We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Victorian Inn to your Saves list
The Victorian Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 West Pacific Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

My family spent the weekend in Telluride and were happy to find an affordable hotel in downtown Telluride. The rooms are comparable to a motel 6. The bathrooms are tiny. If you like lukewarm showers then this is the place for you. Even after complaining and a maintenance man "fixing" the problem, we were still forced to have a warm not hot shower. Also bring your own hair dryer! They have a wall unit however due to some mechanical glitch according to the front desk they have to constantly replace them. The beds are less than comfortable. The only plus is that it is very convenient to the gondola and restaurants. I will not stay here again and I DO NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
26
71
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have stayed here twice and will return again when our next USA trip takes us to Colorado

We love Telluride and the Victorian Inn.

Great location, nice big room with a beautiful view of the Bridal Veil Falls

Delicious cinnamon buns in the morning for breakfast

If in Telluride this is definitely the place to stay

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

great location. Very clean. very comfortable beds. decent hot tub. Breakfast is cereal and yogurt and cinnamon buns.
only complaint is the noise on the first level. sounded like there was a elevator or something next to our room (337). We didn't hear the neighbors at all just this pretty constant electric noise. I slept with earplugs and got a great nights rest. I'll most likely be back.

Room Tip: ask for a quite room and don't expect a lot for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This hotel has what? -- maybe 40 rooms. They provide about 10 off-street parking spaces, When we arrived, the small parking lot was full with cars and snow! No handicapped designated spaces in the lot or on the street. There is a lot of stair climbing involved to get into the hotel, and to navigate within it. Not an elevator in sight. This hotel is in clear violation of the ADA, and violates zoning laws of every city with which I am familiar for failure to provide adequate off street parking. It could not have a valid historical exemption from these laws, as the sign on the front states it was built in 1976! On- street parking on the residential street where this property is located is highly regulated by the City (parking tickets are probably a major source of revenue) . And the street is very poorly cleared of snow and ice.

Bottom one is that this might be a decent place to stay, but there is no place to park. This is something Americans take for granted in hotels and motels. I feel that the Victorian Inn's failure to notify prospective guests of this amounts to fraud.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupper Lake, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

The Victorian Inn in Telluride Colorado was one of the highlights of our Western ski vacation. The Inn has a great location of just steps to either the ski lift or town at a very affordable price. The rooms were spacious enough for all our ski gear and toasty warm. We would highly recommend the Inn to any travelers looking for an affordable, clean, friendly atmosphere, and a great location spot in Telluride.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

All the positives, and there are many, about this hotel have been detailed in previous reviews, and I would agree with them. I'm writing this review to alert future patrons that the guest laundry, which is still mentioned in some of the promotional literature, has been permanently removed as of this writing. (The lady at the desk they "might" reinstall it but not before next summer.) I was misled by a review on TripAdvisor written in October that the guest laundry "was being worked on."

Worse yet, there is no public laundromat in Telluride. The lady at the desk said there are some machines at an apartment complex some blocks away. I checked with a local dry cleaner, Telluride Eco Cleaners, about laundry. They do it but only pick up and deliver on Mondays and Thursdays. If they pick up Monday, they deliver Thursday and vice versa. If you drop off early in the morning on one of those days, though, they will deliver it in the afternoon. Again, it is not close to the Victorian Inn, but I think you can get there by the Galloping Goose.

We were there for a week, and my husband is fussy about washing clothes. I do hand laundry for myself. He got by when we learned the situation because we didn't want to be hauling clothes around town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Once again the Victorian Inn and their staff delivered an excellent experience. You can't beat the location, 1 block to the gondola and 1 block to main street restaraunts and shopping, and you certainly can't beat the value. We have time shares we could trade for a condo in the Mountain Village but we choose to stay here due to location, service and the quiet. Check it out next time you are heading to Telluride. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Take a look at the detached cottage house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Inn

Address: 401 West Pacific Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Inn's charming style blends beautifully w/Telluride's turn of the century architecture - Adjacent to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Hotel Telluride
Victorian Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.