We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Telluride Ski Resort

Telluride Ski Resort
565 Mountain Village Blvd., Telluride, CO
+1 800-778-8581
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Attractions in Telluride
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Mountains
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Nestled in the towering San Juan range, visitors to this mountain resort enjoy reeling in native trout and hiking in the summer, skiing downhill and trekking cross-country in the winter.
Chicago
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Skiing paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you do well in extreme altitude this mountain will do you proud. Lots of trails, various difficulty, short and long-run lifts, short lift lines, suprisingly good mountain-side food (bring the bank), and if you are as lucky as us - powder and more powder!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    22
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Please don't come!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Don't come to Telluride.... because I want to keep it all to myself! I want to enjoy the majestic vistas, the spectacular runs, the friendly, low-key charm and the indescribably magic of the San Juan Mountains.
I've just spent the last 8 weeks touring 8 different ski resorts in the West, from Montana down to Colorado, and none come close to the splendor of Telluride. Hmmm.... maybe I didn't do a good job of convincing you to go elsewhere!.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Alps in Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

...only better... in my view. No lift lines, friendly attendants run in an orderly fashion. Mind-blowing mountain with something for everyone from the beginner to the head-case. Memorable visit. Loved it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Telluride like being at a private mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Heard it was remote but this truly was an experience. First off arrived down town at night and saw no one walking around, no t-shirt shops no big name restaurants. It was Friday night and it was a ghost town. Found a brewpub near the gondola and gave it a try. Walked inside and it was packed. So this is where the people are. Next morning we walked 100 yards to the Coon skin lift to our amazement we are 2nd in line to buy tickets and we get on the lift at 9 am for first tracks. Signs say Revelation bowl open today.First day of Feb. and it was the first day back bowl was open and there was none of Palymra peak open yet for the season. Snow started late in this part of the rockies. At first a downer thinking not much was open but after a full 7 hours of skiiing we realized there was plenty to ski and we never sat with anyone on a lift and never waited in a line expect for the newly opened Revelation Bowl. Ate Dinner up at the Mountain Village Italian restaurant. Again no one walkling around but restaurant was packed but no wait. Sat down and in less than 10 minutes salad and Pizza at our table. Gondola was excellent to get you from City up to mountain village. Enjoyed a Michigan basketball game at the Brown Dog restaurant home to the U of M club of Telluride. Go Blue! They even had Detroit style square pizza. Overall place was a mining town that now has skiing at the bottom and a modern bell and whistles ski resort at Mountain village but no crowds!!! I will be going back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A mountain diamond in the rough, literally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Can be technical, lots of trees when you want them with plenty of wide open blues even in the bowl! Perfect!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telluride Ski Resort also viewed

 

Been to Telluride Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telluride Ski Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.