We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING! You MUST stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Columbia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“AMAZING! You MUST stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful stay at the Hotel Columbia! This was our first time visiting Telluride, and we were celebrating our 5 year wedding Anniversary. The hotel and it's staff helped to make our vacation an unforgetable experience! I can not say enough good things about this place. The room was spacious, luxurious, and comfortable. The bed was heavenly. You will love the heated bathroom floors, towel racks, and big fluffy robes to keep you warm! Our room had a nice little balcony with gorgeous views of the mountain-side and part of town. (Room # 31) We timed our visit just right for the fall colors, and the views from our room allowed us to wake up to shimmering gold aspens each morning. We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet and were surprised each day with different yummy quiches and pastries. It was great having views of the mountains and gondola each morning at breakfast...what a prefect way to get the day started! (The gondola is literally steps from the hotel) And if you are an animal lover like we are, you will enjoy getting to know the resident hotel dogs! One of them greeted us each day upon our arrival and departure...so sweet! If you are looking for the perfect place to stay in Telluride, Stop! You just found it!!! Book a room at the Hotel Columbia and be happy, you just made the best decision for your trip ;)

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are wonderful, just stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    18
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
75
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Hotel Columbia which is right across the street from the free Gondola that goes to a stop at the top of the mountain and over to the other side. The room that we had overlooked the gondola ouside the window on the 3rd floor and also had a small balcony with one chair. The bathroom was large and had heated floors if you wanted to use that plus a large tub and shower stall. Parking in Telluride is metered and you have to move your car if you park somewhere on the street. So you might as well pay the $20.00 a day at the hotel where they keep your keys. Pets are also welcome and they charge $20.00 a day for them too. The hotel has a restaurant attached to it, the Cosmopoitan, and it is one of the best restaurants in the town. the other good restaurant is at the Sheraton Hotel (not the chain hotel)on the main street.
This would be one of the best locations for a ski trip as they have lockers for skis on the main floor and the gondola is so close.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We celebrated our 32nd wedding anniversary and couldn't have picked a more romantic town and hotel to celebrate it in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was amazing with full views of the mountains in full fall color. The free gondala across the street took us up to the top of the mountain for amazing views and endless hiking opportunities. We decided to hike a 5 mile round trip Bear Creek Falls hike less than 1/4 mile from the hotel--awesome hike with a great water fall at the end. We ended the day with an amazing dinner at the Cosmo Restaurant located inside the Hotel Columbia. The beef tenderloin was the best I've ever had. We only spent one night, but wanted to stay much longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I spent a week in Telluride in August with my wife and infant son. We found the Hotel Columbia to be the perfect spot for a much needed vacation in the mountains (and to escape the heat from Texas!). This was our first time travelling with our baby and the staff was very accomodating with our special requests in advance of our visit. Arriving to a welcoming, stress-free environment was exactly what we needed after a day of flying and driving.

My 5+ rating reflects Hotel Columbia's ability to meet and exceed our expectations. The location is ideal for those wanting to stay in the town of Telluride - walking distance to everything in town, the river, and most of the hiking trails. Most rooms overlook the mountains and the gondola. Some families may prefer the newness and extra space associated with the lodging in Mountain Village, but we really cherished the character and charm of staying in the town of Telluride. With only 21 rooms, Hotel Columbia is not a full service, resort-style hotel like some on the other side of the mountain, but that was exactly what we were looking for. If you are visiting Telleride for the first time, I'd encourage you to understand the differences between staying in Telluride vs. Mountain Village (they're benefits to both - it depends on the preferences of each visitor and the time of year).

I found the continental breakfast - with helfpul coffee service from the staff - to be the perfect way to start each morning. The offerings were more of the European variety (cheeses, prime rib, poached eggs, smoked salmon, quiche, yogurt, bread, fresh fruit, etc.) and all made in house with changes daily. All of it was exceptional and a welcome perk with Telluride not exactly being a cheap place to dine.

Our room was spacious and comfortable with small porch and a lot of natural light. Bathroom shower was walk-in and spacious. Overall, a very nice blend of modern upgrades in a historic building. Each of the 21 rooms is a little different, so be sure to find the right fit with the hotel staff during booking.

Will

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Md.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

A lovely visit to wonderfull town--Telluride! The hotel is spacious and clean and the front desk very helpful. The Gondala is right outside the door and surely the 1 of the very best restaurants in town COSMO is in the lobby. You will not be disappointed. Breakfast very nice as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Hotel Columbia is the only place we will stay in Telluride. It is a lovely boutique hotel with 21 unique rooms having all the comforts of home, a very friendly and helpful staff, and a delicious breakfast that varies daily. The location is absolutely perfect for accessing the town of Telluride and catching the gondola to Mountain Village. Many thanks to Rhea and Brigitte!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a great visit to Hotel Columbia. The staff was very nice and accommodating, and our room was spacious and clean.

The hotel has a great location right next to the gondola to Mountain Village and just a few blocks from Telluride's downtown. The interior of the hotel is bright and clean. The brunch is presented nicely and the food is good.

The staff was very nice. We had our dogs with us, and they were very friendly toward them. When one of our dogs jumped on the bed and promptly vomited (sorry, gross), the staff came up immediately and changed our sheets with a smile on our face. We were very happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#6 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#7 Business Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride’s premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and condos. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.