We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Columbia to your Saves list
Hotel Columbia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
August Room Special!
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint and Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nestled next to the gondola in the town of Telluride, I was amazed actually with the price. Jan is prime season and we paid only $185 per night for a prime location. Each room has a fireplace and kitchenette. Mine had a claw tub which I am about to use in about 15 min. Im typing this on my couch lookin out of my bay window and watching skiers glide down the slope. I am eagerly waiting for my boyfriend who is flying in to Grand Junction and making the 2 hour or so drive here. A wonderful quaint breakfast is also included in the Cosmopolitan Restaurant and also there is a half price happy hour from 5 - 6pm. I would absolutely stay here again!!! The girls who work here also live on the premises!!

Room Tip: Try to face the slopes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiatelluride, General Manager at Hotel Columbia, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the Hotel Columbia. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon. Try the summer, its an amazing time of year to be in Telluride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    22
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
91
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from an amazing stay at Hotel Colombia. Check-in was easy. The staff was friendly. We stayed in room 30. Awesome room. It had a kitchenette complete with full size refrigerator/freezer. The bathroom had heated floors and a heated towel rack, enormous shower and a claw foot soaking tub. The bed was very comfy and it had a nice living room area. The view from the room was nice. Great location, 15 steps from the Gondola.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My stay at the Hotel Columbia during the holidays was simply wonderful! The staff could not have been more welcoming in making us feel like part of their family. The restaurant and wine list was superior and the service first rate. The Christmas gift left in our room was particularly a nice touch. All in all, it was an excellent experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the guest room with hot tub, the room itself was bright with fireplace, table/chairs, lovely large comfy bed, mini kitchen (hob, fridge etc) wonderful large bathroom with double size shower and balcony patio with the tub.
As lovely as it was there was a little room to move around, store luggage. The bed could convert into a sofa and the cushions to enable this were stored under the bed and in the wardrobe so we could only put one of our cases in the wardobe. The bed had rigid sides next to where you naturally climb in out & you had to be careful not to catch your legs, having negotiated this the positioning of the table/chairs at the foot of the bed left only a small gap to walk by without knocking into the furniture, I left with several bruises.
I was particularly looking forward to relaxing in the tub but was a bit disappointed that it was overlooked & would have preferred a bit more privacy. It's not overlooked by the cable car more by the adjacent properties and other hotel rooms that are in very close proximity. However the balcony itself was a wonderful sun trap and a great place to sit and soak up some rays.
Parking in Telluride is restricted and time limited so it was great that the Columbia took our car & parked it up for us, there are great walks around the town and of course the cable car to enjoy so we never used our car during the stay.
The buffet breakfast was excellent, a great selection and refreshed regularly. We did dine in the restaurant on one of our evenings, lured by a happy hour deal but found this was restricted to only a few things on the menu so we ended up choosing alternatives and the meal was more expensive than we planned and without any wine!
If we came back to Telluride we would stay here again, we'd like to get up early in the morning to walk along the river & watch the beavers.

Room Tip: The hot tub is a lovely extra to enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had been "on the road" for a little over three weeks (10 days in Hawaii) and were ready to get home to Iowa...BUT...since we were traveling near Telluride we had to stop in. We usually stay up in the village but thought we would stay downtown for a change. We love Telluride.

The motel is across the street from the free gondola to the village. We booked a room with a Murphy Bed...thinking that it would be some extra guest bed. Nope, the main bed was a Murphy Bed. I guess the thinking was that you could turn the bed into a sofa so it looked like you were staying in a suite. Hmmmmm. Well the bed was comfortable enough but every time you moved those Murphy springs and wires made all kinds of noise. Forget about being "romantic" unless you want the whole hotel to know.
Any way back to the review. The room was very comfortable with a third story balcony over looking the gondola and some of the spectacular Telluride views. The bathroom was very nicely done with a travertine tile (much like our master bath back home). The staff was very nice and friendly in a Telluride laid back style. There were several nice restaurants within easy walking distance (even with the elevation slowing down your walking speed).They have limited parking in back of the motel. You need to leave them your keys so they can park the cars tight together.Then there is that breakfast.I tend to think everything tastes better in that fresh mountain air...But...this really was a great breakfast. Fresh fruit, wonderful quiche, apple turnovers from a pastry shop, ham and I think those were thin slices of filet mignon.WOW...really good. Thanks for a wonderful stay! We will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence KS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I were in Telluride 10/20/12 to 10/23/12 and stayed at the Hotel Columbia. Our corner room was very nice, right across from the gondola that goes up to Mountain Village. It had a great view of the mountain and the breakfast was very good. We enjoyed our stay so much, we are hoping to stay there again when we go skiing in January.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely room, just a block from the Gondola. Excellent breakfast and a very helpful staff. If you go on October and haven't reserved in advance, get the walk up rate. For what we paid it was a steal. Only possible issue was that the walls are a bit thin, but our neighbor went to bed at a reasonable hour. A noisy neighbor could be an issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
2.0 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#5 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lumiere Hotel
Lumiere Hotel
#1 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
1.8 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#8 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride's premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and suites. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.