We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ice House Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ice House Lodge to your Saves list
Ice House Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 S Fir St, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed with a group at the Ice House Lodge. The facilities and service were wonderful! The staff went out of their way to accommodate all of our special requests! Thank you to Scott and the entire staff for making our stay so nice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank APSINC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Durango, CO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I were going to a crazy costume wedding on a ranch outside of Telluride. We needed a place to change clothes, but check in wasn't for another 3 hours. The front desk agent waved his magic wand, and presto, we were checked in to a fabulous room.

The Ice House doesn't need this review. Anyone that lives within 3 hours of Telluride will tell you that the Ice House is the place to stay while you are visiting. I just wanted to give kudos to the front desk (so sorry I didn't get your name).

Thanks again,
Tom and Sheryl
Durango, CO

Room Tip: Make sure that you walk the river trail that is on the south side of the Ice House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elkmantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Basic, but convenient. All the essentials are covered plus a few extras. Nice stereo in our room, two robes, nice balconly, and very clean. I would prefer a softer matress, myself. Free parking included in a secure covered parking garage, or pass for the street if your car is too tall. Standard continental breakfast included. Walking distance to the gondola and the main street of town. We loved the brewpub across the street. Loved using Indoor/outdoor pool, hot tub, and steam room as well; you could tell they were all newly added.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleyna18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Well needless to say... Stay away...

So, what happened you ask? Let me tell you... We find antiquated appliances in our premium priced condo and what do you think happened? Well... the stove didn't work. And what do you think the ownership did about it? They sent a couple of repair men the following day at 4:30 just as we were starting apres ski with family. Two hours later, after tearing apart the kitchen and making a racket disturbing enough to make any cocktail hour miserable regardless of how strong a buzz one might have worked up, they determine they needed a part and tell us it is best to just unplug the stove as whatever work they did caused the stove to begin making a continuous noise. Two days later the part arrives... and guess what time the maintenance man shows up? Yep apres ski, on the dot. This time the repair man didn't bring his help so I had to drop my wine and help him lift, adjust, rotate, hold, and generally be deputized as repair man assistant. Turns out the part was wrong. So for the next hour we had to turn off the music and television and listen to the man talk with his part provider and stove manufacturer to get to the bottom of the part issue. Two hours after he arrived and not a moment before having ruined another apres ski, he left. The stove top still didn't work. We missed out on breakfast and dinner throughout our stay.

So the owner of the hotel came by, and here we thought, well, at least we will get an apology... turns out we shouldn't have held our breath... Not only did he not apologize, but he had the gall to suggest we were unreasonable in complaining about the maintenance interruption that occurred on 2 of the 6 days we stayed at the least possible opportune moment (i.e. during the few hours during the day we were using the living room/kitchen and attempting to enjoy the amenities). Then he did one better and told us the stove worked fine... I'd love to hear him tell that to the maintenance men who after spending five hours working on the stove came to the opposite conclusion.

Never in my life have I been offended by management!

By the way... the hot tub for the hotel was never hot... and the front desk was generally poorly staffed... (nobody was present most of the time)

I've stayed at units in Vail, Breckenridge, Deer Valley, Snowmass, Steamboat, Keystone, and elsewhere in Telluride, and for the money, this is the shabbiest place I've stayed with the poorest management I've come across.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Friendly staff. Comfortable rooms. Coffee from about 5 AM and Breakfast at 7 AM. Rico's little bar and snacks 4 PM to 7 PM is great. Walk to the best restaurants. Gondola is two short blocks away. Skiing in Telluride is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Ice House is so great! I stayed four nights last week and loved every minute of it. Great staff, awesome breakfast (continental plus) great apres, perfect location, great value, and I could go on and on.
Stay here if you are looking for a great place in Telluride that has it all.
-Patrick

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmcaleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned from 7 night ski vacation at Ice House Telluride. Stayed in the condos, huge living, dining & kitchen space, & close to gondola base & main street.
Free breakfast was a good way to start the day & afternoon bar was relaxing before dinner.
Staff were very friendly & attend to details to make stay enjoyable. Housekeeping excellent.
It was also good to have some bounding dogs to meet you in the hallways.
Excellent all round, I will be back!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RosscoM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#6 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lumiere Telluride
Lumiere Telluride
#1 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
1.9 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ice House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ice House Lodge

Address: 310 S Fir St, Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#10 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#11 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Ice House Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate 4-story Hotel located in high alpine valley, 2 blocks from town center & 100 yards from Oak Street Ski Lift (1 gondola). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ice House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice House Hotel Telluride
Ice Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing