We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Sheridan Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Sheridan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Sheridan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Telluride
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Everything was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The room we had was very clean and beautiful, the view from our window amazing. My wife and I just laid on the bed looking out the window for hours. The staff, all first class Cameron and Mike exceeded all our expectations of service and helpfulness, a real pleasure to do business with.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.

I will pas on your compliments to Mike and Cameron.

Best regards,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    37
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
82
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on Sept 24th, 2013. It is an excellent hotel. Period. We are off season so the room rate was only $150 or so. The hotel is totally renovated and has that crisp well painted and clean feeling. It feels like an extremely well done western hotel of the turn of the century but has all the 21st century appointments. The room was very nice, with a great bed and bathroom. The bed was bar none the best we have been in. And we have stayed at many 5 star hotels. This is the best. Period. Wonderful pillows, and the sheets and comforter were very high quality. Yes - I do go on about the bed but after all, what do you stay at a hotel for? The towels in the bath were thick as well as the robes. I would not change anything. The location is right on the main drag of Telluride, close to rester ants and shops. For guests, they offer a 20% discount for breakfast and lunch in their restaurant. They provide a pass for off-street parking which is no small deal in Telluride. All in all perhaps the best hotel we have stayed in.

Room Tip: I think the rooms over the street have the best view, but come with some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Wow. You are kind.

We so appreciate that you noticed all the small things that we work on every day including the discounts or guests in the restaurant.

We look forward to your return to our small hotel on Telluride's main street.

Best,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It has been a while since I stayed, we stayed in February for a ski vacation. This place was unreal. What a fantastic hotel with such charm.The front desk was incredibly friendly- offering recommendations for places to dine, parking (you get a free pass for areas around the hotel), and area attractions (you have to try the hot springs!!). The hotel is located in a perfect spot, right in the center of downtown-- you are only a few blocks away from the ski lift. Oh and did I mention there are hot tubs on the roof??

We will definitely make another trip to Telluride & this will be the only hotel we consider for our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your generous comments about what it is like to stay with us in the winter.
We look forward to seeing you again this year.

Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great location, nice personnel, comfortable bed, and the restaurant was outstanding. We had an inside room but that assure us of a quiet nights sleep. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
A short walk to the gondola.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay at our small hotel here in Telluride.

Hike well and long!

Best thanks for your stay,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I've always wanted to stay here ! So finally this trip I booked what they called an interior room , no view but with windows ( is how the description read) , well I must say the view was the peaks of the mountains not sure what else I wanted to see but that was beautiful and the breeze perfect ! And located around the corner from the roof top deck and Jacuzzis ! The room was beyond tastefully decorated with heated floors in bathroom ! Not that we needed them but I'm thinking winter ! The beds were sink in to dream land and comfy ! The hotel over all was beautiful, breakfast was great, we ate sitting at the sidewalk tables and it just didn't get much better ! The staff and other guests were so friendly and cordial , the previous evening we had wine in the "parlor" and cheese and that was so fun and relaxing ! You couldn't ask for any better location , right out the door and walk to any where , shopping, hiking, eating , skiing and gondolas ... it was all perfect !! Would I stay here again ?? IN A HEARTBEAT !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your joy in staying with at our Telluride hotel on main street.

Yes, the cafe tables for breakfast on main street are a fine addition .

Many thanks,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovetotravel1
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at the New Sheridan for the Telluride Film Festival. This is my third time at the Hotel and it gets better each time. The Rooms are spacious, well appointed and meticulously maintained. The service levels are at a 5-Star level as you are greeted by the staff warmly and all requests are cheerfully fulfilled.
The Restaurant is fabulous and the Elk was the best dish I have had in years.
In short.
Stay there, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Wrong click, no pool but the hot tubs are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us over the Festival.

We love having you come back year after year.
We'll keep the Elk on the menu for next year, have no fear.

Best care, Ray - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Historic hotel with a lot of character. Rooms are surprisingly modern, unexpected for such an historic building. Two blocks from the gondola that will take you to Mountain Village. One drawback: since there is no air conditioning, you may have to have your windows open at night. If your room faces the street, that will mean street noise from all of the late night diners and partiers. They do provide you earplugs, in case you need them. Overall, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our Telluride hotel and our surprisingly modern rooms in an 1895 historic hotel.

Many thanks,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sheridan Hotel

Address: 231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#6 Family Hotel in Telluride
#7 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Sheridan Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian, historic elegance in the heart of Telluride. The first Telluride hotel opened in 1891 as the "go-to place" for miners who struck it rich, completely restored and renovated in 2008, there are 26 historic rooms with all modern amenities, large suites overlooking main street. Period style furnishings, bedding, luxury baths and bathrobes. With the bustling, gourmet Chop House Restaurant, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the Parlor coffee house and the oldest bar in Telluride - still with its original fittings from 1895. 4 Diamond AAA Award. #1 North American Ski Hotel for Service as voted by Travel & Leisure 2011 and #5 Best Ski Hotel - again by Travel & Leisure 2011. Fitness room, hot tubs on the roof, Yoga studio next door, spa down the way, and discounts for adventures, while guests have a 4 block walk to the trails or the gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your New Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Sheridan Telluride
Hotel New Sheridan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Sheridan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.