We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Madeline

Save Saved
You added Hotel Madeline to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Madeline
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   568 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Telluride
GreenLeadersSilver level
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel and would recommend it. The rooms were great, quiet and clean, loved the bed very comfortable; bathroom was nice with two sinks, large walk-in shower and large tub. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only downside was parking and pricey breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, Director of Sales at Hotel Madeline, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thanks so much for selecting the Hotel Madeline for your Telluride experience. Hope you can come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    78
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
76
152
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We visited in early October which is off season. As a result it felt like we were the only guests in this beautiful hotel. We stayed for two nights using the gondola down to town. Located one block from the hotel, this ride is free and provides a magnificent vista. Service at the hotel from the monument we arrived thru checkout was superb. Would highly recommend to family and friends. Pool and steam room allow for a relaxing afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, Director of Sales at Hotel Madeline, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
The gondola is a spectacular addition to the Hotel Madeline experience. Things wouldn't be quite the same without it, and the vistas are extraordinary. Thanks so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I'll start by saying we are pretty low maintenance guests. We usually don't utilize most of the services offered. That being said, the rooms were large and had great upgraded features. Very quiet rooms and option for blackout curtains if you want to sleep in. The beds were very comfy too. The mountain village was a little empty due to off season, but the free gondola was just outside and was a gorgeous ride down to telluride!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, Director of Sales at Hotel Madeline, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
thanks so much for sharing your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the rooms, and please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is very over-rated, especially by the smug front desk employees. It is a nicely finished building, but poorly laid out. My room was miles from the front desk. The bathroom, while mostly luxurious, included a handheld shower that kept crashing to the floor due to a loose bracket. Had it landed on my foot, it would have broken a toe. Surprise!

There is a ridiculous light-switch type Privacy mechanism that no one pointed out or explained, resulting in no maid service my first day there. When I requested fresh towels after discovering this, I got towels that were still wet the next morning when I went to use them. Surprise!

The bedroom was the darkest, worst lit room I've ever stayed in, and each light had to be turned on or off manually. No lights were operable from the light switch. Surprise! I was forced to go down to the "great room" to read. The chairs in the room weren't comfortable, either.

The restaurant was "closed" when I arrived and wanted dinner at 8:30 pm, although the literature says they're open until 9 pm. Surprise! That didn't stop half a dozen employees from hanging out at the bar inside the restaurant and making a huge racket. They apparently think of it as one of their basements. It was loud enough to be bothersome around the corner and down the hall in the great room, which isn't all that great.

But the first surprise was when I checked in and they told me there was a $25 parking fee. I never did figure out if that was per day or per stay. I was told it would be waived if I took their survey. They probably wish I didn't. And as a nice going away present, I was notified that I would be charged a $25 "resort fee", despite having had better stays at Econolodge. Surprise!

The young man working as the valet was excellent, but that should not be the high point of a stay at a luxury hotel. The "finishes" (marble bath, mattress, sheets, TV) were mostly high quality, but this is not a service oriented hotel, and thus does not deserve to be in the luxury category. This is a case of putting a pretty dress on a pig; it's still a pig.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, Director of Sales at Hotel Madeline, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks so much for providing us with the opportunity to host you during your visit to Telluride. Sounds like your overall experience was a positive one, but we were dissappointed to hear that the Hotel Madeline fell short of expectations. Hopefully you will return to Telluride for another experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I happened upon Hotel Madeline for my first venture to Telluride and was surprised with a satisfaction of equivalent to childhood merriment. From the instant we pulled into their terrace, was warmly greeted by staff, I knew this was a 5-star establishment. This point was proven repeatedly through the stay with responsive room accommodation requests, helpful staff, and an air of solid comfort, Furthermore, it's location in the center of "town" was superb plus its brief walk to the gondola was perfect. Akin to the miners of Telluride's past, I've claimed my gem and it's Hotel Madeline.

*authors note. yes, I'm aware gems were not mined there.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with a king mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, Director of Sales at Hotel Madeline, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us and your kind feedback. We hope youw ill find another opportunity to make a trip back to Telluride. Would be delighted to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My stay at Hotel Madeline was nice, nothing overly extraordinary in my opinion. My room lacked a desk or place to eat which I found annoying since I was traveling for business. The room was nice but housekeeping came very late in the day and one day I even had to call around 4:30 PM to have them clean my room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, Director of Sales at Hotel Madeline, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Do you travel to Telluride often for business? It would be my pleasure to host you for breakfast during your next visit, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to have you at Hotel Madeline once again. Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback, and i'm sorry to hear that your experience fell short of impressive. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to help make your experience more enjoyable. Thanks for selecting the Hotel Madeline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We enjoyed our long weekend stay at HM. The hotel was nicely appointed and the room size/quality was excellent (we had a King/Deluxe room). The room was very quiet (well soundproofed) and maintained by the staff. Desk and restaurant staff were professional, yet very friendly.

Our only "complaint" was the very high price of a meal at the the SmaK bar. 2 burgers and 4 glass of wine brought our total to $100.00 (including tip). We were in NYC about 3 weekends earlier and paid less for a comparable meal just off the Park. Food quality was high, though, so I guess we left satisfied--just surprised by the cost.

However, the above is a "nit" and we'd stay at HM again! Great property with fantastic views, service and quality!

P.S. Someone else has mentioned the FREE gondola--it was fantastic! I'd pay for it gladly. It convenient and timely, and saved having to haul the car out to go downtown. Best of all, the views were incredible!!

Room Tip: If you can get an east or south view, you'll get a spectacular view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, Director of Sales at Hotel Madeline, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us at the Hotel Madeline. We hope to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Madeline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeline

Address: 568 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Madeline 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madeline Telluride is a refined boutique address located at the heart of Telluride, Colorado's ski mountain. The hotel has 84 guest rooms, 11 suites, and 15 condominiums of sophisticated design, attentive service and the amenities to fully enjoy the invigorating atmosphere of the Rockies. Rev Restaurant is a fine dining room serving farm to talbe mountain chic cuisine that features local and regional ingredients. Smak Bar is a relaxed tavern chic pub serving and imaginative small and large plate menu. The Spa offers transformational treatments focused on healing and rejuvenation. Hotel Madeline Telluride is also well set for intimate weddings and small scale meetings, with 3,000 square feet of function space surrounded by wooded hillsides and majestic, mountain peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Madeline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Madeline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.