We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolitan Telluride

Cosmopolitan Telluride
300 W San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
970-728-1292
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cosmopolitan Telluride is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $70
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: San Juan Avenue and Aspen Street
Transit: The bus and the gondola are available for free and stops in front of the Cosmopolitan.
Description: Once a grand saloon in the thriving mining camp of Telluride, The Cosmopolitan is now home to the fresh, innovative creations of Chad Scothorn, who has received national attention and praise for his original, fresh approach to food preparation. Serving dinner nightly, this elegantly simple 80 seat restaurant is located in the newly remodeled luxurious Hotel Columbia at the base of the Gondola. Known locally as "the Cosmo", the custom cherry wood bar is the perfect place to unwind.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Easy to find at the end of the Gondola, we were happily surprised but the ambience. The excellent wine selection and food just increased our excitement! Best place we ate in Telluride was our verdict.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    57
    15
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Telluride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I live in Telluride, and usually come here for special occasions, local's specials, or drinks with friends (their Cosmopolitan martinis are a specialty!) We like to bring visitors here, as well. We usually order the calamari for starters, and have enjoyed most of their entrees, especially the fish. The presentation is always lovely, and the service is excellent. Our only complaint is that it can be pricey! Reservations are recommended for dinner, especially during high season.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had the happy hr 1/2 off sushi a couple nites - excellent! Great wine selection and very comfortable bar. Could have spent all nite just chilling out here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Be a devil - dine in a foyer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We enjoyed happy hour & dinner here during our stay in Telluride last week. When your local friends want to take you some place, you know it must be good. It was. Unique and fun selection of drinks, food fabulously delicious --- and ambience was cozy, yet fun because this is also a small hotel foyer. The arriving guests probably never went anywhere else to eat due to the aromas of the food being served all around them, and the sounds of happy locals enjoying each others' company and their happy-hour-priced upmarket offerings from the kitchen!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Bar!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stop by this bar before having dinner in another restaurant... we order some drinks we really enjoyed. The service was really good, friendly. they recommended the calamari as an appetizer, great advice!! we will be back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosmopolitan Telluride also viewed

 

Been to Cosmopolitan Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolitan Telluride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.