We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been more satisfied!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montana Placer Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Telluride
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montana Placer Inn
Save
You added Montana Placer Inn to your Saves list
210 South Oak Street, PO Box 749, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Telluride B&B and Inns
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
“Could not have been more satisfied!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent our ten year wedding anniversary at Montana Placer and loved it!! The location was perfect, the room was beautiful and had everything we needed, and the service was great when we needed it. We would stay there again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4. It was wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
None of you business
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I've stayed at the Montana Placer Inn twice in the past several years. Like in all major Ski towns with Hotels and Inns you get what you pay for - and your expectations should be set pretty low unless you pay premium dollars. Our room (6) was a standalone building above a garage/office that included a small kitchenette, dinette table, small couch and an old tube TV. There's a small porch with a single outdoor chair, a small full bathroom, and a decent sized bedroom with a queen bed, a tiny wall mounted old tube TV, and closet. While it was nice to have our own space, it was poorly done. There was a big chunk of Toe stubbing tile next to the bed where a wood stove used to be. There was a 3 spot ceiling light where a wall sconce should be. Off-Season ski town Inns don't offer much - a place to stay. MPI is the same, for example you have to pay extra for any cleaning services.

Room Tip: If you know what you're getting into, it's fine, but it's disappointing when compared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

There is part of me that doesnt wantto write this review because I want this unit again next year. but since I probably wont be able to make it, someone else deserves to know how great it is. We were in unit #4 for the bluegrass festival. It was an ideal location and had more amenities than we expected. I knew it had a microwave and small fridge and freezer, but I came prepared with my own dishes and flatware because I didn't realize that was all provided. Plus beautiful wine glasses and all the necessities to wash up when we were finished. The large bed is comfortable and you can hear the music (although not well) from the room. The location is about four blocks from the actual festival entrance which was luxurious. Also 1/2 block from the "gonjola" made access to Mountain Village just so darned easy. It's also just 1 1/2 blocks from Elks Park where all the workshops are held and across the street from a grocery store and a bakery. Two small negatives, but they are way outweighed by the positives. It has no air conditioning. I'm sure that's normally not needed, but it was sure hot when we were there. They do provide a nice fan and humidifier, though. Also watch the parking. We got a ticket because we weren't provided the right pass. Latitude 38 brought the right one over to us when they found out we needed it. Thanks again, Kevin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Loved the location, close to town and Gondola. Only missing item is a comfy robe. Andy was very helpful as we checked in. A little table and 2 chairs would be a fitting addition to this amply sized room. It was easy to walk to Maggie's for take out but not so easy to sit on bed to eat...

Room Tip: Great location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was a guys trip for a group of avid skiers/snowboarders. The house was a 1/2 a block walk to the gondola. The location was awesome. Montana Placer is in the center of a triangle formed with the liquor store, the grocery store and the gondola base as the points. We called it the 'golden triangle'. What more could you want?

We were comfortable and the place offers all the basic amenities you need. We really enjoyed the stay. It is a rather good value compared to most accommodations in Telluride.

The property managers are available and very accommodating if you need them. Stay here....you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The house is divided into several units. We stayed in unit 1. Some of the other units looked smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This will be our second trip to Telluride that we've stayed here and we've enjoyed both visits thoroughly. With Lattitude 38 now managing this unit the service is even better as they like to meet you and show you around the premises in case you have any questions before/during your stay. This is a great place to stay with a very fair price as well as a great location just across from the gondola! I would certainly reccomend these guys and this location!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay. Nice king size bed... great little cabin! Very quite and cozy and great views!!! Loved it. This cabin is right in the center of town -- you could walk to everything. The free Gondola was abut one block down the street. Plenty of places to choose from to eat breakfast lunch or dinner. Don't miss a bargain at the local thrift store too.

We are definitely planning on coming back to Telluride --- what a beautiful time spent enjoying God's creation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Montana Placer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Placer Inn

Address: 210 South Oak Street, PO Box 749, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
January 9th, 2012 - Latitude 38 Vacation Rentals in Telluride, Colorado proudly announces new management of the Montana Placer Inn.With expertise in hotel marketing and management, Latitude 38 Vacation Rentals provides a high standard of property care and guest services management providing guests a comfortable stay and access to locals eager to share all of Telluride's best.An original miner's house, the Montana Placer Inn is located on South Oak Street, half a block from the Free Gondola and Telluride Ski Area, and 1.5 blocks to the Telluride Main Street. Year round guests benefit from one of the most desired locations in the Town of Telluride. Montana Placer Inn is an upscale hotel property ideal for Skiers, Boarders, Families, Couples and Festival Goers seeking Location, Convenience, Value and Service. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana Placer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.