We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sufficient for a one-night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Victorian Inn to your Saves list
The Victorian Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 West Pacific Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sufficient for a one-night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice and helpful staff. Accommodations were clean and basic.....the summer days can be hot up there and wasn't much ventilation, a small fan but that was it. Walls are thin and we had some night owls next door that provided a wake-up call around 3am. For the price, not sure it was really worth it. Although it was a very nice location and parking was easy!

Room Tip: Definitely request the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    42
    32
    14
    8
See reviews for
25
68
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We are a family of four with our youngest at seven.
A majority of the rooms are on the west side of the hotel and bake in the afternoon. We came back to our room after dinner around eight and it was about 80 degrees inside. With no AC unit, ther was simply no way to cool the room down except for a weak $10 fan the hotel provides for placing in the window. As one might imagine, not only is this ineffective, but you have to leave the blinds up to allow the air from outside flow in. We had the fan on all night and the place never cooled down. Not to mention, smokers out side filled the room up with smoke as the window fans pulled the air from smoking areas around the hotel. Of course the office was closed when I went over to see if they might have an extra fan to facilitate air exchange. What a joke!
I am left with the undeniable feeling that this place is run by some folks who are quite ignorant of what a $200/night room should be like for the customer. My kids can sleep through almost anything but even this experience tested that mettle. A hot room that smelled like smoke had my seven year old up multiple times. What a bummer. And what what a quick way to wreck your visit.
Buyer beware...stay somewhere else. Cheaper rooms are available and I would bet they have AC.
And can you imagine a hotel anymore that you have to leave the window open all night. I realize it is Telluride, but that just isn't going to give most customers a sense of safety.
Poor construction caused us to hear guest above us and next to us. Because windows were open, noise from outside kept waking us up. Creaky floors makes you want to walk very softly so as not to disturb others.
As with many who have such a terrible experience with a poorly run outfit; if I could have given the place zero stars, I would have.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Clean, convenient, super friendly staff. Beds were nice and firm. Beat recommendations for things to do around town. Great breakfast. We were just passing through between Gunnison and Mesa Verde, and this was a great stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had just finished the first day of a three day bike ride when I checked in. The front desk clerk asked if I would be having breakfast. I explained i had to leave in the morning before the hotel served breakfast. The clerk set up foods for breakfast that evening that I could take to my room and put in the refrigerator and have the next morning. That is service!

The location of the hotel is very convenient to walk to restaurants, shopping, and the gondola.

Rooms are updated and have a mini kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

:Ideal location in the middle of town. Park your car and enjoy walking through the town or riding the gondola up the mountain. If possible, get a placard at the front desk for the dashboard of your car that allows you to park on the street adjacent to the hotel.

The room was exceptionally clean, especially for an older property. The bed was very comfortable and the mattress appeared to be relatively new. The bed was covered with a duvet in a clean sheet (no spread), four good pillows, and a folded fleece blanket. There is a window fan but no air conditioning. The window had blinds only; it would be nice if the room had some drapes to close to darken the room and to keep out ambient noise.

Breakfast is not available before eight o'clock and the selection is limited, but there are plenty of options nearby, and there is a coffee maker in your room.

Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in February of 2013 and loved the location and room. We had the honeymoon sweet and it was perfect! Breakfast was very good. I had never been to telluride and took a gamble on choosing a place to stay without knowing the area and it was a perfect location! We will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Victorian_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at The Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Anjulie for your kind review! We’re thrilled you enjoyed out services and we’re very glad you chose to stay with us during your first trip to the beautiful town of Telluride. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime!

The Victorian Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We read good reviews and decided to give this place a try. When we arrived, we waited in the lobby about five or ten minutes before calling the hotel phone in hopes that the front desk person was just out of range but would pick up the phone. Instead, nobody answered the phone so we began calling other hotels in the area. Eventually, the Victorian Inn manager showed up with her lunch in hand acting annoyed that we inconvenienced her. She quoted us a higher price than other hotels in the area and let us look at a room (supposedly one of her "better" rooms) but it wasn't anything fantastic. Instead of staying at the Victorian Inn, we went to the Camel's Garden Hotel and got a room many times more beautiful at a better price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Inn

Address: 401 West Pacific Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Inn's charming style blends beautifully w/Telluride's turn of the century architecture - Adjacent to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Hotel Telluride
Victorian Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.