We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located historic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Sheridan Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Sheridan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Sheridan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Centrally located historic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were two couples looking for a quiet couple of nights in Telluride (our first visit there). The New Sheridan is ideally situated, right in the main street and convenient to everything. It's a wonderful historic building with loads of charm.

The bathrooms could certainly do with a little more "counter space" - quite pokey, but otherwise very acceptable. The rooms are not air-conditioned, so be prepared to leave windows open if the weather is warm - although you'll then have to accept the noise challenges associated with main street activities. The rooms all come equipped with "white noise machines" - which we found quite effective at masking most noises.

The restaurant is excellent, so in general the place is really very nice. We did experience a very noisy night on the Friday, which we subsequently found out to be due to two large parties (a wedding and a birthday). We had a very unsettled night and were not impressed that the festivities were taking place in the suite next door. However, the management of the hotel were very apologetic and responsive, and they willingly refunded our accommodation charges. They also explained that the parties involved were unusually noisy in their experience, so I guess our timing just sucked. Having said that, it might be worth checking for similar large groups before booking. I marked Sleep Quality as Poor for that reason only - the other night we stayed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Street-front rooms can be noisy if the windows are open (i.e. warm weather).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic Telluride hotel and are so glad that you liked our hotel and its charm aslo that it is centrally located.

As you know, from your refunds, we are so sorry that the two parties were noisy that night and that they would up next to you!

We always want our guests to know that we are responsive to any challenge.

Many thanks and we do hope that you return when it is not "celebration" time in Telluride.

Best, Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    39
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
87
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent two nights in this wonderfull old hotel. The rooms are completely renovated with large comfortable beds, No air conditioning but celing fan and open windows provided a nice cool room. Many historic photos throughout the hotel. The food was excellent but a little pricey. The service was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel for a nice get away in a historic Colorado town.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking street are a little noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed our restful beds and fresh mountain air. We look forward to welcoming you back to the historic New Sheridan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a last minute stay in Telluride and booked the New Sheridan Hotel. I think we stayed here years ago but what we remembered is nothing like how it is today. Completely remodeled and renovated- what a stunning room for such an old building. Front desk staff great. Hotel bar great. Food a bit pricey so you've been warned! Center of town. Parking pass given at registration. Jacuzzi on roof top. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Some rooms are on main street and may be noisy but the interior rooms don't get a cross breeze i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for booking last minute with us. We're happy to hear about your comments on our renovation, staff, and hotel bar. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I highly recommend staying at the New Sheridan Hotel (if you can afford it). My husband and I stayed here for a couples celebration thing, and it was such a delightful pick. The decor was just perfect - historic photos and modern paintings. Customer service was great - we had a tricky scheduling situation and the manager helped us through it every step of the way. Parking was easy, even though it was street parking, which kind of freaked us out, but turned out it was a breeze. The hotel is right in the middle of town, so it was so easy to just walk everywhere. The room was so comfortable and clean, with very nice touches - variety of pillows, great view, heated tiled bathroom floor, bathrobes, nice toiletries selection, q-tips, white noise maker, ear plugs, variety of local magazines to find local restaurants! I also loved the environmentally-friendly elements to the hotel - stairs are in a central location, you can choose to have your linens and towels washed with less frequency, recycling bins in room. Not having air conditioning didn't affect our stay at all - the room was always at the perfect temperature. I also liked not having a/c to reduce our dependency on an energy-guzzling appliance. You can tell that there was a lot of thought put into the hotel. Loved it and would definitely return for future celebrations.

The reason why we're giving it rating of 4/5 is that there are shared doors with other rooms in case you wanted to have a multi-room suite. I think this is a fantastic option to have, but for us, it also meant that there was some noise from the room next door that we could hear, which affected our stay just a tiny bit.

Despite that minor thing, I would definitely return to the New Sheridan.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the front onto the main road has a wonderful view, but it can get somewhat noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful and detailed feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and look forward to sharing them with the team. I was glad to hear of your positive experience in regards to our location, beautiful guest rooms, and customer service. Allow me to apologize for the noise that came through the adjoining door from the other room. Please contact us directly when you are planning to return to Telluride. It would be our pleasure to assist you in the selection of a room without an adjoining room. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I do not need to add any superlatives to those that other guests have entered about this hotel. It remains a centrally-located place to stay in Telluride at any time of the year, and it is full of character and class. I have spent week-long work stays here twice in the summer months. I would not hesitate to return here with my wife as my place of choice to stay in town. There is an issue of noise from the hotel bar when one has a room on the east side of second floor. Unlike another reviewer, I could not sleep with my windows open after 10 pm in the evening, when the bar operators seemed to think it necessary to turn up the music. The white noise machine was otherwise perfectly helpful in drowning out the sounds. I have yet to try the restaurant for dinner (big thumbs up according to my friends), but can highly recommend a relaxing breakfast in the lobby bar area. I found the prices for that to be quite reasonable, on a Telluride scale, and the company is always friendly.

Room Tip: I would guess that rooms on the west end and further back are quieter. Likewise, third floor probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your helpful feedback and for choosing to stay with us when traveling for work. We hope you can return with your wife and have time to enjoy dinner together at the Chop House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Elegant throughout. My teenage daughter and I spent two nights at the New Sheridan in June, and found it completely relaxing. Didn't need the air conditioner, and slept with windows open. Other reviewers complained about late night noise from the street, but on these two weeknights it wasn't a problem at all. There are no laundromats in Telluride, and the hotel doesn't have a guest laundry. However, the front desk was happy to arrange for housekeeping to take care of it for us free of charge (I left a $20 tip). Didn't eat or drink here, but the dining room looked quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We appreciate that you recently chose to stay at the historic New Sheridan Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We're happy we were able to take care of your laundry needs. We look forward to having you and your daughter stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our room on the third floor in the back was spacious, quiet, clean and full of character. Added touches like the white noise machine showed attention to detail (although the machine wasn't needed). The front desk was courteous and accommodating, and the service at the lobby bar was superb as well. Downtown Telluride is just out the front door. I don't think we could have made a better choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor in the back should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We love our in-state visitors and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sheridan Hotel

Address: 231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#5 Family Hotel in Telluride
#7 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Sheridan Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian, historic elegance in the heart of Telluride. The first Telluride hotel opened in 1891 as the "go-to place" for miners who struck it rich, completely restored and renovated in 2008, there are 26 historic rooms with all modern amenities, large suites overlooking main street. Period style furnishings, bedding, luxury baths and bathrobes. With the bustling, gourmet Chop House Restaurant, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the Parlor coffee house and the oldest bar in Telluride - still with its original fittings from 1895. 4 Diamond AAA Award. #1 North American Ski Hotel for Service as voted by Travel & Leisure 2011 and #5 Best Ski Hotel - again by Travel & Leisure 2011. Fitness room, hot tubs on the roof, Yoga studio next door, spa down the way, and discounts for adventures, while guests have a 4 block walk to the trails or the gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your New Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Sheridan Telluride
Hotel New Sheridan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Sheridan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.