We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Columbia to your Saves list
Hotel Columbia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
March 4th Night Free!
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
“Loved this Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

I can't say enough good things about the Hotel Columbia. My husband and I drove into town spontaneously early this month and went first to another hotel, which was booked. They recommended the Hotel Columbia. We were greeted warmly when we walked in and the experience was that way for the entire stay. The manager gave us our room keys and as we were walking down the street to get our car, he actually chased after us and gave us new room keys, telling us that one of his favorite rooms became available and he wanted us to have it. Amazing. The room was on the fourth floor, with a balcony and view of the mountain, with a living room and bedroom and small kitchen. Very nicely decorated, extremely clean, very comfortable bed, nice bathroom with steam shower. The location was perfect. Right in town, with the gondola directly across from the hotel. The breakfast in the morning is the best I have ever had at a hotel, and was far better than most restaurants I have been to. We also had dinner at the restaurant in the hotel and it was outstanding. We will definitely return to stay here again and look forward to visiting them in the winter.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morreale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
lyons, co
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We visited Telluride for the first time this October. We did not make prior reservations and so we stopped at the visitor's center and they recommended Hotel Columbia. What a find! It's located right at the base of the gondola station that takes you to Mountain Village, and it's so convenient to shops in Telluride as well. Fall seems to be a perfect time to visit, as the weather was great and the crowds were small and the hotel rates were reasonable. We felt like we got a great deal. The room was spectacular - clean and newly renovated with really nice amenities. I really appreciated the vanilla chapstick for my very dry lips. Very quaint decor with nice additions such as clawfoot bathtub and in floor heat in the bathrooms, heated towel racks and Keurig Coffee maker. We had a Murphy bed that was surprisingly comfortable, dining area, kitchenette, living area with comfortable chairs/couch and gas fireplace. The deluxe continental breakfast was fantastic and included in the price of the room. Meats, cheeses, fruit, cereal, pastries, quiche, fresh squeezed OJ. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Wish I could afford to stay during peak seasons. One of my favorite hotel experiences.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ursoloved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Everything was perfect in our suite! The room was spacious and clean, with a great downtown view. The morning breakfast was yummy and had quite a number of selections. The staff was courteous and friendly, making our stay a most memorable vacation.

Great place and we'll definately return!
The Rackey's of Plano, TX

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Planotravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel is a gem. The staff are great and the rooms are amazing. I stay here at the Columbia everytime I visit Telluride. The hotel is also pet friendly which is a plus in my book.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CortezWineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We LOVED our stay at the Hotel Columbia a few weeks ago. We booked the day of, and got a great room ( i think it was room 25) at a great rate. Also, the hotel is pet friendly so we were able to bring our dog with us! The room was large, had a balcony, windows that opened (we hate being trapped without a way to get fresh air in the room) and the bed was very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to our friends and family visting Telluride.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandhopper14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We were one of four couples traveling through Colorado and had booked one night with Mindy who was most helpful in giving us rooms together. When we arrived we were all extremely happy with the accommodations, the rooms were beautiful, large, light and airy. All had balconies. We immediately arranged to stay a second night. The breakfast buffet was delicious with fresh fruit, quiche, homemade pastries, etc. We had previously spent two nights in Durango and one in Moab and this was by far the nicest place we stayed in. Thank you Mindy for a great time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debinparkcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

The hotel itself was beautiful and tidy. The location, right next to gondola, was superb.
The service however, was disappointing. The staff at front desk, when they were present or available was unfriendly. When they were there to help (check in-check out) they acted as if the guests were an imposition. The hotel offers a wonderful breakfast and the woman who was providing service there was an exception to the above. She was cheerful and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelermaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
1.8 mi away
Lumiere Telluride
Lumiere Telluride
#1 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#6 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#6 Business Hotel in Telluride
#7 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride's premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and suites. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing