We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeline Hotel and Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Madeline Hotel and Residences to your Saves list
Madeline Hotel and Residences
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   568 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Fun Sale
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding location with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited in late February and hit it just right. Fresh powder every day. You can't beat the location right in the heart of Mountain Village. The guys at the ski valet are dialed in and it's free! Can't ask for more! Oh and the surrounding views are like nothing we've ever seen. Thanks to the entire staff (especially front desk). You all do your job well.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldridS, Director of Sales at Madeline Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide your review and for the many nice complements about your stay. We look forward to you revisiting the Hotel Madeline in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    90
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
101
187
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harefield England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned to England after spending 10 heavenly days at Hotel Madeline, Telluride one of Colorado's best kept secrets and well worth the distance we travelled to get there! We stayed in one of the superbly furnished condos, but it was the Mountain Village setting, the ambience, the service and the really wonderful staff that made our family skiing holiday one of the best ever. Hotel Madeline staff will cater to your every need and even helped us to find a very coveted ski jacket that we could not locate in the UK. When we arrived, Cody and Tina the concierge welcomed us and took the time and trouble to show us around the Hotel and the Mountain Village and they were always there to answer our numerous questions. We had a delicious breakfast every day, always served with a smile by Amber and Tucker and after a day of great skiing we indulged ourselves in a glass of wine, beer, or a cocktail by the fireside at the Hotel's Smak Bar managed by the very friendly Patrick the Catering Director, who regaled us with a different story every day. The Smak bar has a very comprehensive range of beer, wines and spirits and serve lots of delicious snacks - and if they don't have what you want they will try and get it for you - its that kind of service. Hotel Madeline also has its own highly recommended restaurant, which unfortunately we didn't get to try as it was fully booked due to President's Week. The hotel is ski in and ski out and has its own Ski Valet service and we also have to mention the great service we experienced every day from Louie and his boys. We will definitely be going back , maybe in the Summer, because we only discovered a small part of this wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldridS, Director of Sales at Madeline Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
It is great to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel. We appreciate you acknowledging the concierge and breakfast servers. They play a huge part of the success of Hotel Madeline in accommodating guests to the best of our abilities. We look forward to having you as a guest again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very good service throughout the facility. Great room and layout - had a king room. Super service from the ski valet, front desk, housekeeping and restaurants. Location is outstanding, right in mountain village and only steps to the gondola. Very easy ski in and ski out. Heated parking garage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AldridS, Director of Sales at Madeline Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your great comments about the resort. We look forward to your next visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

From the time we landed at the Telluride airport there great service began, the hotel offered complimentary shuttle from the airport to the hotel. On the way to the hotel the driver asked us if we needed any thing from the store and a we gladly said yes and stopped to stock our room so that when we checked in we were ready to go and have a cocktail snacks and relax. Our check in was easy and the best part was this hotel was offering a gret package when we booked called skiers escape that gave us 2 3 day lift passes 60.00 towards breakfast daily and 100 for the spa or resort use. This is the reason we actually chose this hotel because of this perk , if it was not for that we were going to bite the bullet and pay a little more to stay at Lumiere.
Our room was spacious for a hotel it was more like a condo, but the hotel had a dark cave like feeling, our room had no mountain view and we could not seem to get enough light to make the room seem bright. With this said it still was very nice, great full kitchen, fireplace and large bathrooms.But unfortunately I had the same issue in the bathroom, they were dark, I could never see my eyes good enough to put my eye makeup on because of the dim lights. We also had a room right next to the ice skating rink and heard noises late evening after it would close and early in the morning while they would re set it up.
The amenities of the hotel were great, nice pool, the spa was beautiful and the treatments were excellent!!
As far as ski in ski out it is especially for skiers , the ski in ski out is right by the ski valet , but if you are a snowboarder it is not the best as you know you need a little speed or incline to get going and that is not the case by the valet , so we walked to the lift which is out of the hotel and a 3 min walk through the village to get to the main lift.No big deal at all.
The best part of this hotel is that it is convenient and there are 2 gondolas that serve it, one chondola that takes you to the an area in mountain village, the chondola literally drops you off at the grocery store entrance. Then you have the main gondola which is only a 3 min walk and this gondola take you right in to the Town of Telluride, and its drop off is in a great area that makes everything accessible. I have traveled to most ski resorts in the US and always rent a car, but I can truly say that in the town of Telluride there is absolutely no need for a car at all. Save the $$$.

