We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Sheridan Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Sheridan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Sheridan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Telluride
Aurora, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent two nights in this wonderfull old hotel. The rooms are completely renovated with large comfortable beds, No air conditioning but celing fan and open windows provided a nice cool room. Many historic photos throughout the hotel. The food was excellent but a little pricey. The service was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel for a nice get away in a historic Colorado town.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking street are a little noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed our restful beds and fresh mountain air. We look forward to welcoming you back to the historic New Sheridan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    37
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
82
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a last minute stay in Telluride and booked the New Sheridan Hotel. I think we stayed here years ago but what we remembered is nothing like how it is today. Completely remodeled and renovated- what a stunning room for such an old building. Front desk staff great. Hotel bar great. Food a bit pricey so you've been warned! Center of town. Parking pass given at registration. Jacuzzi on roof top. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Some rooms are on main street and may be noisy but the interior rooms don't get a cross breeze i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for booking last minute with us. We're happy to hear about your comments on our renovation, staff, and hotel bar. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I highly recommend staying at the New Sheridan Hotel (if you can afford it). My husband and I stayed here for a couples celebration thing, and it was such a delightful pick. The decor was just perfect - historic photos and modern paintings. Customer service was great - we had a tricky scheduling situation and the manager helped us through it every step of the way. Parking was easy, even though it was street parking, which kind of freaked us out, but turned out it was a breeze. The hotel is right in the middle of town, so it was so easy to just walk everywhere. The room was so comfortable and clean, with very nice touches - variety of pillows, great view, heated tiled bathroom floor, bathrobes, nice toiletries selection, q-tips, white noise maker, ear plugs, variety of local magazines to find local restaurants! I also loved the environmentally-friendly elements to the hotel - stairs are in a central location, you can choose to have your linens and towels washed with less frequency, recycling bins in room. Not having air conditioning didn't affect our stay at all - the room was always at the perfect temperature. I also liked not having a/c to reduce our dependency on an energy-guzzling appliance. You can tell that there was a lot of thought put into the hotel. Loved it and would definitely return for future celebrations.

The reason why we're giving it rating of 4/5 is that there are shared doors with other rooms in case you wanted to have a multi-room suite. I think this is a fantastic option to have, but for us, it also meant that there was some noise from the room next door that we could hear, which affected our stay just a tiny bit.

Despite that minor thing, I would definitely return to the New Sheridan.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the front onto the main road has a wonderful view, but it can get somewhat noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful and detailed feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and look forward to sharing them with the team. I was glad to hear of your positive experience in regards to our location, beautiful guest rooms, and customer service. Allow me to apologize for the noise that came through the adjoining door from the other room. Please contact us directly when you are planning to return to Telluride. It would be our pleasure to assist you in the selection of a room without an adjoining room. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I do not need to add any superlatives to those that other guests have entered about this hotel. It remains a centrally-located place to stay in Telluride at any time of the year, and it is full of character and class. I have spent week-long work stays here twice in the summer months. I would not hesitate to return here with my wife as my place of choice to stay in town. There is an issue of noise from the hotel bar when one has a room on the east side of second floor. Unlike another reviewer, I could not sleep with my windows open after 10 pm in the evening, when the bar operators seemed to think it necessary to turn up the music. The white noise machine was otherwise perfectly helpful in drowning out the sounds. I have yet to try the restaurant for dinner (big thumbs up according to my friends), but can highly recommend a relaxing breakfast in the lobby bar area. I found the prices for that to be quite reasonable, on a Telluride scale, and the company is always friendly.

Room Tip: I would guess that rooms on the west end and further back are quieter. Likewise, third floor probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your helpful feedback and for choosing to stay with us when traveling for work. We hope you can return with your wife and have time to enjoy dinner together at the Chop House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Elegant throughout. My teenage daughter and I spent two nights at the New Sheridan in June, and found it completely relaxing. Didn't need the air conditioner, and slept with windows open. Other reviewers complained about late night noise from the street, but on these two weeknights it wasn't a problem at all. There are no laundromats in Telluride, and the hotel doesn't have a guest laundry. However, the front desk was happy to arrange for housekeeping to take care of it for us free of charge (I left a $20 tip). Didn't eat or drink here, but the dining room looked quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We appreciate that you recently chose to stay at the historic New Sheridan Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We're happy we were able to take care of your laundry needs. We look forward to having you and your daughter stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our room on the third floor in the back was spacious, quiet, clean and full of character. Added touches like the white noise machine showed attention to detail (although the machine wasn't needed). The front desk was courteous and accommodating, and the service at the lobby bar was superb as well. Downtown Telluride is just out the front door. I don't think we could have made a better choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor in the back should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We love our in-state visitors and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Spent two days in Telluride and stayed at this wonderful quaint hotel. The room was exceptionally appointed to the smallest of details. Bed was one of the best I have had in a hotel in recent years. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Breakfast the day we left was excellent again wait staff very accommodating. Great place - will always return here.

Room Tip: Room to the back of the hotel seemed to be quieter than ones at the front of the hotel would be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your 2 day stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Telluride and the historic New Sheridan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sheridan Hotel

Address: 231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#6 Family Hotel in Telluride
#7 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Sheridan Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian, historic elegance in the heart of Telluride. The first Telluride hotel opened in 1891 as the "go-to place" for miners who struck it rich, completely restored and renovated in 2008, there are 26 historic rooms with all modern amenities, large suites overlooking main street. Period style furnishings, bedding, luxury baths and bathrobes. With the bustling, gourmet Chop House Restaurant, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the Parlor coffee house and the oldest bar in Telluride - still with its original fittings from 1895. 4 Diamond AAA Award. #1 North American Ski Hotel for Service as voted by Travel & Leisure 2011 and #5 Best Ski Hotel - again by Travel & Leisure 2011. Fitness room, hot tubs on the roof, Yoga studio next door, spa down the way, and discounts for adventures, while guests have a 4 block walk to the trails or the gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your New Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Sheridan Telluride
Hotel New Sheridan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Sheridan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.