We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Columbia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 2 Nights - 3rd free!
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in Telluride
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Truly Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

This boutique hotel was steps from everything including the gondola that takes you to the most breathtaking scenery and great restaurants. I traveled with friends on a motorcycle tour of Colorado and booked my room on the main street of Telluride when we arrived. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the Presedential Suite that was luxurious and so very comfortable. It fit three people very comfortably with two separate rooms with showers (WOW) and a main sitting room. Balconies and view were included. The staff was great and I plan on staying there next summer and hopefully for a ski vacation. The breakfast was included with the room but we overslept due to the comfort.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    17
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
74
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

I have not actually stayed at the Hotel Columbia yet, but I wanted to talk about the service that has been provided so far. Scott the GM of all people has taked the time to go over room descriptions and assured me that my family will have a great trip. The hotel is finishing a big renovation and I wanted to make sure I am getting a room that will fit my family. Scott has worked dilligently to make sure our stay will be flawless. If I receive this kind of help before the stay, I cant wait to get to Telluride.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

This place was fabulous. Great location - just across from the Gondola, very friendly staff and pet friendly. In fact, tney liked our dog so much they upgraded us to the penthouse suite which is a fantastic room - it's along the roofline so lots of neat bends and angles, had a kitchen and a huge tub with a picture window out to the mountain. The inclusive breakfast was the best we had on our trip (we mainly stayed at Comfort Inn's, Quality Inn's and Best Western's) - this was more of a 4 star kind of spread.

We left wanting to come back and buy some property in Telluride (if only we were to win the lottery) - what an special place.

PS for dog owners... Telluride was the most dog friendly place we went during our road trip. We could bring him up on the gondola and hike around the trails - so fun!

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — having to valet park - but it was fine really - we never needed our car until checkout.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

Best location in Telluride. Next to Gondola, shops, restaurants, and rooms are huge. We enjoyed Hot Air balloon landings from our window. Perfect in every way.

  • Liked — large room
  • Disliked — Breakfast item selections very basic
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

Last time we visited Telluride we stayed up at the ski area in the
"Mountain Village". I found it to be overpriced and boring! The Town of Telluride is the place to stay - and at the Hotel Columbia! Right
across the street from the free Gondola, nice rooms, hot tub with views, great continental breakfast (awesome homemade granola), very friendly staff! Only a couple of blocks from the main street, and steps away from great restaurants, (including the one in the hotel).
This is the ideal location for sure.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

Overall we had a good experience at the Hotel Columbia. Our room was clean and spacious and the staff was friendly and accomodating. The location is excellent - being close to the gondola was very convenient. The hotel provides storage lockers for ski equipment so we did not have to lug our equipment very far. We did not need a car as everything is in walking distance. The only negatives were 1) we felt that the bed could have been more comfortable and 2) we wished there was more variety in the continental breakfast because we got sick of eating the same food every day.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

We once again spent the last week of ski season and the Columbia. As always everything was great. You really are treated like family here. The maids are great, front desk staff friendly, and scott the GM even took us skiing for a few runs. They really go out of there way to make sure it is a wonderful vacation. While we are away skiing the front desk staff watches and walks our dog. I cant say enough about this town and this wonderful small hotel.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#6 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#7 Business Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride’s premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and condos. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.