We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums to your Saves list
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 West San Juan Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in a beautiful spacious room with a fireplace, a balcony, just-right furnishings, and a two-person tub. The property has a very nice sauna; there is an outdoor Jacuzzi with views of mountain tops, water falls, and town below. The lobby is both comfortable and tastefully designed; the staff is very friendly and the continental breakfast includes bakery-fresh pastries...mmmm. The hotel is in a perfect location...the river trail runs right behind it and the gondola boarding station is right next door. We had a wonderful view of the town and mountains from our balcony. Before arriving, we were impressed with the perfect scores given to this property by other reviewers, now we know that they are well-deserved.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. It's worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    33
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
92
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just got back from Telluride and I wanted to write a review just because how great it was! I wasn't expecting it to be as nice as it was (don't ask me why!). The rooms were large and we had a fireplace. The bathrooms were also very large and had a tub that would fit 2 people, and 2 robes. Our patio was nice and looked over the stream in the back of the hotel and then up the mountain. (Room 204). The continental breakfast was an added bonus so you didn't have to worry about what to eat that morning. The outdoor over sized hot tub was also very nice. Service was great and employees were friendly. The gondola right outside your door was a great feature and fun to use that free service. Overall, great place. Will definitely stay there again when we're in Telluride.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Not as luxurious as staying in Mountain Village of Telluride, but close. The room was big enough and the bathroom was big and nice. I was there in the springtime, so walk on access to skiing was not a factor. The outside door to the deck was nice.

The 25 foot outdoor hot tub is excellent, and the sauna cranks out plenty of steam. The continental breakfast could have some fruit added to it, but considering I paid more at Hotel Madeline and had no breakfast, it is a pretty good deal.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside door to the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Telluride has a down town area with all the shops and fabulous restaurants and the ski village about 3 miles away as the crow flies or in this case as the gondola travels. The free gondola that connects the two main areas is assessable to both skiers and non-skiers and stops right out side the Camel's Garden. It would be impossible to have a more convenient location. Visitors can hop on the gondola or another ski lift that brings them right up to the top of the mountain. We rented the 3-bedroom condo #305 which directly overlooks the two lifts. Cathedral ceilings, updated kitchen and bathrooms, lot's of space on three levels. Even though it felt as if we were close enough to jump off our balcony onto the chairlift the condo was very quiet. All of Telluride including Camel's Garden is dog friendly.

There is access to ski rental store, a restaurant (casual BBQ) and a spa from the main lobby and a high end ski boot fitting shop right across the street. In addition the hotel is well known to two local vendors that helped make our stay at 9,500 feet more enjoyable - Ski Butlers (they bring the skis to you) and an oxygen concentrator that we rented and was waiting for us in our room. For those with altitude issues this could save your vacation.

We highly recommend a stay here and will be back ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Camel Gardens could not be in a more spot on location, couple of steps from lift 8 and a few more to the gondola what could be more perfect on a ski holiday. Rooms are clean,huge with comfortable beds, breakfast continental but ample to choose from, cheese & wine at 5 o'clock, ski valet that takes your skis from the locker to outside in the morning and puts them back at night when you ski down from the slopes right to the door, ski hire shop on property, large cozy hot tub, garage below hotel and lovely staff. Only a few minutes from restaurants & shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice hotel with great location, attentive staff and continental breakfast! No need to forage for breakfast before hitting the slopes. Did I mention the great location at the foot of the gondola, walk to restaurants, brewery/pub and shops!?!?
The only negative I can hardly bare to mention, is the lack of a refrigerator or coffee pot in room. Otherwise, this hotel was..."just right!"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I recently stayed for 3 nights at the Camel's Garden. I had room 101, a queen room. The room was very homey with a gas fireplace, dvd player, small stereo and of course a television. There was plenty of storage space and the room was very comfortable. It also opened out onto a patio that looked like it might be used in the summer but was not used at all in the winter, so I didn't have to worry about anyone walking by and looking in etc.

The front desk staff were all very nice and the hotel has a large hot tub that looks out over San Juan Ave/town of Telluride. The hotel is ski in/ski out and is situated right next to the gondola station and also right at the base of Lift 8 (which only runs 9-11am). They offer ski storage (each room gets a locker) and will take your skis upon your return and give them back when you want to go back out. There is also a branch of Telluride Sports in the building for your rental needs, but it opens at 9am, so if you want to rent skis early in the morning so you can be right on the mountain when the lifts open you'll need to either rent elsewhere or see if you can pick up your skis after 4pm on the day prior.
The hotel also offers an included continental breakfast and an apres ski wine and cheese hour at 5pm.

I loved the location being right next to the gondola and also just a couple blocks from the main street with all the restaurants and shops. Very easy to get anywhere in town.

If I return to Telluride, I would definitely want to try and stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums

Address: 250 West San Juan Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#4 Family Hotel in Telluride
#4 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Resort Hotel situated on the San Miguel River and adjacent to the gondola to the ski area. The Camels Garden is ski in ski out at the base of the Gondola and Lift 8. No hotel in Telluride can match the luxury and location of the Camels Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camel`s Garden Hotel And Condominiums
Camels Garden Hotel Condominiums
Camels Garden Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.