We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added New Sheridan Hotel to your Saves list
New Sheridan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
AAA - 5 Nights for 4
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I was excited to stay at the New Sheridan because of its colorful history. The rooms are beautifully updated. Historic but w a traditional and modern twist. The bathrooms are great. But truly, HOW could a hotel of this level not invest in a roof for their trash??? The trash can room - room 202. Don't think the other window had a better view...also dumpy.
Staff is nice but absent. It seems the hotel invests its staff in their restaurant, meaning that there is rarely anyone at the front desk.
A nice hotel, with a little more investment in service and trash camouflage it could be great ...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. We truly value guest feedback and use it to better our business. We pride ourselves on our accommodations as well as our service and are disappointed to hear the service was not up to your standards. I will review your comments with the staff and address your concerns with them. If you would like to expand further, please feel free email me personally at ray@newsheridan.com.

Sincerely,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    44
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
100
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the New Sheridan several times, once in the winter and once in the summer. We love Telluride, and this place is great. It is quaint, right in the middle of town, and has very comfortable rooms. We have stayed in Mountain Village as well, but we prefer downtown.

The french toast is amazing!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
How nice that you were able to experience Telluride in the winter and the summer. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the New Sheridan hotel. I will pass on your comments to the chef regarding the french toast.

With warm regards,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here in June 2014 and loved it. Very updated old hotel in downtown Telluride. Easy to walk the town from here. The desk help was superb. The rooms clean and comfortable. The Chop House restaurant next to the hotel serves excellent but expensive food. The only downside is the parking. There is no parking lot so you park about 1 to 2 blocks away on the street with a permit supplied by the hotel. You can temporarily park in front of the hotel to unload your luggage. A little inconvenient but it works.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I am so please to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Telluride, Colorado hotel. Renovations were recently completed by renowned hotel designer Nina Campbell, bringing a contemporary touch to our still historic hotel. The perfect balance.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was one of the more expensive Hotels on our Colorado Road trip, and also lacking in some of what we considered essentials, like a microwave, a fridge, and also no complimentary breakfast. The car parking was a case of trying to find a space at the back of the Hotel with a Hotel permit, which worked out fine, as we just left the car there for our duration.The room was good, the bed was nothing special, the staff pleasant, and we ate breakfast in their restaurant one day, which was fine. The server brought back the wrong change, which we did not notice until we were about to leave, and said nothing, so our fault really..at least we felt good in the knowledge that we gave him a 30% tip. Overall, I would say our stay was average, probably due to the feeling of not getting value for money here, compared to other towns, guess its the same everywhere in Telluride.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We appreciate your time in writing a review of the New Sheridan hotel and Chop House restaurant in Telluride. I am sorry to hear you did not see the highest value in our hotel but we do make every effort to ensure each guest feels welcome and accommodated. We look forward to showing you a better time on your next trip to Telluride.

With kind regards,
Ray, gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloraodo
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in a third floor room that was very large and had a super comfortable kind sized bed. There was also a seating area at the foot of the bed. The bathroom wasn't huge but was big enough for us, clean, nicely appointed. We had a great mountain view from our windows. It even had a large closet that kept the suitcases and everything from clogging up room space. The second day of our stay was a warm day and this hotel has no A/C-- which is understandable given the elevation that Telluride is at. However, it was a bit warm for us when bedtime rolled around on the second night. They do supply a portable evap cooler and also the room had a large ceiling fan and the windows opened. I think there must only be a few days out of the year that it is too warm and the room did cool off nicely overnight. Besides, we spent our day time hours out and about anyway. The service is great, attentive and friendly staff. We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was amazing and the wine list outstanding. It was a great stay and it's right on the main street. Lovely historic pictures line the walls of the hotel and it's just a great property. Looking forward to our next trip to Telluride!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of our New Sheridan hotel. Although we do not have air conditioning, the temperature in Telluride is moderate and the windows open to let in a nice cool mountain breeze.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Telluride,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The staff at the New Sheridan hotel and restaurant are great hosts and seasoned professionals. Our first room was very small and the hotel has no AC. I have a health condition which does not go well with heat. At 4 am the room had cooled to 78. The staff were wonderful and moved us to a corner room so that I could get cross breezes. They were exceptionally accomodating! The photos in the hotel must must be enjoyed! The staff at the restaurant are very professional and friendly.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more space and give you the opportunity to get cross breezes when you open the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you, Rebecca, for your review of our historic Telluride hotel. We do our absolute best to ensure each guest is comfortable and well accommodated. I am so happy that we were able to help you.

Warmest regards,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The room we got was quite small but cute! All the amenities are at hand, the bathroom is quite large and everything is clean. What's good is that there is no air conditioning and the windows are openable. The weather in Telluride is simply good - not too hot in summer, so opening the windows is enough to get cool air in the room. They have a jaccuzzi on the roof, their own restaurant and bar opened till late. The staff is very helpful and friendly. I liked even the creaking stairs - it just adds up to the atmosphere of the place. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for recommending our New Sheridan hotel in Telluride. Our historical hotel is full of old world charm, mixed with modern amenities. I will pass along your kind comments to our staff.

Warm regards,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sheridan Hotel

Address: 231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#6 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#8 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Sheridan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian, historic elegance in the heart of Telluride. The first Telluride hotel opened in 1891 as the "go-to place" for miners who struck it rich, completely restored and renovated in 2008, there are 26 historic rooms with all modern amenities, large suites overlooking main street. Period style furnishings, bedding, luxury baths and bathrobes. With the bustling, gourmet Chop House Restaurant, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the Parlor coffee house and the oldest bar in Telluride - still with its original fittings from 1895. 4 Diamond AAA Award. #1 North American Ski Hotel for Service as voted by Travel & Leisure 2011 and #5 Best Ski Hotel - again by Travel & Leisure 2011. Fitness room, hot tubs on the roof, Yoga studio next door, spa down the way, and discounts for adventures, while guests have a 4 block walk to the trails or the gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your New Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Sheridan Telluride
Hotel New Sheridan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Sheridan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.