We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aspen Street Inn to your Saves list
Aspen Street Inn
330 West Pacific Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435 (Formerly The San Sophia Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Telluride B&B and Inns
Wellington, Nevada, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My fiance and I spent 4 beautiful days at this bed & breakfast. The breakfasts were made to order with a revolving menu that was clever and tasty. We enjoyed that the full menu was available during the full breakfast hours.

We stayed in the Smuggler, which is on the first floor and very close to the foot traffic walking past the front windows. The room could benefit greatly from a ceiling fan, but the management was helpful to give us a fan for our room.

The room was in walking distance of everything and just 2 blocks from the free gondola! It was a great choice, and one that I will consider again.

Room Tip: If you prefer privacy, choose an upstairs room as the windows on the downstairs rooms are at street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TellurideBruce, Manager at Aspen Street Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Telluride and the Aspen Street Inn.
Please come back whenever you can.

Bruce White
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
25
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Argentine room for three nights over the Ride Festival weekend. (The yoga festival was also in town.) The town is not as busy for this new festival as for the more well known Jazz and Blues festivals, so we had options for places to stay, but I did enjoy the Aspen. The front desk staff was extremely helpful before and during our stay. We ended up arriving during their normally closed hours in the afternoon, but they arranged for our check-in during that time and gave me some ideas for a lunch spot. Our room was right by the front door and the front porch, but the room was still very quiet so I expect the rooms on upper floors would be even more so. The bed which was a king made from 2 twins, was very comfortable - no issues with a seam in the bed. There was plenty of room for our stuff and I think that would still be true during snow ski season. The room was also very clean. The only reason I didn't give an excellent rating was that the bathroom does show signs of age and the decor is nothing special. There wasn't any mold or mildew or anything like that, there was just some signs of staining in the grout and crazing and staining in the tub. Nothing that made me reluctant to use anything, but it was there. The decor is pleasant and slightly old fashioned and suits the building. There are lots of nice touches such as comfortable chairs on the porches, a dining area with a refrigerator and microwave that guests can access 24-7, lots of books and DVDs available to borrow, and an excellent breakfast. In fact, locals do come and eat at the Aspen because you can get standard breakfast buffet fare or have an order cooked on the spot. Location is excellent. We did not have a car so we walked around town and we had no problems getting to the Town Park or any other part of the town. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Argentine room was probably the noisiest one available and it wasn't very noisy. Upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TellurideBruce, Manager at Aspen Street Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Aspen Street Inn and Telluride. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back whenever you can.

Bruce White
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from a skiing trip to Telluride staying at the Aspen Street Inn. What a great choice! Heather and Bruce are wonderful hosts, we loved our room and breakfast thrown in as part of the price was just a wonderful bonus. Both Heather and Bruce are extremely friendly, helpful and available for any queries about where to eat, what to see etc and the freshly baked hot cookies put out on the table when returning home from the cold of the mountain was such a lovely touch. Telluride is a beautiful, interesting town and the mountain scenery is breathtaking. This is a superb skiing resort for all levels with easy access and no lift lines. I can highly recommend my ski instructor, Todd Brown. He was fun, courteous and extremely helpful not to mention tolerant of our repeated mistakes. Would we go again? Yes. Would we stay at Aspen Street? Absolutely, every time. Christine & Tony Brisbane Australia

Room Tip: Apparently all rooms are different. We just took what was available and were very satisfied. Rind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TellurideBruce, Manager at Aspen Street Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Telluride with others.
We enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Cheers.

Bruce & Heather White
Innkeepers
Aspen Street Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you are looking for a great place to call home on your vacation to Telluride, then Aspen Street Inn is the answer. So close to the gondola for skiing and so easy to walk to town for dinner and shopping. The staff can not do enough to make your stay pleasnt. The breakfast was great every morning and the fresh warm cookies in the afternoon wer such a treat. Just can not say enough about how great every thing was.The inn was so quiet at night you never knew you were not at home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TellurideBruce, Manager at Aspen Street Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Telluride at the Aspen Street Inn with others. We want your stay here, whether it is for one day or two weeks, to be as pleasant and convenient as possible.
Bruce & Heather White
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

January 2013: Just returned from a week-long ski vacation in Telluride. Our local ski club stayed at this inn for the week. We had a wonderful time. Bruce, Heather, and their team were so nice to the 32 of us, very friendly and accommodating. Breakfasts were great. The inn is located one block from the main drag (Colorado Avenue). Very easy access to the gondola — about one block away. And easy access to the shopping and restaurants. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TellurideBruce, Manager at Aspen Street Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Aspen Street Inn. Heather and I are very happy that you and your group enjoyed your stay here. Hopefully, everyone arrived home safely and refreshed from their ski vacation in Telluride.

Bruce & Heather White
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

First of all, Heather and Bill, the managers are super nice and extremely helpful. The room was so nice and a great price. It was extremely clean, large, and comfortable to live in. The breakfast served in the morning was fantastic and filling! The location is great - 1 block from the gondola and 1 block from main street. We will definitely be staying here from now own. I have nothing to complain about!
P.S
Every night Heather and Bill served fresh baked, delicious, cookies that are a perfect treat after a long day of skiing!

Room Tip: The Crown Jewel was really nice and didn't require climbing the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TellurideBruce, Manager at Aspen Street Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Aspen Street Inn. It is always encouraging to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay here. The fresh baked cookies every afternoon are a nice treat after a day of skiing.

Bruce & Heather White
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a lovely hotel ! The hotel is owned by Heather and Bruce. We were greeted warmly by Heather; who detailed all the facilities and encouraged us to enjoy our stay. Our room was gorgeous.
The breakfast was excellent; with freshly cooked items. The range of food on offer was superb. Heather was on hand offering assistance, if required and being the friendly host.
We really enjoyed our stay here; shame that it was only for the one night.
Telluride is such a lovely town; great surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TellurideBruce, Manager at Aspen Street Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of Aspen Street Inn. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.
We are currently reworking the breakfast menu for the winter to offer some new items.

Bruce & Heather White
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Street Inn

Address: 330 West Pacific Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435 (Formerly The San Sophia Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aspen Street Inn is a charming 17 room Inn offering the perfect location in Telluride - 1 block from the gondola station (connecting the towns of Telluride and Mountain Village) and Main Street. Aspen Street Inn is convenient for skiers, shoppers and hikers alike - enjoy new bedding, a hot breakfast buffet (summer and winter seasons), wireless internet service, common dining/meeting area. Pet rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aspen Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Street Hotel Telluride
San Sophia Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.