We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Columbia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Telluride
Plano
1 review
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Everything was perfect in our suite! The room was spacious and clean, with a great downtown view. The morning breakfast was yummy and had quite a number of selections. The staff was courteous and friendly, making our stay a most memorable vacation.

Great place and we'll definately return!
The Rackey's of Plano, TX

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    15
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
68
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortez
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel is a gem. The staff are great and the rooms are amazing. I stay here at the Columbia everytime I visit Telluride. The hotel is also pet friendly which is a plus in my book.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We LOVED our stay at the Hotel Columbia a few weeks ago. We booked the day of, and got a great room ( i think it was room 25) at a great rate. Also, the hotel is pet friendly so we were able to bring our dog with us! The room was large, had a balcony, windows that opened (we hate being trapped without a way to get fresh air in the room) and the bed was very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to our friends and family visting Telluride.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We were one of four couples traveling through Colorado and had booked one night with Mindy who was most helpful in giving us rooms together. When we arrived we were all extremely happy with the accommodations, the rooms were beautiful, large, light and airy. All had balconies. We immediately arranged to stay a second night. The breakfast buffet was delicious with fresh fruit, quiche, homemade pastries, etc. We had previously spent two nights in Durango and one in Moab and this was by far the nicest place we stayed in. Thank you Mindy for a great time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

The hotel itself was beautiful and tidy. The location, right next to gondola, was superb.
The service however, was disappointing. The staff at front desk, when they were present or available was unfriendly. When they were there to help (check in-check out) they acted as if the guests were an imposition. The hotel offers a wonderful breakfast and the woman who was providing service there was an exception to the above. She was cheerful and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We were happily greeted with a lovely room with a balcony at the Hotel Columbia. The appointments were high quality and the room afforded gorgeous views of Telluride with huge windows. The bed and the bedding were so comfortable. They have obviously devoted a lot of attention to the remodel of this old hotel. It is just across the street from the gondola. I was concerned that this proximity would be noisy but it was not. It was only convenient.

On the negative side, we woke up to no hot water the morning after our stay. Actually, we woke up to children screaming and storming the halls for 2 hours, which I will justly blame on the parents rather than the hotel, but which was a damper on our romantic getaway. When we called the front desk about the hot water situation, we reached "Scott", who said he hadn't heard of any problems with the hot water but would check on it. 15 minutes passed and Scott did not bother to get back to us. We called again and reached him. Casually, he stated that he had heard that there was a plumber in the building and he "assumed" the plumber was addressing the hot water issue; that we should wait 10-15 minutes to see if it got fixed.

So we went to complimentary breakfast -- which was delicious -- at the Cosmo restaurant in the lobby -- un-showered. When we returned, the hot water was restored. We didn't object to an old hotel's occasional plumbing snafu, but Scott's service was decidedly cavalier and completely unhelpful.

When he asked us how our stay was as we were checking out, we politely mentioned that the stay was nice except for the hot water and the children situations. Defensively he retorted something along the lines of a shrug and "well, that's how it goes." Unimpressive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

This boutique hotel was steps from everything including the gondola that takes you to the most breathtaking scenery and great restaurants. I traveled with friends on a motorcycle tour of Colorado and booked my room on the main street of Telluride when we arrived. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the Presedential Suite that was luxurious and so very comfortable. It fit three people very comfortably with two separate rooms with showers (WOW) and a main sitting room. Balconies and view were included. The staff was great and I plan on staying there next summer and hopefully for a ski vacation. The breakfast was included with the room but we overslept due to the comfort.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride
Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Telluride
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#7 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride’s premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and condos. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.