Room Tip: i would ask for a mountain view room and your bedroom window to be away from the skating rink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Madeline Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your thorough review of our hotel. I am sure it will be very helpful to other travelers. We do agree about the lighting issues in the hotel and we are working on several solutions.

When your travels bring you back to Telluride please contact me directly so that I can personally handle your reservations.

Ms. Noel Daniel
General Manager
NDaniel@hotelmadelinetelluride.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, az
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hotel Madeline is an exceptional alternative to the other luxury properties in Mountain Village, offering ski in and ski out accomodations and 5-star ammenities (ski valet, car valet, 24 hour room service, large and luxurious rooms). Our room was large and well appointed, quiet, with large marble/travertine bathroom. The front desk was excellent. We arrived hours before check-in and were allowed to store our luggage and spend the day skiing. When we returned in late afternoon, our things were already in the room. A front desk associate personally showed us to our room, pointing out features of the property as we made our way upstairs. The indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room were wonderful after a long day on the slopes. The only negative about our stay was the sub-par water pressure in the shower. There was a stronger stream of water coming out of the sink faucet than the shower. I was sorely disappointed by this; it was totally unacceptable. Since we stayed only one night, I decided not to complain, however, if our stay had been longer, I certainly would have requested a room change.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about the water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Madeline Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your thorough review of our hotel. I am sure it will be very helpful to other travelers. I have passed on your kind comments to our team and they appreciate the recognition.

I apologize about the water pressure in the shower. Typically we receive compliments about our water pressure. Would be so kind as to send an email to me so that I can have your name to determine the room you were in so we can fix the shower?

When your travels bring you back to Telluride please contact me directly so that I can personally handle your reservations.

Ms. Noel Daniel
General Manager
NDaniel@hotelmadelinetelluride.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband surprised me with a ski vacation in this hotel. Totally lovely! The room, with balcony facing mountains and slopes was beautiful, the spacious room with the great bathroom, perfect for an après ski dunk in the deep tub, breakfast of vegetarian Benedict's, delicious, the beds puffy yet firm, and the ski valets, perfect. This is our new vacation spot! The skiing is great: low on snow boarders and lift line waits.... It's divine... And the perfect spot for a fabulous lunch? Alpino Vino. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Deluxe king with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Madeline Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am sure it will be very helpful to other travelers. I have passed on your kind comments to our team and they appreciate the recognition.

I enjoy Alpino Vino as well for lunch and dinner—one of my favorites!

When your travels bring you back to Telluride please contact me directly so that I can personally handle your reservations.

Ms. Noel Daniel
General Manager
NDaniel@hotelmadelinetelluride.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hotel Madeline was a very convenient location for skiing at Telluride. Our room was large and well-appointed, room service was efficient, breakfast at hotel was above average. The staff was friendly and helpful on numerous occasions. I agree with another reviewer that the ski valet staff did not seem to be specifically trained for service, but they served their purpose, and would not accept tips. You can't beat this hotel for location to lifts. All-in all, no question we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Skier's Escape Package worked out well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Madeline Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am sure it will be very helpful to other travelers. I have passed on your kind comments to our team and they appreciate the recognition.

And, thank you for your helpful comments about Ski Valet. We going back and looking at our service processes to improve the guest experience in the Ski Valet.

When your travels bring you back to Telluride please contact me directly so that I can personally handle your reservations.

Ms. Noel Daniel
General Manager
NDaniel@hotelmadelinetelluride.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
0.3 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
0.1 mi away
Lumiere Hotel
Lumiere Hotel
#1 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#5 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
1.9 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
1.9 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#6 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeline Hotel and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeline Hotel and Residences

Address: 568 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Madeline Hotel and Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madeline Hotel and Residences Telluride is a refined boutique address located at the heart of Telluride, Colorado's ski mountain. The hotel has 84 guest rooms, 11 suites, and 35 Residences of sophisticated design, attentive service and the amenities to fully enjoy the invigorating atmosphere of the Rockies. M Club is an impressive hospitality lounge and fine dining experience that features local and regional ingredients. Black Iron Kitchen is a relaxed mountain chic Kitchen and Bar serving and imaginative small and large plate menu. The Spa, Salon, and Studio at Madeline offer transformational treatments focused on healing and rejuvenation. Hotel Madeline Telluride is also well set for intimate weddings and small scale meetings, with 3,000 square feet of function space surrounded by wooded hillsides and majestic, mountain peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Madeline Hotel and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeline Hotel and Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.