We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Ski Hotel / Unbeatable Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Columbia to your Saves list
Hotel Columbia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madison, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb Ski Hotel / Unbeatable Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We have stayed at the Hotel Columbia on four separate occasions over the past decade. This most recent trip was our first one subsequent to the sale and redevelopment of the property into a condo hotel.

Although there have been a few cosmetic changes, primarily in the lobby, the essential "feel" of the place remains the same. We stayed in the second-floor hot tub room, which faces east into the box canyon. The room itself was a bit on the small side, and was somewhat lacking in both closet and drawer space (not atypical of ski resort hotel rooms). However, the enormous hot tub deck created the illusion of a much larger space. The bathroom was terrific (heated floors), with a nice vanity and a great shower. It was also handy to have a small kitchenette.

Our unit was on the second floor, and although quite quiet, there was some foot traffic noise from the unit above us. However, it was relatively minor compared to our experience in other properties.

The ski/boot room at the Hotel Columbia is fabulous, with generous lockers, plenty of space to get ready, and an ample supply of boot dryers. Most importanly, the door of the ski room is literally steps from the Gondola. Once you've enjoyed this type of location, it is hard to accept anything else. The Hotel is also extremely close to downtown Telluride shops, restaurants, galleries, etc.

The room price includes a very nice breakfast buffet in the on-site Cosmopolitan Restaurant that always offered one or two hot entrees as well as the usual array of fruits, juices, pastries, dry cereal and the like. This feature has definitely been upgraded with the renovation of the hotel.

The "Cosmo" is also one of the most coveted dinner tables in Telluride/Mountain Village, and it is fantastic to have such seamless access to it.

The staff at the Hotel Columbia is extremely professional, competent and accomodating. It is a fine boutique hotel in the finest tradition. The front desk manager, Scott, was always at the ready to assist with questions or concerns.

For those seeking the best in both location and service, the Hotel Columbia is very hard to beat. We intend to revisit often.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    22
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
84
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

This was our first trip to Telluride and I can't say enough about this hotel and the staff. Scott was fantastic and Katie, Erin and Shea took care of every want or need we had. We stayed in a one bedroom hot tub suite that was beautiful. The bed was the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. The Cosmopolitan was fabulous as well as the complimentary breakfast. What a way to start the day with fresh quiche and pastries. The location is perfect, out the door to the Gondola. Lockers and boot warmers provided for ski equipment. We will be back to ski and the only place for us is at Hotel Columbia. We were treated like royalty! Thanks to all of you from the bottom of our hearts.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawai`i
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

As a first-time visitor to Telluride I couldn't have a chosen a better place to base my stay. Steps from the ski locker to the gondola, the convenience and charm of this hotel made it the perfect choice.
The room was large and well-appointed, with a sitting area, king bed, kitchenette and luxurious bathroom. You can watch the gondola climb up the hill from your bay window in room 30 and glimpse the mountains from the back balcony off the bathroom.
The staff is friendly and professional and never tired of my endless questions. Rhea and Scott helped with emails before my arrival and everyone made you feel at home.
The Cosmo restaurant deserves the accolades. Best meal and service (thanks Marnie!) of my trip. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Conveniently located across the street from the gondola, the Hotel Columbia offers all of the amenities in an intimate, low-key environment. The rooms provide amazing views of the mountain, and are beautifully decorated and comfortable as well. The suites are spacious and luxurious- complete with a private hot tub on the balcony that is especially spectacular on a snowy night. The complimentary breakfast offers a lot of variety and is very tasty- the perfect send-off for a day of skiing. Lastly, the locker room on the ground level, with its heated boot-warmers, is indicative of the unique and exceptional care given to guests of the Hotel Columbia.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vail, CO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Columbia for 1 night during a very stormy weekend in Telluride. We brought our 45 lb black lab with us. This hotel "gets it". It's beautifuly decorated, they are very accomodating, they love pets, I mean - they even offered to watch our dog while we skied all day....How many hotels would do that? Our room was great. I will say that there were some doors slamming and some noise in the hallway at 6:00 a.m. Not sure what it was - maybe other guests leaving for the airport, but I was awaken by the noise. The thin walls were in the bathroom for sure. i could hear the toiliet next door flush and the guy peeing...but that did not bother me because obviously - you don't sleep in the bathroom. The tub was awesome! the shower was awesome! and our room was just great. We parked right there, and we were literally 20 steps from the gondola. Food and drinks were great. I recommend this hotel highly!!! worth every penny if you have a pet.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

great hotel, great breakfast. pet friendly. outstanding staff. would reccomend

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Just returned from a ski trip to Telluride, where we stayed at the Hotel Columbia. The location is the best - only a few steps from the gondola. We stayed in a roomy, well decorated suite with a living room, kitchenette and 1 1/2 baths overlooking the slopes. The service was terrific - the staff went out of their way to be accomodating. I much prefer staying in town to Mountain Village, where we stayed on our last trip, as most of the good restaurants and activities are in Telluride. Their Cosmopolitan Restaurant is one of the best in town. An added bonus was free lift tickets as part of the package. We will make this hotel our base in Telluride from now on.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#4 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#9 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride's premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and suites. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.