We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place, close to everything.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montana Placer Inn

Save Saved
You added Montana Placer Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Montana Placer Inn
210 South Oak Street, PO Box 749, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Telluride B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Great little place, close to everything.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Montana Placer Inn #4 for 2 nights in October. The room was nice and spacious and very clean, without mentioning the amazing mountain views from every window! Great location, close to everything you might need..including the free gondola just a block away. It was a perfect little getaway, and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in Unit #4 on September 29 and 30, 2013. The view is spectacular! Nice room for a great price. As noted by others, one block from the gondola which is awesome. Hot tub is a bonus and we really enjoyed it. Would live there if we could!

Room Tip: Unit #4 has great view of mountains both from be and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The location of this place is amazing! Right in the center of town, very close to the gondola, truly, it cannot be beat. The problems we had with the room were that there wasn't anywhere to put our clothes (there are no dressers and there were no hangers in the closet). Latitude 38 was somewhat responsive. They helped a lot when the WiFi wasn't working, but they never did rectify the clothes hanger problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in room 2 of Montana Placer Inn. The room was well appointed, comfortable bed, small kitchenette area-perfect for the two of us-the staff-while off sight- was responsive and attentive. I would have given this 5 stars- if it weren't for hearing a full conversation between two realtors at 9AM- but this is no fault of Montana Placer Inn- but more to do with whoever was in the front unit- who chose to have a speaker phone conversation with their front door wide open. This is a great location within an easy walk to the gondola and great restaurants. There is a good breakfast place around the corner- my only suggestion to the management company is to change the wood folding chairs on the deck with something more comfortable- this minor improvement would make it perfect!

Room Tip: I'd recommend this room- note-if you enter the unit and open the french doors (if you are travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent our ten year wedding anniversary at Montana Placer and loved it!! The location was perfect, the room was beautiful and had everything we needed, and the service was great when we needed it. We would stay there again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4. It was wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None of you business
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I've stayed at the Montana Placer Inn twice in the past several years. Like in all major Ski towns with Hotels and Inns you get what you pay for - and your expectations should be set pretty low unless you pay premium dollars. Our room (6) was a standalone building above a garage/office that included a small kitchenette, dinette table, small couch and an old tube TV. There's a small porch with a single outdoor chair, a small full bathroom, and a decent sized bedroom with a queen bed, a tiny wall mounted old tube TV, and closet. While it was nice to have our own space, it was poorly done. There was a big chunk of Toe stubbing tile next to the bed where a wood stove used to be. There was a 3 spot ceiling light where a wall sconce should be. Off-Season ski town Inns don't offer much - a place to stay. MPI is the same, for example you have to pay extra for any cleaning services.

Room Tip: If you know what you're getting into, it's fine, but it's disappointing when compared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

There is part of me that doesnt wantto write this review because I want this unit again next year. but since I probably wont be able to make it, someone else deserves to know how great it is. We were in unit #4 for the bluegrass festival. It was an ideal location and had more amenities than we expected. I knew it had a microwave and small fridge and freezer, but I came prepared with my own dishes and flatware because I didn't realize that was all provided. Plus beautiful wine glasses and all the necessities to wash up when we were finished. The large bed is comfortable and you can hear the music (although not well) from the room. The location is about four blocks from the actual festival entrance which was luxurious. Also 1/2 block from the "gonjola" made access to Mountain Village just so darned easy. It's also just 1 1/2 blocks from Elks Park where all the workshops are held and across the street from a grocery store and a bakery. Two small negatives, but they are way outweighed by the positives. It has no air conditioning. I'm sure that's normally not needed, but it was sure hot when we were there. They do provide a nice fan and humidifier, though. Also watch the parking. We got a ticket because we weren't provided the right pass. Latitude 38 brought the right one over to us when they found out we needed it. Thanks again, Kevin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montana Placer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Placer Inn

Address: 210 South Oak Street, PO Box 749, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
January 9th, 2012 - Latitude 38 Vacation Rentals in Telluride, Colorado proudly announces new management of the Montana Placer Inn.With expertise in hotel marketing and management, Latitude 38 Vacation Rentals provides a high standard of property care and guest services management providing guests a comfortable stay and access to locals eager to share all of Telluride's best.An original miner's house, the Montana Placer Inn is located on South Oak Street, half a block from the Free Gondola and Telluride Ski Area, and 1.5 blocks to the Telluride Main Street. Year round guests benefit from one of the most desired locations in the Town of Telluride. Montana Placer Inn is an upscale hotel property ideal for Skiers, Boarders, Families, Couples and Festival Goers seeking Location, Convenience, Value and Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Montana Placer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana Placer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.