We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly luxury.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeline Hotel and Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Madeline Hotel and Residences to your Saves list
Madeline Hotel and Residences
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   568 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More!
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Friendly luxury.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I'll start by saying we stayed mid-week out of season so got an excellent price, I imagine it's alot more expensive in peak ski season. It was quiet; the staff seemed to outnumber the guests! The rooms are beautiful, luxurious and comfortable and the bathroom was outstanding - I took photos to show friends! It's only a few minutes walk to the gondola to Telluride - a wonderful way to go out to eat in the evening and have a wonderful view en route. There were lots of nice little touches like the iced tea and apples in reception and the turn-down service but what I liked the most was that it was luxury without being over the top or pretencious. I don't often stay in luxury hotels and when I have I always felt a bit like some of them try too hard but this was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    82
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
81
160
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were blown away with the size of our room. Originally built as a vacation condo resort it is now run as a hotel. Our room was a spacious one bedroom condo with mountain views. We had a kitchen, separate living room with fireplace and separate bedroom with king bed. We had an enormous terrace with mountain views. This is the largest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Amazing value. The staff was the best I have every come across. Exceptional service levels. Friendly, cheerful and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

To date this is one of the best places I have stayed. We were there last summer for two nights. The room was great, the bathroom unbelievable, better than a recent Four Season stay. The location was great, taking the free gondola to Telluride was an experience in itself and we did a lot of hiking. The rate we got in Mid July was awesome as well. I highly recommend oh they also have a candy bar for your sweet tooth.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere up market in Telluride look no further. Perfectly located in mountain village, with ski to the door convenience, this hotel has it all. And besides, there is something so nice about coming back from dinner in town in a nighttime gondola ride! Our only issue was the price of breakfast, but there are plenty of alternatives outside the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Hotel Madeline is a gorgeous hotel with all the amenities you would expect from a property of this class. The room was upscale and spotless. The bed was extremely comfortable and the quiet room provided us a great night's sleep. Since the hotel is located across the mountain from downtown Telluride, guests can make the 15 minute drive into town or hop on the nearby gondola for a short and scenic ride into town (This option is beautiful, relaxing and fun - I highly recommend it!). The times we decided to eat and hang out near the hotel, there was a great selection of restaurants just footsteps away. Staff members at the hotel were attentive and friendly, although checking out and settling the bill were frustrating because it took way too long. This was a minor inconvenience in an otherwise perfect stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in the hotel. It is located in Mountain Village (the ski village) and not in the town of Telluride. It is a 15 minute drive from the hotel to the town. In season, you can take the free Gondola to town.

The property is very well maintained, the rooms are well appointed & the beds are very comfortable. The view from the balcony was amazing!

We bought a package from spire.com that included breakfast, a room upgrade, parking, early checkin/late checkout. The hotel gives you a AAA discount.

We were here in the off-season (May 15-17), so the restaurant was not open and we had to have breakfast served in the room. The room-service prices are ridiculously high, but since it was included in our package, it didn't matter.

Parking in Telluride is $25/night in the public parking across from the hotel or $30/night using the valet service. Luckily, that was part of the package too.

There was a slight misunderstanding about breakfast and they responded by giving us a complimentary cheese plate that evening. We thought that was a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is a truly upscale property if a bit strange in it's long hallways with lots of doors layout. The rooms are first rate with fall into, fall asleep beds. But the staff is just not there to match the ambience. In a five night stay, they have been out of coffee every morning. And it seems an imposition to get them to bring more coffee -- it most cases it hasn't been brewed yet. Details. That's what make a five star property. Great rooms, great living room, great views, great location, great values to build a clientele. Now, just get the details right.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Madeline Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and provide us with helpful feedback. I came on board a few weeks ago and am quite busy working on the various details you mentioned and more. One detail of a luxury hotel is the friendliness of the staff and fortunately we have a team that is naturally warm and friendly. We will layer on this attribute more technical training and the observation skills that lead to having the details handled. This off season will be a busy one for us with training and service process engineering. I do hope you will stay with us again so that we can earn that remaining 20%! Please contact me directly at JMikula@hotelmadelinetelluride.com so that I can personally handle your reservation.
Kind regards,
Jim Mikula
Managing Director
Hotel Madeline and Inn at Lost Creek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeline Hotel and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeline Hotel and Residences

Address: 568 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Madeline Hotel and Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madeline Hotel and Residences Telluride is a refined boutique address located at the heart of Telluride, Colorado's ski mountain. The hotel has 84 guest rooms, 11 suites, and 15 condominiums of sophisticated design, attentive service and the amenities to fully enjoy the invigorating atmosphere of the Rockies. Rev Restaurant is a fine dining room serving farm to talbe mountain chic cuisine that features local and regional ingredients. Smak Bar is a relaxed tavern chic pub serving and imaginative small and large plate menu. The Spa offers transformational treatments focused on healing and rejuvenation. Hotel Madeline Telluride is also well set for intimate weddings and small scale meetings, with 3,000 square feet of function space surrounded by wooded hillsides and majestic, mountain peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Madeline Hotel and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeline Hotel and Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.