We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Lost Creek

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Lost Creek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Lost Creek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Telluride
GreenLeadersGold level
colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A gem in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a lovely stay here this August (2013). This hotel is actually in Mountain Village 1,500 feet above the town of Telluride. In winter it is a ski in/ski out property. It is situated with other hotels around a small central plaza. There are abundant restaurants and activities up on the mountain or you can take a 13 minute, breath taking, gondola ride down to town. We parked the car for the weekend and didn't have to use it, the gondola is free and the only way to go. Down in town there are trail heads within walking distance of the gondola of which we took advantage.

The Inn itself is a lovely place, with excellent service. Upon arrival we were escorted around by Charlie, a delightful fellow who parked our car, bused our bags, walked us to a recommended restaurant, set up the private hot tub for us and played with our dogs. The Inn and all of Telluride is very dog friendly. Our room was lovely, really comfy bed, we slept so well. A nice balcony overlooking the plaza. A kitchenette which we found handy for making lunch. A huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub and steam shower. We absolutely didn't feel we got a subpar room because we had 2 dogs. A really great breakfast was also included.

Overall, The Inn at Lost Creek is a wonderful place to stay, excellent service and a small hotel so everyone was able to give very personal service.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel so it seemed all rooms are about equal, but with different aspects of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Owner at The Inn at Lost Creek, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn in Tripadvisor. Our staff appreciates your kind words and recognition. And, Charlie gives a special thanks for his efforts – his big smile got even bigger!

We are working on many improvements for the Inn and look forward to your return!

Jim Mikula
Executive Vice President
Telluride Ski & Golf
Jim@TelSki.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
90
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Review

Location in Mountain Village, steps from the (free) Gondola to Telluride. No swimming pool but with hot tub on the roof, one for private booking and one to use on first come basis.
Service impeccable, little details like chocolates on your bed, a flower. If you need anything just ask, they try to make it happen. Most importantly, they all seem to enjoy their work. Front desk lady also gave a lot of tips as where to hike, to eat etc.
We (2 adults, 9 year old) had a queen room with sofa bed. With sofa as a bed there is not much room left but you have a table and 2 chairs, small kitchen, washer and dryer with soap, beautiful bathroom with (jacuzzi)bath, (steam)shower enough towels and toiletries etc. Enough closet space though.
Breakfast with orange juice, fresh fruit, delightful greek yoghurt, croissants, waffles (three flavors), scrambled eggs, bacon etc. Outside seating possible. Service with a smile here as well. Thx ladies!
Location near Sunshine Plaza with possibilities for kids as rock climbing, trampoline ($ 15,- for 3 min but mostly longer when not crowded)
Overall we highly recommend staying here. Price is right. Call if you want to make a reservation, the online system was not working yet.
Hotel parking costs $ 20,- (24 hrs), nearby parking $ 25,- all day or $ 7,- daytime parking. Cheaper possibilities not found.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Owner at The Inn at Lost Creek, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn in Tripadvisor. Our staff appreciates your kind words and recognition.
We have our on line reservation system working now. That being said, please contact me directly for your next visit!
We are working on many improvements for the Inn and look forward to your return!

Jim Mikula
Executive Vice President
Telluride Ski & Golf
Jim@TelSki.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were in Telluride for two nights of a week long trip to Utah/Colorado with the family. Our stay at The Inn at Lost Creek was a highlight for us all. I was traveling with three kids (21, 18 and 12) and usually stay in Marriott or Hilton properties. However, the service here was by far superior and really makes this property stand out. If I were reading this - I'd wonder how much can they actually do to make that big of a difference. Well, here are some things that we really thought were nice about his hotel in particular:

They have cookies out in the lobby for the main part of the day as well as chocolates at the desk. If they are running low, they quickly offer to replenish the supply.

When they found out we wanted to use the rooftop hot tub to listen to the outdoor concert below, the bellman went up to the 7th floor to get everything ready and set out towels as well.

The rooms are gorgeous but have tons of furniture (beautiful, but in the way if you are utilizing the pull out sofa). We called and asked them to remove the glass coffee table and they were at our room within a few minutes to take it away.

They happily provided additional water bottles when we needed more for our long day of hiking.

There are flowers sprinkled throughout the room and bathroom when you arrive.

The shower is amazing (we were in the deluxe one bedroom) - it is totally sealed up with a steam feature. Someone can be in the shower (steamy and hot) and there is no impact on the bathroom - the mirror doesn't fog up, you can't even hear the shower outside of the bath - very cool. There are double sinks and a huge garden tub that looked clean so you felt comfortable taking a bath.

The staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for hikes and restaurants. The super nice front desk clerk even said hello when she was not working and ran into us outside at the outdoor concert.

The bellman walked us down to find Telluride Truffles as he said it can be a bit tricky to find. (It wasn't hard to locate, but it was so kind of him to escort us).

