We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No goldilocks but...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums to your Saves list
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 West San Juan Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No goldilocks but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice hotel with great location, attentive staff and continental breakfast! No need to forage for breakfast before hitting the slopes. Did I mention the great location at the foot of the gondola, walk to restaurants, brewery/pub and shops!?!?
The only negative I can hardly bare to mention, is the lack of a refrigerator or coffee pot in room. Otherwise, this hotel was..."just right!"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
85
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I recently stayed for 3 nights at the Camel's Garden. I had room 101, a queen room. The room was very homey with a gas fireplace, dvd player, small stereo and of course a television. There was plenty of storage space and the room was very comfortable. It also opened out onto a patio that looked like it might be used in the summer but was not used at all in the winter, so I didn't have to worry about anyone walking by and looking in etc.

The front desk staff were all very nice and the hotel has a large hot tub that looks out over San Juan Ave/town of Telluride. The hotel is ski in/ski out and is situated right next to the gondola station and also right at the base of Lift 8 (which only runs 9-11am). They offer ski storage (each room gets a locker) and will take your skis upon your return and give them back when you want to go back out. There is also a branch of Telluride Sports in the building for your rental needs, but it opens at 9am, so if you want to rent skis early in the morning so you can be right on the mountain when the lifts open you'll need to either rent elsewhere or see if you can pick up your skis after 4pm on the day prior.
The hotel also offers an included continental breakfast and an apres ski wine and cheese hour at 5pm.

I loved the location being right next to the gondola and also just a couple blocks from the main street with all the restaurants and shops. Very easy to get anywhere in town.

If I return to Telluride, I would definitely want to try and stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I am an avid traveler and have stayed in countless resorts and hotels. Camel's rates at the top of my list of places to stay. I wish they had a hotel in every city that I have gone to will go to. The hotel is located right next to the Gondola that whisks you right up to Mountain Village (another beautiful little town). The customer service was world class. Check in was a snap and everyone was so knowledgeable, personable and friendly. I had never been to Telluride and they were more than willing to give me suggestions on where to go and what to see. Who had good deals on dinners and drinks and the places to go for the most breathtaking views. After we got down the mountain from skiing and walked the 20 feet to my hotel I was greated by complimetary wine, sausage and cheese!! The major shopping, dining and nightlife is located only two short blocks from the front door. My stay was amazing and I could not have been happier with my choice. It is close to EVERYTHING!!! Even if it was not in such a prime location I would stay again just for how well I was treated while I stayed there. Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We came to Telluride for a friend's wedding and stayed at the Camel's Garden and had an amazing stay! The front desk personnel provided us with great customer service, being always helpful and accommodating, recommending restaurants and places to take pictures. This place is right by the gondola in town, next to the ski runs and two block down from Main St. Couldn't get more central and convenient than this! The apres ski was an even better surprise with complimentary wine and cheese! I would definitely go there again and recommend it to all my friends!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our family of 4 has been fortunate to stay at the Camel's Garden for a few years now. Their roof top hot tub is a favorite spot to relax after a day of raging pow around Telluride's amazing terrain. Proximity to all of the old towns character, best restaurants and bars is second only to the convenience of access to the gondola and lift 7 (which drops one at lift 9, one of America's best ski lifts). Best of all, the people who welcome their guests, Mike, Autumn and Matt extend a genuine warmth that can be lacking in many ski resorts across America.
Top notch and we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Super value, excellent location for skiing - you can fall into the gondola that whisks you up to Mountain Village.... where the action starts. Clean, spacious rooms. Bear & Matt were very helpful.

Glad we stayed in town, as opposed to the Mountain Village. Great selection of local restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Charming town and a challenging mountain with zero lift lines. A memorable trip made all the more pleasurable by Camel's Garden. Get 3 lifts to the summit, ski down "see forever" switch to "telluride trial" (4 miles approx) and into the arms of the Camel's Garden ski valet. Perfect.

People fly from all over the USA to get their ski boots PROFESSIONALLY fitted by Boot Doctors, which is right across the street. I have been plagued by ill-fitting boots, but Joe sorted me out with a dashing pair of Head boots that are as comfortable as they are effective. TIP: get customised foot-beds. It will change your life!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a result of a booking error at another hotel in town, and BOY am I glad that error was made. The management at Camel's Garden hotel - both Mike and Matt, were so accommodating; made us feel warm and welcome and understood immediately our situation. The hotel is fabulous, location unbeatable, really perfection. It's truly a pleasure to find a place like this, and I know we will stay here again on our next trip to Telluride.
Added bonus: very good complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese in the afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums

Address: 250 West San Juan Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#4 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Resort Hotel situated on the San Miguel River and adjacent to the gondola to the ski area. The Camels Garden is ski in ski out at the base of the Gondola and Lift 8. No hotel in Telluride can match the luxury and location of the Camels Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camel`s Garden Hotel And Condominiums
Camels Garden Hotel Condominiums
Camels Garden Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.