We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“T-Ride Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Columbia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“T-Ride Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed 8/1-8/6. Only quibble would be parking, but hey it's Telluride and the staff handles is it with accommodating grace. Several mornings we headed out predawn for hikes and they always had the car moved where it was accessible for us to just get in and go. Awesome job. Everything else from location, decor, cleanliness, service, euro-style breakfast, linens, shower and anything else you can think of was fabulous. Can't say enough about the General Manager and the young lady who waited on us for breakfast. Top notch, attentive job. This hotel will accommodate all. From the nature lover to the romantic couple to the hardcore biker. Definitely give Hotel Columbia a shot when visiting Telluride. Between the hotel and Telluride itself, they'll both have your heart.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    18
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
75
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We found Telluride such a wonderful discovery that we decided to extend our stay a few days. Needing a new hotel and needing a place that accepted pets, we stopped by Hotel Columbia. They gave us a great walk-in rate for a dog-friendly room. We loved our stay. The location is great and is only a few feet from the gondola. The gondola was so convenient, that we would take our dogs up to the top just to play mountaintop fetch with our energetic black labs (the view from the top is world class). The hotel is also very close to the restaraunts and shops on Main Street. The hotel has been recently remodeled and is very nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very nice and roomy. The bed was dreamy (literally). Most importantly, the staff was awesome. Everyone was kind, helpful and a bit spunky. My wife and I have traveled throughout the world and even are part owners of a cooking school for travelers located in Southern Italy (www. Awaitingtable.com) and this was one of our favorite vacations ever.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here several nights during our wedding/honeymoon. We have never encountered such hospitality. Everyone that works at the hotel is so friendly, and the hotel itself is nice and cozy. We will always stay at this wonderful place whenever we return to Telluride. All of our guests that stayed there also had the same feelings about their experience. Many thanks to the staff at the Hotel Columbia!
Brian & Kathryn Sammons

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Congratulations on your recent marriage! The Hotel Columbia is proud and honored to have shared this privileged time of celebration with you and your families.

From all of us at Hotel Columbia, we wish you a lifetime of love and happiness together!

All the best,
Rhea dePagter and the entire Hotel Columbia staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had the most amazing time at hotel Columbia in Telluride. The staff was friendly and very occomidating. The bed was so heavenly we never slept better. The town is so easy to get around and great walking. There is very little if any parking. That wasn't a real problem. We were given a list of all the vest places to eat, FYI you can't loose all the places have great food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I greatly enjoyed yet another stay at the Hotel Columbia in late February/early March 2013. You simply can't beat this quaint hotel when visiting Telluride. Of course, its location doesn't hurt......right across the street from the Gondola and only a couple of short blocks from downtown. But its the "attitude" of the Hotel Columbia, as embodied in its warm and caring staff, that brings us back time after time. You truly feel welcomed and cared for at every level. Combined with its intimate size, the place feels like a home away from home. We look forward to many return visits.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had researched all the options in Telluride and decided on Hotel Columbia based on the reviews here and pictures. I went to their website and looked at room pictures. It appeared from the pictures and descriptions that every standard King room had a fireplace, great view and nice balcony. The rooms looked new and awesome, so I paid a little more to stay there versus some other options. To my disappointment, our room was old, dirty, no fireplace and a balcony we could barely get onto. We were only staying one night, so it wasn't worth complaining. I learned that only some of the rooms had been upgraded to the standard shown in the pictures on the website. Apparently, we did not luck out. Be sure to ask for a newer remodeled room when booking, and don't leave it to chance. Unfortunately, I did not know it was necessary to do so. This room should not have been the same price as a remodeled one. On the good side, the view was nice and the restaurant downstairs was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for remodeled room and be specific about what you want, i.e. fireplace, balcony, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your stay at Hotel Columbia did not exceed your expectations.

As a small, boutique hotel, each room at Hotel Columbia varies slightly with regards to amenities and layout. We make every effort to depict our rooms accurately on our website. We share a variety of photos, floor-plans and descriptions including details such as “may feature a gas fireplace or balcony”. We always encourage our guests to call or email the Hotel if they have questions regarding one of our room types. Furthermore, we welcome our guests to request specific amenities that will allow them to thoroughly enjoy their stay.

The Hotel Columbia underwent a complete remodel in 2008. ALL of our rooms and suites were renovated with updated room layouts, fresh and modern bathroom configurations, new furnishings, window covering and soft good. We apologize that you feel the room you stayed in was not the same standard as the images represented on our website. In addition, the Hotel Columbia will be re-carpeting in the fall of 2013 to ensure that the we maintain the high standards that our guests have come to expect and we strive to uphold.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the Cosmopolitan Restaurant and the views of the Telluride Ski Resort and San Miguel River seen from your room.

Please except our sincerest apology for not exceeding your expectations. We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Columbia the second week of March. Check in was very quick and easy. We had a suite that faced the gondola and mountain. Spectacular views from our room. Telluride mountain is stunning! Waking up in the morning and seeing that majestic mountain is priceless.

Our suite was very spacious and featured a separate bedroom, living room, kitchenette and two baths (one half bath) and a gas fireplace. Our particular room had two separate decks. The furnishings were newer and very nice.

We did find the bed to be on the soft side. The master bath itself was small and featured a shower only. This was disappointing to us as we didn't have a bath or a hot tub in our room (nor does the hotel have a hot tub - which is unusual at a mountain resort property). However, the floors in the bath were heated and there was a towel heater as well. These were nice touches.

We had some issues moderating the temperature in our room. It was either way too hot or way to cold. There was a dramatic difference in temperature in the living room areas. These rooms are not centrally heated/cooled. Often we'd have to prop open the deck door off the bedroom so we could sleep as it was so hot. The only other disappointment for us is that there is no spa facility at this hotel. I had to go to a different property in order to get a massage.

The hotel itself has some nice touches. They offer coffee/tea in the room. Downstairs in the lobby area, they also offer tea/water. There is a fantastic restaurant in the hotel called "Cosmopolitan." We had dinner there the first night and it was excellent. There is a vibrant bar scene there as well during happy hour, where they offer half price appetizers and discounted beverages. Highly recommended!

All in all it was a very good experience. The location can't be beat! The staff is very friendly and helpful and this hotel is conveniently located next to the gondola.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#6 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#7 Business Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride’s premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and condos. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.