We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacationing in Colorado” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New Sheridan Hotel to your Saves list
New Sheridan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vacationing in Colorado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We arrived in Telluride when it snowing. The snow only lasted 2 days which was great. It gave us the best of both worlds. The hotel was very nice, food was exceptional and the hospitality was the best. Our room over looked the main street and 80% of all activities is within walking distance.

Room Tip: A great place to stay and the food was excellent. We arrived when the snow was falling. It only last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
So glad that you enjoyed the snow and the stay.

I will pass on your kind comments to the guest and kitchen teams.

Many thanks, Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    45
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
104
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antigo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the New Sheridan Hotel for 4 nights in September for a family wedding. This was our first time in Telluride and fell in love with the town. The hotel was in a perfect location - close to shops, restaurants and the gondola. The staff was very accommodating, the restaurant was great. We really felt like we were in a real western town at the Sheridan. Our room was very nice and the bathroom was exceptionally large. We certainly would come come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We all appreciate the time you took to write your kind comments about your stay with us.

Many thanks, Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Helpful service at arrival - a second clerk came out to give us our parking permit while waiting to check in. A third helper got our luggage from the street to our room. We were there for the fall colors (highly recommended!!) and stayed in room 204 right above the bar for three nights with no noise problems. Loved the nice sitting area in our room and dimmable lights (good to know if they are too dim - you can turn them up!). Was, however, conscious of a window on third floor of neighbor bldg having a direct view into our room. Closing curtains meant no view to mtn fall colors... Would have liked more counter space by the sink, but overall we were very comfortable. Closet light burnt out second day and was promptly replaced. Great location. As for breakfast, the food was good, but too expensive and I didn't like the coffee much. Found it strange that we had to pay for coffee when buying their breakfast, but could get it free in the parlor. Maggie's across the street was a better option for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

Yes, we do have free coffee in the American Room for guests and as you know all our guests have a 20% discount in our restaurant and parlor for breakfast and lunch.

Travel well,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the New Sheridan for one night recently in an interior room (one of the cheaper ones) on the third floor. During our two week honeymoon in Colorado and New Mexico, this was one of the best places we stayed. The renovations are beautiful and the room was immaculately clean. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very well done and on the larger size with great products. Knowing that the hotel can be a bit loud due to its prime location on the main drag in Telluride, the hotel provides you with ear plugs and a white noise machine... As well as glow sticks in case the power goes out. They truly think of everything! The one thing that would make things better is an explanation about parking before arriving.... It was snowing the day we arrived (I believe the first of the season) and it would have been nice to know we could park directly in front in the middle lane to unload and bring in our bags before obtaining a parking pass and then parking on the nearby streets in the more residential area.

The hot tub on the roof during the snow was the best hot tubs of our honeymoon. Great views, private and super hot in temperature... Perfect!

All in all, a fabulous stay. We wouldn't hesitate to visit Telluride in the future, just to stay at the New Sheridan and explore the town more from the perfect home base.

Room Tip: Safe money and stay in an interior room! They're quieter and you don't need a view. Take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We are so glad that your enjoyed your part of your honeymoon with us at our 26 room downtown Telluride hotel.

You know well that we enjoyed your company too!

Thanks for mentioning about the middle of the street unloading option. We take the suggestion to heart.

Be well,
Ray - your GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a great old hotel renovated nicely. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were good size. You can't beat the location..right downtown near shops, restaurants, and the tram. There is no air conditioning, only heat, but humidifiers and some type of coolers are in the rooms if you need them. Be aware there is a bar on the first floor. Our room was street side, so we heard a lot of noise as the bar was closing and when people were smoking outside. I would stay here again but ask for a room on the third floor. The rooftop hot tub was awesome....great view, nice hot temperature, and plenty of tables to sit, talk, and have cocktails if you'd like!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Yes, the hot tub on the roof is a special place for a mountain vista.

We are the heart of our small downtown and we are the social hub of the town, therefore we always want our guests to know that there is noise outside from all of our old historic bar habitues and visitors.

Many thanks for staying, Ray -your GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Picture perfect place in a picture perfect town. We spent three nights at the hotel and were impressed with the room, the staff, and the service. We were in room 216 - the southwest corner of the hotel - but still had an amazing view. The hotel's central location is also another plus. Highly recommend!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you so much fro your kind comments about your three day stay us and your experince in our town.

Many thanks,
ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned from an amazing trip to Telluride. We stayed at two different places to really get a feel for the town, and both were top notch, including the New Sheridan Hotel! Truly a boutique hotel, it was great. Only a small number of rooms, and all are remodeled and well appointed. For being a historic building, they did an amazing job. You wouldn't know the age of the building based on how great the rooms and bathrooms were! Located right in the heart of the main street of Telluride, you can get around easy and enjoy anything within a few steps! You can't go wrong staying here!

Room Tip: Rooms that face the street have incredible views, however they are a bit noisier, especially with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and restaurant.
You stayed in two different places! Dedicated traveler.

Best regards, Ray
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to New Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sheridan Hotel

Address: 231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#4 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#7 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Sheridan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian, historic elegance in the heart of Telluride. The first Telluride hotel opened in 1891 as the "go-to place" for miners who struck it rich, completely restored and renovated in 2008, there are 26 historic rooms with all modern amenities, large suites overlooking main street. Period style furnishings, bedding, luxury baths and bathrobes. With the bustling, gourmet Chop House Restaurant, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the Parlor coffee house and the oldest bar in Telluride - still with its original fittings from 1895. 4 Diamond AAA Award. #1 North American Ski Hotel for Service as voted by Travel & Leisure 2011 and #5 Best Ski Hotel - again by Travel & Leisure 2011. Fitness room, hot tubs on the roof, Yoga studio next door, spa down the way, and discounts for adventures, while guests have a 4 block walk to the trails or the gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your New Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Sheridan Telluride
Hotel New Sheridan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Sheridan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.