We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incomparable Telluride Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montana Placer Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Montana Placer Inn to your Saves list
Montana Placer Inn
210 South Oak Street, PO Box 749, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Telluride B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incomparable Telluride Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in Montana Placer Inn #1 over a six day period in August and were incredibly pleased with our accommodations and the support of the staff. The unit itself is well-appointed, the kitchen and bathroom are stocked with basics, and the king sized bed upstairs is covered in nice linens (you can fall asleep looking at the stars through a sky light above the bed - highly recommended). As you'll read in other reviews, the location is fantastic: a street over from Telluride's Main Street and wonderful dining options, literally STEPS from the free gondola, a street over from the small market and Baked in Telluride, and not much more than a quarter mile from the River Trail and the trail head to Bear Creek Falls. You're getting what you pay (I'd say more than what you pay for) for by staying here.

A couple of things that you should know (I can't even call these 'complaints') before staying here:

1. If you park in front of the unit on Oak Street, MOVE YOUR CAR BEFORE FRIDAY MORNING AT 8:30. A farmer's market will magically be on the sidewalk when you wake up and if your car is still present on accident at 8:45, the Telluride locals will look at you like you have just killed a small, adorable puppy in cold blood. There are signs on Oak Street regarding this, however, we parked at night on our arrival, and then were told by staff to use the side door so we missed said signs. We did get a ticket, but it was graciously waived by the woman behind the counter when she realized the situation. Parking zones are strict here; pay attention. On the bright side, the Farmer's Market is pretty awesome and it's literally right on your doorstep.

2. This wasn't a problem for us, but if you're a family staying in this unit, know that the only shower is in the downstairs bathroom. The upstairs bathroom is literally a toilet and a mirror.

3. If you're here in the summer and are planning to sleep with the windows flung open to get some of that awesome Colorado air, think twice. You're a street over from Telluride's Main Street which reportedly boasts some great night life. It's not like being in New Orleans during Mardi Gras or anything, but it can be enough to keep light sleepers up. Luckily, the staff has provided a great fan to be plugged in that makes enough white noise to drown almost all of it out (in the giant cabinets upstairs).

4. There is a strange basement room downstairs (there were no signs to indicate that it wasn't part of our unit, so were were surprised to find ourself in a workshop/utility sort of area that was able to be accessed from the exterior of the building by it's own door. The only reason this concerned us was that we were not able to lock any door in our unit except the exterior doors. We couldn't lock the door that led to the basement room and we couldn't lock the door that shut off the upstairs loft from the downstairs kitchen. What this means is that technically, the unit was insecure and could have been accessed from the exterior via the basement at any time regardless of how cautious we were with locking our front and side doors. Now, I'm sure that Telluride isn't like where we live, but as two people for whom locking doors is a habit born of necessity, it was a little concerning. We took our wallets and money upstairs with us every night instead of leaving them on the kitchen table because of this.

Overall, this place is fantastic. We hope to return some day to do some more hiking. If you're on the fence about this place - make a reservation! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had read previous reviews about Montana Placer Inn, but all were not favorable. We stayed for two nights and found the accomodations pleasing. We stayed in Room 4, which had a king bed (very comfortable!), ktchenette (small fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee pot), gas fireplace, cathedral ceilings and great views of the mountains surrounding Telluride. The room was perfectly clean, up to date, and prepared for our arrival.

The literature from Latitude 38 said that there would be someone there to greet us, take us to our room and help with the luggage. When we gave them the 2-hour advance of arrival call, however, we were told over the phone that we would find the keys in the room. As expected, there was no one on premises to greet us and the keys were in the room. We had to go around back and climb the stairs with our luggage without assistance. This is really the only detracting factor from this lodging as it is really a great plce.

Despite the bumpy arrival, everything else was perfect. The Montana Placer Inn is located on Oak St, about half way between the gondola station and Colorado Ave (the main street in Telluride). It is pretty much in the center of everything yet we rented it for a very modest price. We paid $109 a night, but with taxes of $44.97 and a $39 security deposit protection insurance, it came to a total of $301.47 for two nights - a bargain for nice lodging in Telluride. Just a note - if you don't want the deposit insurance, make sure you're careful as you book your lodging on line. The method to decline was not readily obvious and we ended up paying the extra $39 even though we didn't think we bought it.

