We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Columbia to your Saves list
Hotel Columbia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I can only echo the sentiment of other reviewers about a great experience. The hotel is a small (21 room) boutique hotel and it each, or many, of the rooms differ. If your budget permits I would reserve a slightly larger room, or splurge on a beautiful suite. All staff were very friendly and accommodating. The location is great. We thought the breakfast was outstanding (quiche, nice fruit and muffins, yogurt/granola, meats, etc.) with friendly staff serving as "waiters" (it's self serve, but they refill coffee, clear plates). The towels and robes in the room were softer than your average hotel. I would also recommend a trip to the lower level to read the many glowing reviews of the restaurant adjoining the hotel where breakfast is served. If I had made this trip before the day we left we would have certainly tried to have a meal here. All in all we this is a very nice hotel with wonderful staff who seem to enjoy their jobs which was so refreshing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us in beautiful Telluride and for giving us the opportunity to host you at Hotel Columbia. It was our pleasure, and we hope you will return again soon. I will pass your comments along to our staff! Come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    22
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
88
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Hotel Columbia is the closest to 5 STAR hotel you'll find in the town of Telluride. Fantastic location - right across the street to the high speed gondola and easy walking to shopping and restaurants. On-site valet parking which is a very big deal in Telluride - parking on the street can be difficult. We had the Premium King Room - gorgeous room and larger than most junior suites I've been in and the only room I've seen with a walk-in closet for two! The bathroom is huge - stone floor and a claw foot tub with a separate shower large enough for two. Rachel, the manager, and her staff are top-notch, eager to assist and superbly knowledgeable of their craft. You can't possibly go wrong with the Columbia Hotel! A superlative experience!

Room Tip: Premium King Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments on the Hotel Columbia and our staff. Our team works really hard to exceed expectations and be genuine, I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and I truly enjoyed talking with you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Columbia on your next trip to Telluride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed over only one night on our trip of Colorado. The parking costs extra but worth it especially as Telluride was extra busy due to a festival about to take place. Hotel Columbia is directly across the road from the free gondolas which take you up to one station then down again to the mountain village. Our room and bathroom was very spacious, bright and clean. It overlooked the side of the hotel and had a small balcony. Hotel is situated in a quiet part of the town so a peaceful night was had in a very large comfy bed in a superior king room. Breakfast was a little bit of a let down for a hotel of that standard, even though it was complimentary, maybe that's the American way. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I think there is a fitness room and roof top hot tub but we didn't have time to check this out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks so much for joining us at the Hotel Columbia, and for providing your feedback on the overall experience. We are always striving to improve our guests experience. If you have any suggestions on what would have made the breakfast a little better for you, please email me at rachel@columbiatelluride.com. Come back and join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a really nice, quiet hotel - my room was very comfortable and the bathroom very spacious. It is centrally located, but nevertheless it is very quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you so much to your warm response to all that we strive for here at our hotel in the heart of Telluride. We truly enjoyed having you here and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Columbia in the near future!

I will pass on your kind comments about our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights May 25-27th. We had room 40 which was a superior king room. It was very nice indeed. The heated floors in the bathroom were nice and the shower was nice and big. We had a small balcony with a view of the gondola. Service was great and they were quick to a large load of laundry done in about 3 hours. The breakfast was good, European style with cold cuts and bread and fruit and eggs. Nice location and would stay there again next time go to telluride!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We are so glad you decided to stay in town at the Hotel Columbia and enjoyed your visit. our entire staff prides themselves on service and making guests feel right at home. Thank you for your kind words, Rachel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Wow. What a great place!! Lodging in Telluride is challenging at best, and while there are a number of boutique or historic options available in town, if you look for honest and practical comfort, a smiling and proactive staff, and perfect location (literally, it could not be any better for a savvy and intelligent traveler) there is nothing better than the Columbia Hotel.

Seriously, from General Manager Rachel Loomis-Lee down to the housekeeping staff and window washers, every member of the Hotel Columbia troupe is top notch, and down-to-earth. Friendly, helpful, and engaging - these people are simply wonderful.

The hotel is beautiful, and the rooms are extremely comfortable and elegant. If this is what you are seeking, you only have one place to look.

Room Tip: Rooms are great - views of Telluride are everywhere. Pretty much can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about the Hotel Columbia! We truly enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Wonderful hotel with charming views of the Gondola, hill and residences. This hotel is practically in front of the Gondola which takes you to the hill as well as the Village. It is also approximately only 2-3 blocks from the main street, and 1 block to a ski rental store. The beds are comfortable, nice chairs and small desk, and the kitchenette more than adequate. The bathrooms are my favorite. They provide soap and shampoo and the walls and floors are a type of material which retains heat. This combined with a tall shower glass, the shower becomes a steam bath practically, and my favorite is the heated flooring which you can regulate on your own with a switch on the bathroom wall. A heated towel rack, nice toiletries including chapstick are a nice addition and the staff is great! This was my second visit to this hotel, which has an excellent restaurant downstairs, and I will stay here on our next visit too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the Hotel Columbia. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon. Try the summer, its an amazing time of year to be in Telluride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#9 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride's premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and suites. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.