We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and basic inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Victorian Inn to your Saves list
The Victorian Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 West Pacific Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Quaint and basic inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here based on reviews. It was an old fashion inn, with more rooms than expected. Room was decorated in victorian style. Clean. Bathroom could use updating but it is an old building and they are trying. No refrig or microwave but we didn't need it. No air conditioning but in high mountains, we didn't need it even in July. Had windows open and town was quiet, no problem. Walking distance to maint street shops & eateries. Could use new mattress. Blinds should be replaced with more functional & private window coverings. Again, part of the decor I think.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room so you can have cross breeze in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
26
71
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

3 Night weekend stay. Spouse called and talked to desk, got a good rate. When we got here we found the staff welcoming. Room clean and spacious, however it is located just above the office and at the head of the stairs. Very noisy. Finally took the small window fan out of the window to close the window but it did not help muffle the outside noise too much. 2nd morning the breakfast was out of cinnamon rolls in under 45 minutes of the 2 hours and it seemed to not be staffed sufficiently to keep up with the guests wanting breakfast and others checking out. Snide comments from staff worker who tried to use "humor" to make up for the lack of service. Suggest spending a little extra if you are wanting peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is well placed for the gondola and the town centre.Our room was immaculate and well-equipped with a first class bathroom.The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was perfectly adequate.Overall a fair balance of quality and price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc mountains
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was unusually hot when we were there--June 29 and 30. The rooms are not air conditioned, and have little window fans. To use the fans, the venetian blinds have to be partway up, and then the privacy is compromised. Plus, the blinds are old and do not work well, being partly broken and the cords tangled. In the first room we had, the bathtub water would not come on, and the TV was broken--that is, the remote, even with new batteries, would not change the channel. They gave us a new room, which was on the street side instead of the hotter west side, which was a bit of serendipity. The office has coffee and pastries, but doesn't open until eight AM, which is inconvenient. (We did discover the terrific BIT (Baked In Telluride) bakery two blocks away with all anyone needs and they open at 5:30 AM.) Overall, this place is a great location, but is a bit shabby and in need of an upgrade.

Room Tip: If the weather is hot, get the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice and helpful staff. Accommodations were clean and basic.....the summer days can be hot up there and wasn't much ventilation, a small fan but that was it. Walls are thin and we had some night owls next door that provided a wake-up call around 3am. For the price, not sure it was really worth it. Although it was a very nice location and parking was easy!

Room Tip: Definitely request the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We are a family of four with our youngest at seven.
A majority of the rooms are on the west side of the hotel and bake in the afternoon. We came back to our room after dinner around eight and it was about 80 degrees inside. With no AC unit, ther was simply no way to cool the room down except for a weak $10 fan the hotel provides for placing in the window. As one might imagine, not only is this ineffective, but you have to leave the blinds up to allow the air from outside flow in. We had the fan on all night and the place never cooled down. Not to mention, smokers out side filled the room up with smoke as the window fans pulled the air from smoking areas around the hotel. Of course the office was closed when I went over to see if they might have an extra fan to facilitate air exchange. What a joke!
I am left with the undeniable feeling that this place is run by some folks who are quite ignorant of what a $200/night room should be like for the customer. My kids can sleep through almost anything but even this experience tested that mettle. A hot room that smelled like smoke had my seven year old up multiple times. What a bummer. And what what a quick way to wreck your visit.
Buyer beware...stay somewhere else. Cheaper rooms are available and I would bet they have AC.
And can you imagine a hotel anymore that you have to leave the window open all night. I realize it is Telluride, but that just isn't going to give most customers a sense of safety.
Poor construction caused us to hear guest above us and next to us. Because windows were open, noise from outside kept waking us up. Creaky floors makes you want to walk very softly so as not to disturb others.
As with many who have such a terrible experience with a poorly run outfit; if I could have given the place zero stars, I would have.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Clean, convenient, super friendly staff. Beds were nice and firm. Beat recommendations for things to do around town. Great breakfast. We were just passing through between Gunnison and Mesa Verde, and this was a great stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Inn

Address: 401 West Pacific Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Inn's charming style blends beautifully w/Telluride's turn of the century architecture - Adjacent to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Hotel Telluride
Victorian Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.