We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average overnight stay - was expecting more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Victorian Inn to your Saves list
The Victorian Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 West Pacific Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Average overnight stay - was expecting more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was my first overnight visit to Telluride. Because Telluride is considered one of Colorado's top destinations, I set my expectations a little higher than normal. I did a hotel search, the price was reasonable AND the name of the hotel seemed to be intriguing.

First the pros. the room was very clean; the location was great, walking distance accessible to restaurants, the gondola, main street and the walking path near the river.

The cons. Limited parking; my bed was hard and I woke up w/ a stiff back, I took a long beautiful walk to get the kinks out; my rooms was small and right under the check in lobby; the continental breakfast was very limited; For an Inn to call themselves "Victorian", the rooms were nowhere near the look or feel of Victorian.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
26
71
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked this room via Expedia, for a 1 night stay during a local music festival. We walked into the lobby and waiting for about 10 minutes for someone to appear. One man in line behind us, even walked behind the desk and down the hall... only to find no one.
We were given a room right under the lobby, which had a terrible odor. The bathroom was very outdated! Only a stand up shower the size of a postage stamp (a normal sized adult whould have trouble taking a shower)!!!! The bed was very uncomfortable, and did not seem to be queen size. The noise from the lobby just above us, was incredibly loud, and even worse at 6:00 am, while the "breakfast" was being prepared by staff.
I went up to the lobby for coffee, only to find the pot empty. After a pot had been brewed I asked for half and half, to which the response was "what is that?" Breakfast consisted of, boxed cereal, cinammon rolls, and coffee.
The room rates, with a Motel 6 room.Which is okay, if that is what is presented when booking, and also okay if that is what you have paid for. But we paid over $300.00 for a room that was worth $60.00.
The front desk staff, was never helpfull, or accomidating what so ever.
Parking was always an issue.
The rooms are advertised as "Victorian" but our room was nothing more than an old uncomfortable mattress, with an iron headboard. No closet, and Wal Mart chair and table.
We feel extremly ripped off by this "Inn".

Room Tip: The best advise we can offer, is, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I think the only good thing about this property was the location. It is close to the gondola and the main part of town. The room was ok, queen bed seemed smaller than your average queen. Our room was near or next to a boiler room, which was loud all night long. I thought the noise was from the hot tub near our room, but when we asked the front desk person about it, she said that might be from the boiler room. No apologies. Picked up some earplugs the following day, so the second night's sleep was a little better. Parking was a hassle, they don't have enough spots to accommodate all the guests. Nothing Victorian at all about this, except it was old.
Not worth the $$ at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Vcitorian Inn is a small lodge/hotel in the city of Telluride. The biggest plus to staying here is the location. It is right near the base of the gondola, so there is excellent access to everything. The hotel is not fancy. It is average. The rates are very good compared to most places in Telluride. For budget and convenience, it is a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Victorian_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at The Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Victorian Inn! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed the affordable prices of our prime location in Telluride. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back soon! Thanks again for staying with us and providing your feedback.

Until next time, safe travels!

The Victorian Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here based on reviews. It was an old fashion inn, with more rooms than expected. Room was decorated in victorian style. Clean. Bathroom could use updating but it is an old building and they are trying. No refrig or microwave but we didn't need it. No air conditioning but in high mountains, we didn't need it even in July. Had windows open and town was quiet, no problem. Walking distance to maint street shops & eateries. Could use new mattress. Blinds should be replaced with more functional & private window coverings. Again, part of the decor I think.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room so you can have cross breeze in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

3 Night weekend stay. Spouse called and talked to desk, got a good rate. When we got here we found the staff welcoming. Room clean and spacious, however it is located just above the office and at the head of the stairs. Very noisy. Finally took the small window fan out of the window to close the window but it did not help muffle the outside noise too much. 2nd morning the breakfast was out of cinnamon rolls in under 45 minutes of the 2 hours and it seemed to not be staffed sufficiently to keep up with the guests wanting breakfast and others checking out. Snide comments from staff worker who tried to use "humor" to make up for the lack of service. Suggest spending a little extra if you are wanting peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is well placed for the gondola and the town centre.Our room was immaculate and well-equipped with a first class bathroom.The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was perfectly adequate.Overall a fair balance of quality and price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Inn

Address: 401 West Pacific Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Inn's charming style blends beautifully w/Telluride's turn of the century architecture - Adjacent to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Hotel Telluride
Victorian Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.