As we were getting in our car to leave, the front desk clerk (who was on the phone as we were checking out) came out to the car to personally say good bye because she wasn't able to when she was on the phone.

The location was awesome (so close to the gondola and center of the attractions in Mtn Village). This was my first trip to Telluride and I booked here because I got a deal for booking early for a summer trip. At the time I really wanted to stay in the town but choose this because I got a room with the kitchenette and laundry facilities for the same price of a hotel room in town. I learned that I prefer the mtn.village over the town and would choose to stay here again if I am fortunate enough to return. The views are amazing and the gondola is fun and super easy to take - dropping you in a central location in town where you can walk to just about everything.

The staff was absolutely amazing and really made our stay spectacular.

Room Tip: We were in a corner room, 606 (one floor down from the top), and the views were amazing. However, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Owner at The Inn at Lost Creek, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thnak you very much! I have shared your kind comments with our staff and they deeply appreciate your recognition of their efforts. We do hope that your travels will bring you back soon and often.
Kind regards,
Jim Mikula
Jim@telski.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Being from Australia, we wanted to spend the 4th of July in a special place in the USA and the Inn at Lost Creek was fantastic. From the moment we arrived the friendly staff could not do enough to make sure we had a relaxing, comfortable stay. A special mention goes to Charlie who did everything within his power to make sure we were well and truly looked after. He even walked us down personally to a restaurant and spoke with the wait manager to make sure we were given the best of service. The rooms were spacious, super clean, and quite luxurious considering that the price was also very reasonable. Would love the opportunity to stay here again and would highly recommend to anyone going to the Mountain Village.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Owner at The Inn at Lost Creek, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our Inn and staff. Charlie especially appreciates the recognition. He and his colleagues do enjoy being of service. We do enjoy hosting Aussies at the Inn and in the winter we do see quite a few. We have a dozen ski instructors from Australia… So, come on back in the winter!
Kind regards,
Jim Mikula
Jim@telski.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangely, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I highly recommend the Inn at Lost Creek to anyone staying in Telluride or the Mountain Village area! The employees are willing to go out of their way to accommodate and meet all of your needs! My Boyfriend and I surprised my sister with an unplanned visit! You should have seen the look on her face when Charles brought her up to the room and we were waiting there for her! I could not have asked for a better reunion! The room service is superb, the views fantastic and you have just a short walk to the gondola! We were able to plan fun hikes and bike rides due to all of the great information provided by Dave Bledsoe. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Owner at The Inn at Lost Creek, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our Inn and staff. Charles and David especially appreciate the recognition. He and their colleagues do enjoy being of service. We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Jim Mikula
Jim@telski.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location of this hotel could not have been better...easy access to gondola. Continental breakfast was very good as was the service. Staff at the hotel went out of their way to be courteous and personable...worked very hard to extend to us every courtesy. Even asked to see our pictures from 4th of July parade. Only disappointment was the lack of workout facility and was told we could use local hotel for $25. Hopefully that is being addressed.Rooms were large and well appointed.

No question we would stay here next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Owner at The Inn at Lost Creek, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn in Tripadvisor. We appreciate the gift of your feedback!

We are currently drawing up plans for a Fitness Room to be installed in time for ski season. I noticed that you rated us a 3 star—was this due to the lack of Fitness Room? If there were other reasons we would be grateful to learn more.

And, on your next visit please contact me directly so that I can personally handle your reservation.

Jim Mikula
Executive Vice President
Telluride Ski & Golf
Jim@TelSki.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great room which is really a mini suite with kitchen....service staff was top notch! Location is perfect (right by the Gondola) to head down the mountain to downtown or up the hill to Allreds! Strongly recommend this hotel! Can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: There are hot tubs on the 7th floor with views to die for!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Owner at The Inn at Lost Creek, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our Inn and staff. Our team appreciates the recognition as they do enjoy being of service. We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Jim Mikula
Jim@telski.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Lost Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Lost Creek

Address: 119 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Telluride
#1 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#1 Green Hotel in Telluride
#1 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#1 Business Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Lost Creek 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate. Cozy. Special.The Inn at Lost Creek is a luxury boutique hotel with highly personalized services and with only 29 suites/condos and 3 studios a sense of intimacy is realized. All suites have kitchenettes, jetted tubs, steam showers and washer dryers. Condos feature full kitchens and well-appointed living areas with dining room. All condo units have mountain views as do most one bedroom suites. The Inn offers a principal position in Mountain Village, offering direct golf access in the summer and during winter the premier ski in/out location in Telluride. The gondola connecting Telluride and Mountain Village is steps away, as are numerous excellent choices for dining, shopping, and places to just gaze at the beautiful scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn at Lost Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Lost Creek Hotel Telluride
Hotel At Lost Creek
At Lost Creek Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Lost Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.