We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Film Festival” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeline Hotel and Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Madeline Hotel and Residences to your Saves list
Madeline Hotel and Residences
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   568 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More!
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Film Festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Went to Telluride Film Festival over labor day weekend. Hotel Madeline (actually in Mountain Village above Telluride) is a great property. Beautiful inside, beautiful outside. Too busy with festival and all those films to enjoy the spa, etc. Restaurant 'Rev' has super food, great service, different wine list (converted me back to Chardonnay.) Free gondolas from hotel into Telluride. Telluride is a real, small village with sidewalks and streets; Mountain Village is a pedestrian resort property. Would have enjoyed it more if I had been more comfortable in the altitude.

Room Tip: Had a hard time getting a room with two beds. Had to settle for a jr. suite to get bed and pull out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    82
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
82
160
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a wonderful meal in the evening. Everything was topnotch, imaginative, and cleverly and beautifully presented from the scandalously red gazpacho (poured from a silver pitcher) to the "bakers dozen" tasting desert. The Chef appeared regularly bringing yet another dish that he couldn't wait for us to taste. Even the young and new servers were knowledgeable about the food and wine. Prices are justified by the high quality of service and food. This was a fun evening...I love chefs who are excited about pleasing new customers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Hotel Madeline has relatively new owners. So, being residents of Mountain Village, we wanted to support the Hotel's restaurants. We have had dinner at the restaurant and the bar. Bothe were very good, and it appeared they had finally improved their service, which has been widely known as slow and slower. This morning, we had breakfast....slower. The eggs benedict, the hollandaise sauce came out like a gelatin. But the biggest complaint, one half hour after having breakfast, we both needed to move at break neck speed to find a restroom. We both have queasy stomachs. So that is it, never again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Madeline Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Mr. John T.,
So sorry to hear about your negative breakfast experience John. To read “that is it, never again” was certainly painful, but I myself would have felt exactly the same way you did if that would have happened to me. I would be grateful if you could contact me at plaguens@hotelmadelinetelluride.com to discuss the possibility of redeeming ourselves with you and your family. I assure you we are taking swift action to rectify the situation and stop its re-occurrence. I was at least happy to hear you enjoyed your visits to the REV Restaurant and SMAK Bar and truly believe that your experiences there are more indicative of the direction our property is taking. Thank you so much for your feedback. It is an invaluable piece in our effort to improve.

Sincerely, Patrick Laguens
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Indiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just returned from a week at Hotel Madeline. The other reviewers are spot-on with their praise of the hotel staff. I've never experienced such personalized service. When the arrived they knew we were coming and greeted us by name, and several were quick to with us a "Happy Anniversary" before we even had talked to them. I can honestly say for the whole week we never experienced a single staff member who was rude in any way (even hinting at grumpy - they were just spectacular). The location is pretty nice - the views are good but you'll not get any views of the Telluride box canyon area from this area - nonetheless, the views of other mountains in the area is nice and the sunsets were fun to see each night. The rooms in my opinion were a bit smallish but the appointments were top-notch and very very clean. The bed was as cozy as any I've been in and the bathrooms are very nice with a separate shower and tub as well as even separate smaller room for the toilet. We had a king deluxe room, the balcony was small - just enough for a small round table and two chairs but nice to relax on in the evenings. My only complaints (and complaint is too strong of a word, really) is that you couldn't get your own ice (call the desk, have it delivered.... yet someone else to tip), the room lighting made reading at night a little tough but that's just a preference thing, and the parking - $30/night? seriously? It's not like we're in the big city, That being said, the valets were so kind and helpful and always quick to open doors, hold out umbrellas and offer advice. Overall, we'd definitely stay there again when we return to Telluride. The drive into town was an easy 10 minutes, and if you don't have a car, the gondola is free and just around the corner. There are some restaurants there in the mountain village that you can get light breakfast/coffee, and dinner at (good pizza, especially), but plenty of spots in town as well.

Room Tip: the higher up you are the better your view will be
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Hotel Madeline was a beautiful property, but that is not why I will be back this winter. This property is truly definined by the people. They offer highly personalized service with a friendly and often southern flare.
The bellman on the drive was eagerly awaiting my arrival. He was friendly and charming! He escorted me to the front desk where a eloquent southern woman greeted me by name. She knew that i had a rough flight into the Telluride airport.....not sure how....she must have had connections at the airport. She offered me a bottle of water and advil. Nice touch! She then excorted me to the room pointing out everything I wanted to know on our way up. She had a map in hand and after a great room tour she pointed out the location of each of the restaurants that I booked with the concierge earlier in the week.
When we went to the chop house the first night, there was a note from the concierge team of Hotel Madeline suggesting the Elk and welcoming me to the town of telluride. I had the Elk and it was delicious! The concierge and front desk staff seem seemless! I found myself congregating in the lobby for recommendations each morning!
You guys have hit the nail on the head! Perfect Telluride elegance with the friendliest staff I have encountered in Colorado!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pa.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great location!
Great service!
Very clean!
Very reasonable

Room Tip: Mountain View of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I'll start by saying we stayed mid-week out of season so got an excellent price, I imagine it's alot more expensive in peak ski season. It was quiet; the staff seemed to outnumber the guests! The rooms are beautiful, luxurious and comfortable and the bathroom was outstanding - I took photos to show friends! It's only a few minutes walk to the gondola to Telluride - a wonderful way to go out to eat in the evening and have a wonderful view en route. There were lots of nice little touches like the iced tea and apples in reception and the turn-down service but what I liked the most was that it was luxury without being over the top or pretencious. I don't often stay in luxury hotels and when I have I always felt a bit like some of them try too hard but this was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeline Hotel and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeline Hotel and Residences

Address: 568 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Madeline Hotel and Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madeline Hotel and Residences Telluride is a refined boutique address located at the heart of Telluride, Colorado's ski mountain. The hotel has 84 guest rooms, 11 suites, and 15 condominiums of sophisticated design, attentive service and the amenities to fully enjoy the invigorating atmosphere of the Rockies. Rev Restaurant is a fine dining room serving farm to talbe mountain chic cuisine that features local and regional ingredients. Smak Bar is a relaxed tavern chic pub serving and imaginative small and large plate menu. The Spa offers transformational treatments focused on healing and rejuvenation. Hotel Madeline Telluride is also well set for intimate weddings and small scale meetings, with 3,000 square feet of function space surrounded by wooded hillsides and majestic, mountain peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Madeline Hotel and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeline Hotel and Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.