For a great breakfast or lunch, check out Maggies - just up Oak St and on the left in the brick building at the corner of Colorado Ave. Good food at a modest (for Telluride) price.

For an awesome gourmet meals, breakfast, lunch or dinner, check out Flavor Telluride. The owner/chef Eric has really special foods there.

Tom & Melissa Schmieder
Long Valley, NJ

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are upstairs (no elevator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Montana Placer #4 is very nice getaway. Clean, great view of the falls, convenient to the Jazz Festival, across street from Baked in Telluride. Everything close and convenient. Wifi service slow and not continuous, but we were on vacation, who cares.

Room Tip: Convenient location for festivals in the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Montana Placer Inn #4. It was the perfect size and close to everything. Bed was super comfortable. The only down side was that the t.v. was very small (We wanted to catch some of the Olympics). Affordable and updated room.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at the Montana Placer Inn #6 and we were very happy with the location and the accommodations. It was convenient to everything and just the right size for 2 people. The bed was incredibly comfortable (we slept so good!) and anything we wanted (coffee shop, pub, great food, the gondola) was within just a few blocks. We parked the car when we got to Telluride and didn't get back in until we, begrudgingly, had to leave town.

The room itself had a few quirks (broken blind, a broken counter tile in the bathroom...) but nothing that affected our stay. There was a window A/C unit, but we didn't feel the need to use it.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The location of the inn is excellent - close to the main street. However, you have to be aware of a few things. There is no air conditioning. We were there in the summer, and it was a trick to open the French doors. Also, one of the blinds was broken. The room did have a very small fan, but a larger one would have been appreciated. Also, 3 light bulbs were out: one outside the door, one in the hallway and one by the bed. The management did replace the one by the bed but not the other two. The room has a mini-kitchen, with a little sink, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker but no coffee. Also, there is no closet; just four hooks which I found to be inconvenient. You expect to have a place to hang up clothes. (This would also be a problem during ski season for jackets and coats and other items of apparel). You do not get daily maid service; I am not sure how that is arranged and how often it would be available. The room has nice but minimal furnishings: bed, two night stands and dresser - no chairs or tables. Only one picture decorated the room. The TV is a small old model variety. I guess to get more paper products, towels or bedding, you would have to go to the management office which is two blocks from the inn. We had a Groupon, so the price was excellent for Telluride.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in #4 upstairs and booked through a company in Telluride which charges a fee, though I still felt that the room was a fair deal around $135 after all taxes. The rooms are finished in a higher quality than most hotel rooms and our experience was pretty quiet. It was the 4th of July week so there was general mayham which doesn't bother us. This room had the kitchen area right next to the bed, a fireplace, nice table and a patio. The TV was odd for the nice room, it was like a 24 inch old big backed TV. The bathroom is big and split into two rooms. Parking is available but can be complicated. Our paperwork in the room had stated that there was parking in back but when I parked in back we had a note on our car the next morning, though it was friendly. We ended up using the O (Oak Street) permit out on the street. The thing you should be prepared for is lack of supplies. We had coffee, fliters and such but only one roll of TP. It lasted without us having to get more but I feel bad for the next guest :) There is a market about a block away. This is very much like a hotel room but know what you a renting and it will be well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montana Placer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Placer Inn

Address: 210 South Oak Street, PO Box 749, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
January 9th, 2012 - Latitude 38 Vacation Rentals in Telluride, Colorado proudly announces new management of the Montana Placer Inn.With expertise in hotel marketing and management, Latitude 38 Vacation Rentals provides a high standard of property care and guest services management providing guests a comfortable stay and access to locals eager to share all of Telluride's best.An original miner's house, the Montana Placer Inn is located on South Oak Street, half a block from the Free Gondola and Telluride Ski Area, and 1.5 blocks to the Telluride Main Street. Year round guests benefit from one of the most desired locations in the Town of Telluride. Montana Placer Inn is an upscale hotel property ideal for Skiers, Boarders, Families, Couples and Festival Goers seeking Location, Convenience, Value and Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Montana Placer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana Placer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.