We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few quirks.....but overall fine for a short stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montana Placer Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Telluride
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montana Placer Inn
Save
You added Montana Placer Inn to your Saves list
210 South Oak Street, PO Box 749, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Telluride B&B and Inns
Houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A few quirks.....but overall fine for a short stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The location of the inn is excellent - close to the main street. However, you have to be aware of a few things. There is no air conditioning. We were there in the summer, and it was a trick to open the French doors. Also, one of the blinds was broken. The room did have a very small fan, but a larger one would have been appreciated. Also, 3 light bulbs were out: one outside the door, one in the hallway and one by the bed. The management did replace the one by the bed but not the other two. The room has a mini-kitchen, with a little sink, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker but no coffee. Also, there is no closet; just four hooks which I found to be inconvenient. You expect to have a place to hang up clothes. (This would also be a problem during ski season for jackets and coats and other items of apparel). You do not get daily maid service; I am not sure how that is arranged and how often it would be available. The room has nice but minimal furnishings: bed, two night stands and dresser - no chairs or tables. Only one picture decorated the room. The TV is a small old model variety. I guess to get more paper products, towels or bedding, you would have to go to the management office which is two blocks from the inn. We had a Groupon, so the price was excellent for Telluride.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
187 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in #4 upstairs and booked through a company in Telluride which charges a fee, though I still felt that the room was a fair deal around $135 after all taxes. The rooms are finished in a higher quality than most hotel rooms and our experience was pretty quiet. It was the 4th of July week so there was general mayham which doesn't bother us. This room had the kitchen area right next to the bed, a fireplace, nice table and a patio. The TV was odd for the nice room, it was like a 24 inch old big backed TV. The bathroom is big and split into two rooms. Parking is available but can be complicated. Our paperwork in the room had stated that there was parking in back but when I parked in back we had a note on our car the next morning, though it was friendly. We ended up using the O (Oak Street) permit out on the street. The thing you should be prepared for is lack of supplies. We had coffee, fliters and such but only one roll of TP. It lasted without us having to get more but I feel bad for the next guest :) There is a market about a block away. This is very much like a hotel room but know what you a renting and it will be well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

can't beat the location. the room/ unit was comfortable and well kept. noice can be an issue, but that 's to be expected given the great location, especially on the weekends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was way more than expected!!! The staff is GREAT, location perfect, overall on of the best places we have stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

You can't beat the location but we probably wouldn't stay there again. There is no AC and our room was hot! The jacuzzi was 6 inches outside of our window so if you wanted to leave your windows open at night you had to listen to people in the jacuzzi or listen to the loud noises it makes that sounds like a vacuum cleaner. We stayed for 4 days 3 nights and were only provided with 2 rolls of toilet paper. The blanket on the bed was stained and yuck. Other than those complaints, it was okay. The room was nicely furnished.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed in condo #2 at the Montana Placer Inn over the first weekend in June. We did use the amazingly low Groupon rate so the price definitely helped with our positive experience. The location is great - you can walk to anyplace in town and have numerous restaurants within a few blocks. It's convenient to the free gondola that takes you to the Mountain Village. The room itself was very comfortable and clean. It was quiet and well appointed. The bathroom was clean and lovely. All in all, a great place for a getaway in one of the most beautiful places in Colorado. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at condo #5 during a festival weekend in early June as part of a Groupon deal. Room has a king bed with vaulted ceilings which permits lots of natural light through the large north- and south-facing windows. The room was comfortablly sized for the two of us and includes a small, private balcony. It is conveniently located downtown and close to the gondola and trailheads. Parking is included. Has a common area hot tub (although we did not use) but no pool. The bathroom is beautifully finished, but the tub feels like a cacoon when used as a shower. No A/C in this unit so make sure you open windows at night and close during summer days. As someone who travels a lot for both business and vacation, I also want to note that the staff who took my reservation and operate this complex are wonderfully friendly and very helpful. The stellar customer service alone makes this place worthwhile!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#5 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#12 of 18 in Telluride
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
1.9 mi away
Lumiere Hotel
Lumiere Hotel
#1 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
1.9 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Placer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Placer Inn

Address: 210 South Oak Street, PO Box 749, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
January 9th, 2012 - Latitude 38 Vacation Rentals in Telluride, Colorado proudly announces new management of the Montana Placer Inn.With expertise in hotel marketing and management, Latitude 38 Vacation Rentals provides a high standard of property care and guest services management providing guests a comfortable stay and access to locals eager to share all of Telluride's best.An original miner's house, the Montana Placer Inn is located on South Oak Street, half a block from the Free Gondola and Telluride Ski Area, and 1.5 blocks to the Telluride Main Street. Year round guests benefit from one of the most desired locations in the Town of Telluride. Montana Placer Inn is an upscale hotel property ideal for Skiers, Boarders, Families, Couples and Festival Goers seeking Location, Convenience, Value and Service. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana Placer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.