We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums to your Saves list
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 West San Juan Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Perfect Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Talk about ski-in, ski-out! We literally opened the back door to our hotel room and were steps away from Lift 8 and the Gondola. The room was super-spacious and the bathrooms are amazing --great shower and huge bathtub. The staff was awesome and helpful. I especially enjoyed the free wine and cheese hour ;) the steam room and hot tub!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    30
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
78
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I just got back from a four night stay at the Camel's Garden Hotel in Telluride. The location is absolutely second to none....right at the base of lift 8 and the Gondola. The hotel also has convenient ski (and boot) storage at the base so you can just click out of your skis and drop them off. I kept my boots on and took them off in my room.

They have a really nice free continental breakfast and a free wine/cheese/chips shindig from 5-7 in the evening. Both were terrific. I saw but did not use the outdoor hottub and indoor steam room. Both looked very nice and clean though. There is a small cafe (X Cafe) on premesis that serves breakfast and lunch and is open until the early evening. They also serve alcohol!! I did not try any of the food here but it was hopping...especially apres ski. I heard from a few people the food was very good.

My king room on the second floor was perfect, overlooking the lift/gondola (Room 211). The room was very quiet and I could not hear my neighbors at all. The room got a little warm (even with the heat off) so I just cracked the window a bit. The flat screen TV and bed were both terrific. The bathroom and its upgraded sink/shower/soaker tub were also modern and nice. The hotel is not the cheapest one out there but I was given a 20% discount that made it worth my while. Spending a little more to get location and quality is not a bad thing!

All in all I would highly recommend the Camel's Garden if you are staying in town. Its the most convenient hotel to the slopes and only a couple of blocks to Colorado Ave (main street in T-Ride). The service was excellent and the free wireless internet signal was very strong. If we ever come to Telluride again this is where we would stay! By the way the Town and the skiing are the best in the USA!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

This hotel has the best location in Telluride: right next to the gondola and to lift 8 (ski-in/out and with easy access to the Mountain Village), and only a few blocks (or even steps) from the best shops and restaurants. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, and have fireplace and large bathtub. Among the facilities, the hotel also has a spa and a hot tub. The only drawback (for all Telluride hotels actually): no laundry facilities in place or nearby.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

The Camel's Garden has large rooms that we well thought out with good amenities. The beds were excellent. It's location is second to none in Telluride.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

We just returned from Telluride and everything worked for us at this hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Room was better than it looked on the hotel's website. We stayed in a King Select and the room was extremely comfortable and quiet. Great location that made life easy for us - ski rentals off the lobby, great restaurants in walking distance, gondola right outside the door. Continental breakfast is no longer served but the X Cafe, off the lobby of the hotel, had fabulous food. Wine & snacks in the afternoon was greatly appreciated. Hot tub & sauna excellent. We have zero complaints - highly recommend this one!

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

I took my 9 year old son for a father/son ski weekend over MLK holiday 2009. Took the shuttle from Montrose Airport to Telluride. It takes about 90 minutes to travel 65 miles. Here are my thoughts:

1. Location: You cannot beat this location. The hotel is 20 steps from the main gondola and lift 8. It is also 1-2 blocks from the main shopping/eating street. I highly recommend staying in town and avoiding the "Mountain Village." Mountain Village is a purpose built resort above town. The Town of Telluride is beautiful, with great restaurants and shops, all within walking distance. No need for a car.

2. Convenience: This goes with location, but the hotel, in addtion to being convenient in terms of location, also houses the lift ticket sales office, the ski rental shop, the spa, and a nice breakfast/lunch/happy hour spot.

3. Amenities: The hotel has a nice outdoor hot tub and a bar area where they serve free wine/cheese/snacks every day from 4:00 pm to 6:00 p.m.

4. Room: We opted for a large suite on the second floor, just outside of the happy hour/snack area. The room had a beautiful bathroom with large tub and nice shower. The bedroom was large and had a great bed. The living room had a nice pullout couch and wet bar/refrigerator. The view of the mountain was spectacular.

5. Staff: The staff at the Camel's Garden was awesome. Very friendly, helpful, and fun.

This hotel is a great place to stay in Telluride. This is a great ski town with great views.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of Breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Camels Garden. You can't get a better location in Telluride, right next to lift 8 and the gondola and 2 blocks from the center ot town. Our room was large with a nice balcony and gas fireplace. The bathroom had a very large tub which was great post skiing. Our room showed a little wear (chipped furniture) but it is too be expected considering it is a ski hotel and you can put your ski boots on in your room. The room was very clean.
The hotel has a nice outdoor large hot tub (we rarely saw people in it). A continental breakfast is included (cereal, toast, bagels, etc). They also provide apres ski refreshments (beer, wine, cheese, etc). Rooms around this food area are loud.
Overall - a great place ski in/ski out hotel w/ nice amenities.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums

Address: 250 West San Juan Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#4 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#4 Family Hotel in Telluride
#7 Business Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Resort Hotel situated on the San Miguel River and adjacent to the gondola to the ski area. The Camels Garden is ski in ski out at the base of the Gondola and Lift 8. No hotel in Telluride can match the luxury and location of the Camels Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camel`s Garden Hotel And Condominiums
Camels Garden Hotel Condominiums
Camels Garden Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.