We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most charming hotel and a distinct air of the history of Telluride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Sheridan Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Sheridan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
New Sheridan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in Telluride
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“The most charming hotel and a distinct air of the history of Telluride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were blown away by the beauty and feel of this fullly renovated historic hotel. From the high ceilings of the room to the fun, historic photographs hanging on the walls, the hotel exudes an air of sophistication and days gone by. Aside from the "feel" of the place, the beds were heavenly, the decor exquisite, the furniture and bathrooms very comfortable, the hot tubs hot, and the service employees friendly and helpful. The food in the beautifully decorated restaurant was excellent, too. I could not have imagined staying anywhere else. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about our small Telluride hotel and its ambiance, decor, and service.

We look forward to having you return to Telluride,
Ray,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    31
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
77
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portland, OR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

this is a beautiful grand hotel in the center of Telluride. The rooms were comfortable and spacious and the staff very helpful. We could walk to any location in the town from the hotel very comfortably (including the lifts up to the resort) and there was a restaurant/bar that was on the premesis and was totally happening at night. The $11 addition of the bed/breakfast is totally worth it - the breakfast was giant, beautiful and delicious and included nearly anything on the menu and a Latte as well! I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about the experience, energy and guest care her at our small Telluride boutique hotel and restaurant. We are so pleased that you got to experience it all - and the Bed and Breakfast option as well.

Our thanks for you taking the time to write,
Ray and Mike - General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had viewed the hotel online and the pics did not do it justice. It is a beautiful historic hotel with a very welcoming vibe as soon as you enter the door. We were on a whirlwind trip through Colorado so we were only able to stay one night. The hotel was very clean and the staff was super helpful. Our room overlooked the main road in town and was beautiful at night. If you are worried about street noise they have white noise machines in the room. We did not experience any noise issues. The bed was very comfy and there are lots of extra blankets in the room if you need them. The bathroom floors are heated which is a great touch! We were there in the fall so skiing was not an option for us but there were lots of shops and eateries. The Steaming Bean coffee shop and the Brown Dog Pizza are must trys. They are both within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your glowing words about the experience here at our Telluride hotel.

Skiing is not integral to the experience of the town. There is so much of the valley and the peaks to explore.

With thanks for you taking the time to write this review,
Ray and Mike - Gm and Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

As you walk through the doors of the New Sheridan, you are somehow magically transported back to the 1800's. You have to search a bit past the well-stocked bar to find the little sign, up some stairs and to the right, that reads "Front Desk". I was greeted by the manager, who showed all of the old west charm that seems to permeate through Telluride. I had chosen a large 3rd floor room facing Colorado Ave (that locals call "Main Street"). Although I had been warned that the bars can be noisy at night, I wanted to be able to look out at main street & the mountains. Perhaps I was there at a quiet time, because I wasn't bothered at all by noise.

Although there is an elevator, I took a perverse pride in climbing the stairs after a day of skiing, and could easily imagine those same stairs being climbed in every western movie you've ever seen.

The room was huge, and the amenities were all delightful - especially the heated floor in the spacious and gracious bathroom. The bed was a bit high and I sort of had to take a running jump to get up to it, but oh my was it worthwhile! There are ski lockers in the basement, with a space for boots... and with heaters for the boots (which unfortunately didn't work during my brief stay).

Parking in Telluride is difficult, so the hotel provides passes to allow you to park on the nearby adjacent streets. The beautiful thing about Telluride is that once I parked the car, I never needed it again until it was time ( sadly ) to leave.

There is one thing to be aware of... the walls are a bit thin, and I could easily hear conversations from adjacent rooms. In a less charming hotel, in a less wonderful town, that would be unacceptable for a hotel costing this much. But somehow, in Telluride, it's easy to overlook.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking main street are larger, and more expensive, and have wonderful views of the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for the passion with which you write. You certainly capture the flavor of a stay at the New Sheridan.

It is a pity no one rode up those stars with the horse - yest it has happened and happens. The "past " is still here at our Telluride hotel.

Thanks for your care,
Ray and Mike - GM and Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived in Telluride not thinking we would be able to stay at the New Sheridan, but not only was it available in October, the room was designed quite well and up-dated with excellent furnishings, a beautiful bathroom, and large screen TV in a semi suite set-up. Highly recommended. The restaurant was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and, yes, in October, we stay open until mid October and then re-open just before Thanksgiving.

Thanks for choosing us among all the varied options for Telluride accommodations.
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boblingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was enticed by the historical building and staying in a place that looks like the "Old West," and we wanted to be in Telluride town rather than the vacation built-up Mountain Village. It just felt more real. And it was great! The lift was only a few blocks away, many restaurant and bar choices just down the street or around the block, and it was a nice, comfortable hotel. The noise level on the street at night was sometimes high (there were earplugs in the end table drawer), and the room needs some hooks added in the entry way (where are you supposed to hang up all your ski clothes?). The hot tubs on the roof were nice, and the bed was very comfortable. Certainly recommendable.

Room Tip: If you want it quiet, ask for one not on the street. If you aren't too sensitive, it's nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about getting a sense of the "Old West" . If only Rowdy had riiden his horse into the bar while you were here. You can see him on our Facebook Page.

Your suggestion about hooks for more ski clothes, we will take to heart.

Thanks kindly,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western colorado
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The New Sheridan is charming. The historic decor is interesting, the beds are comfortable, the hotel is clean, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The view rooms are more expensive and can be subject to street noise, so if that's a concern, book an interior room. The hotel has a hot tub on the roof (great when it is snowing), is centrally located, and the Chop House Restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter, but do not have mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your stay. Lots of snow falling around that hot tub now!.

Also, we are so pleased that you enjoy Telluride and keep coming back.

All the best travels,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sheridan Hotel

Also Known As:
New Sheridan Telluride
Hotel New Sheridan
Address: 231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#6 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Sheridan Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian, historic elegance in the heart of Telluride. The first Telluride hotel opened in 1891 as the "go-to place" for miners who struck it rich, completely restored and renovated in 2008, there are 26 historic rooms with all modern amenities, large suites overlooking main street. Period style furnishings, bedding, luxury baths and bathrobes. With the bustling, gourmet Chop House Restaurant, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the Parlor coffee house and the oldest bar in Telluride - still with its original fittings from 1895. 4 Diamond AAA Award. #1 North American Ski Hotel for Service as voted by Travel & Leisure 2011 and #5 Best Ski Hotel - again by Travel & Leisure 2011. Fitness room, hot tubs on the roof, Yoga studio next door, spa down the way, and discounts for adventures, while guests have a 4 block walk to the trails or the gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your New Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Sheridan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.