you forget about all the normal logistics of getting to the lifts or getting into town. You're already both places, at once.

Oh, and it's a heck of a nice place to stay in the summer as well (I've had the good fortune to stay at the Camel's several times). The staff of this independently owned establishment is genuine, friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are large, clean, bright and well appointed. The view from the super-sized hot tube is absurdly beautiful. Telluride in the summer is sublime, with unparalleled access to the wilderness, festivals, and the same lively historic downtown that draws visitors in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We make annual trips to the Came'ls Garden sometimes up to 3 times per year. Its our home away from home when we're skiing, hiking Colorado's BEST. The staff is always friendly, helpful and sincere without being solicitous and they're always available to assist, regardless of the ask. We often bring friends with us and we're all completely comfortable regardless of the rooms we occupy. In the winter, we ship our skis and the staff puts them in the room before we arrive. The team in the ski locker is super helpful and while it's a pleasure to leave a gratuity, you know they really like working there.

The rooms are quite large and very comfortable. They all have terrific views even if it's just the wild banks of the San Miguel River. Most of the rooms have terraces and fireplaces, there's enough room to hang/put away all your many ski/sports duds and the closets have real wooden hangers on proper poles. The bathrooms are all marble, the tubs are HUGE and the lighting is good. NO FLUORESCENT BULBS!!!!! Love the high thread-count linens, varieties of pillows and plush bathrobes. They keep it all fresh.

The Camels Garden is THE hotspot for apres ski in Tride. When skiing "down" for the day, the main trail takes you to the plaza right in front of the big open bar/terrace in the CG, where there's often a fire roaring, music (sometimes live) and a crowd. The all mountain Gondola base station is there as is one of the original lifts, Chair 8 which takes you up to the best double blacks on the mountain. It's really ski in ski out while you're in town. You can buy your lift tickets, pick up your pocket sized sun block as well as rent/tune your boards also on the plaza side of the hotel. The Atmosphere Spa is among Tride's best to work out the kinks of a big powder day or simply to enjoy a little mani/pedi pamper. (discount if you're staying at the CG). Breakfast on the 2nd floor is a perfect power meal with a great view of the plaza (and mountain) below. The jacuzzi is also on the 2nd floor with a spectacular view of the near distant mountain peaks....nothing like being snowed upon in the steamy pool and watching the moon come up over the 13,000+ foot Tomboy mine peaks.

I wish the private lobby had more going on - other than interior apres ski, there's not much happening there - tho it's a nice place to curl up by fire and read or get together with pals for slightly less frenetic hang out. But, it's all superlatives - staying in town is the best way to experience Telluride and the CG is the place where everyone (including mountain villagers and above from professional skiers to celebs) wants to congregate for apres ski.. Shopping in town is about two minutes in every direction from the hotel -as are the best restaurants. You can get to anywhere on the mountain from there and it's the perfect place to collapse with a frosty beer or a painkilling negroni after battling the elements all day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Talk about ski-in, ski-out! We literally opened the back door to our hotel room and were steps away from Lift 8 and the Gondola. The room was super-spacious and the bathrooms are amazing --great shower and huge bathtub. The staff was awesome and helpful. I especially enjoyed the free wine and cheese hour ;) the steam room and hot tub!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I just got back from a four night stay at the Camel's Garden Hotel in Telluride. The location is absolutely second to none....right at the base of lift 8 and the Gondola. The hotel also has convenient ski (and boot) storage at the base so you can just click out of your skis and drop them off. I kept my boots on and took them off in my room.

They have a really nice free continental breakfast and a free wine/cheese/chips shindig from 5-7 in the evening. Both were terrific. I saw but did not use the outdoor hottub and indoor steam room. Both looked very nice and clean though. There is a small cafe (X Cafe) on premesis that serves breakfast and lunch and is open until the early evening. They also serve alcohol!! I did not try any of the food here but it was hopping...especially apres ski. I heard from a few people the food was very good.

My king room on the second floor was perfect, overlooking the lift/gondola (Room 211). The room was very quiet and I could not hear my neighbors at all. The room got a little warm (even with the heat off) so I just cracked the window a bit. The flat screen TV and bed were both terrific. The bathroom and its upgraded sink/shower/soaker tub were also modern and nice. The hotel is not the cheapest one out there but I was given a 20% discount that made it worth my while. Spending a little more to get location and quality is not a bad thing!

All in all I would highly recommend the Camel's Garden if you are staying in town. Its the most convenient hotel to the slopes and only a couple of blocks to Colorado Ave (main street in T-Ride). The service was excellent and the free wireless internet signal was very strong. If we ever come to Telluride again this is where we would stay! By the way the Town and the skiing are the best in the USA!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

This hotel has the best location in Telluride: right next to the gondola and to lift 8 (ski-in/out and with easy access to the Mountain Village), and only a few blocks (or even steps) from the best shops and restaurants. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, and have fireplace and large bathtub. Among the facilities, the hotel also has a spa and a hot tub. The only drawback (for all Telluride hotels actually): no laundry facilities in place or nearby.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

The Camel's Garden has large rooms that we well thought out with good amenities. The beds were excellent. It's location is second to none in Telluride.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#5 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lumiere Hotel
Lumiere Hotel
#1 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
1.9 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#3 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums

Address: 250 West San Juan Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#4 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#4 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Resort Hotel situated on the San Miguel River and adjacent to the gondola to the ski area. The Camels Garden is ski in ski out at the base of the Gondola and Lift 8. No hotel in Telluride can match the luxury and location of the Camels Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camel`s Garden Hotel And Condominiums
Camels Garden Hotel Condominiums
Camels Garden Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.