We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful with substandard service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Columbia to your Saves list
Hotel Columbia
301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Parker Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful with substandard service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

The hotel itself was beautiful and tidy. The location, right next to gondola, was superb.
The service however, was disappointing. The staff at front desk, when they were present or available was unfriendly. When they were there to help (check in-check out) they acted as if the guests were an imposition. The hotel offers a wonderful breakfast and the woman who was providing service there was an exception to the above. She was cheerful and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    19
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
76
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We were happily greeted with a lovely room with a balcony at the Hotel Columbia. The appointments were high quality and the room afforded gorgeous views of Telluride with huge windows. The bed and the bedding were so comfortable. They have obviously devoted a lot of attention to the remodel of this old hotel. It is just across the street from the gondola. I was concerned that this proximity would be noisy but it was not. It was only convenient.

On the negative side, we woke up to no hot water the morning after our stay. Actually, we woke up to children screaming and storming the halls for 2 hours, which I will justly blame on the parents rather than the hotel, but which was a damper on our romantic getaway. When we called the front desk about the hot water situation, we reached "Scott", who said he hadn't heard of any problems with the hot water but would check on it. 15 minutes passed and Scott did not bother to get back to us. We called again and reached him. Casually, he stated that he had heard that there was a plumber in the building and he "assumed" the plumber was addressing the hot water issue; that we should wait 10-15 minutes to see if it got fixed.

So we went to complimentary breakfast -- which was delicious -- at the Cosmo restaurant in the lobby -- un-showered. When we returned, the hot water was restored. We didn't object to an old hotel's occasional plumbing snafu, but Scott's service was decidedly cavalier and completely unhelpful.

When he asked us how our stay was as we were checking out, we politely mentioned that the stay was nice except for the hot water and the children situations. Defensively he retorted something along the lines of a shrug and "well, that's how it goes." Unimpressive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

This boutique hotel was steps from everything including the gondola that takes you to the most breathtaking scenery and great restaurants. I traveled with friends on a motorcycle tour of Colorado and booked my room on the main street of Telluride when we arrived. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the Presedential Suite that was luxurious and so very comfortable. It fit three people very comfortably with two separate rooms with showers (WOW) and a main sitting room. Balconies and view were included. The staff was great and I plan on staying there next summer and hopefully for a ski vacation. The breakfast was included with the room but we overslept due to the comfort.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

I have not actually stayed at the Hotel Columbia yet, but I wanted to talk about the service that has been provided so far. Scott the GM of all people has taked the time to go over room descriptions and assured me that my family will have a great trip. The hotel is finishing a big renovation and I wanted to make sure I am getting a room that will fit my family. Scott has worked dilligently to make sure our stay will be flawless. If I receive this kind of help before the stay, I cant wait to get to Telluride.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

This place was fabulous. Great location - just across from the Gondola, very friendly staff and pet friendly. In fact, tney liked our dog so much they upgraded us to the penthouse suite which is a fantastic room - it's along the roofline so lots of neat bends and angles, had a kitchen and a huge tub with a picture window out to the mountain. The inclusive breakfast was the best we had on our trip (we mainly stayed at Comfort Inn's, Quality Inn's and Best Western's) - this was more of a 4 star kind of spread.

We left wanting to come back and buy some property in Telluride (if only we were to win the lottery) - what an special place.

PS for dog owners... Telluride was the most dog friendly place we went during our road trip. We could bring him up on the gondola and hike around the trails - so fun!

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — having to valet park - but it was fine really - we never needed our car until checkout.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

Best location in Telluride. Next to Gondola, shops, restaurants, and rooms are huge. We enjoyed Hot Air balloon landings from our window. Perfect in every way.

  • Liked — large room
  • Disliked — Breakfast item selections very basic
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

Last time we visited Telluride we stayed up at the ski area in the
"Mountain Village". I found it to be overpriced and boring! The Town of Telluride is the place to stay - and at the Hotel Columbia! Right
across the street from the free Gondola, nice rooms, hot tub with views, great continental breakfast (awesome homemade granola), very friendly staff! Only a couple of blocks from the main street, and steps away from great restaurants, (including the one in the hotel).
This is the ideal location for sure.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#7 Business Hotel in Telluride
#7 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#11 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride’s premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and condos. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.