We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a luxury hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lumiere Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lumiere Hotel to your Saves list
Lumiere Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Dallas, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a luxury hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We spent Thanksgiving weekend in Telluride and chose Lumiere based on reviews and an article in Forbes. The hotel has a very convenient location/short walk to explore Mountain Village and Telluride via the gondola. The rooms are clean, nice linens and products, turndown service and large bathrooms with steam options in the shower. The bar area is cozy with fireplaces and fitness room small but nice variety of equipment. The ski valet is the saving grace and the highlight of this property.

Now, on to the shortcomings: we were placed in 43--directly across from the kitchen/bar and it is VERY loud. Kids are running up and down the halls screeching like monkeys(another reviewer complained about this on YELP). Signs are all over about "well behaved pets"--they need to add a reminder to parents to keep their rugrats under control. There is no room service. The bar serves very light appetizers and sushi rolls until 8 but no other options for food or delivery. The hot tub is small and has no ambience. The phones do not work...none of the buttons for ski valet, concierge, front desk, bar are set correctly...we had to go to the desk for a hair dryer, to get our keys reset 3 times, to schedule a ride back to the airport, etc. We even tried to call the main number from my cell phone and it went to voicemail. These little conveniences are not too much to ask for at a property that advertises as a "luxury boutique hotel" or at this price point.

I would not choose this property as it really does nothing above and beyond.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare E, General Manager at Lumiere Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest

My team and I were incredibly disappointed to hear that we didn’t live up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on going above and beyond to ensure all our guests have a wonderful experience and feel terrible that we let you down.

Unfortunately you were absolutely correct that our phone systems had major issues last week and we tried very hard to fix ASAP behind the scenes. I can completely empathize with your frustration of not being able to reach anyone and having to continuously come to the front desk. Please be assured this has never happened before and it was something completely out of our control.

Upon reviewing your other comments, we are still all baffled as to why your keys needed reactivating each day and have tested the door several times since your stay. I am so sorry you did not tell us that you found the room particularly noisy as we would have moved you immediately. Thanksgiving is a particularly busy time for us with family stays due to the comfortable size of our residences and full chef kitchens. Again we would have been delighted to have moved you to a higher floor if we had known that you were disturbed in any way.

Again I am sincerely sorry we let you down . As you mentioned we have received many outstanding reviews and take any criticism to heart. My team and I have met this morning and I have even forwarded your review to the IT & Telephone Company and called them to reiterate the frustration caused on all parts last week due to their system change.

Kindest regards
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    11
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
122
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Lumiere Hotel in Telluride, Colorado is a great place to spend your vacation or weekend get away. Actually, the hotel is located in Telluride Mountain Village on a cul-de-sac in a very quiet location, a short gondola ride over the peak from Telluride downtown. In the immediate area there is a ski slope, shopping area, and several restaurants. The hotel is very well kept and the staff is courteous and helpful. There is a European style breakfast in a pleasing atmosphere overlooking the pool, hot tub, and courtyard. Our room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was very large with double sinks, bathtub, and a large shower. There are several locations for dining; in the village (short walk), top of the mountain (gondola ride), or in Telluride downtown (gondola ride). Winter or Summer, this is a Dreamy GetAway!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Lumiere and fell in love. Telluride is such a special place, we were pleased to find somewhere that made it even more special to us. We went to celebrate our anniversary and we were greeted in open arms. It is a pet friendly hotel with easy access to the outdoors. It's located within short walking distance to the gondola allowing you to leave your car at the hotel for your entire stay. With breakfast included, extremely friendly service and comfortable accommodations, we will not stay anywhere else. Hopefully you will be lucky enough to meet Emily and Jose-- they will take care of you and helped to make our anniversary unforgettable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the valley- the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the Lumiere for our honeymoon in September 2013. We had used a living social deal for two of the nights we were there, so they could have easily treated us differently from those who pay full price. When we arrived, Bas (the on-site manager) greeted us at the door and gave us a tour around the place. And to our surprise they had upgraded our room to one of the "residences" rather than the traditional room we had booked.

The room was incredible. Full kitchen, dining room, two bathrooms, an incredible shower, comfortable beds, multiple flat screen televisions. There was also a bottle of champagne with a hand written note congratulating us on our new marriage. The concierge was great about recommendations and helping us schedule massages.

We ate dinner at the Little Bar the first night we were there. Pretty limited tapas style menu (it was off-season so even more limited than normal) but everything we tried was great. They had local Telluride Brewery beers on tap which we appreciated. Breakfast every morning was great- traditional European cold breakfast- fine meats and cheeses, smoked salmon and bagels, pastries, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt and local coffee.

We used the hot tub and the sauna and the comfy robes left in the room (especially great because we were not expecting SNOW on our honeymoon, but sure enough!). The walk to the free Gondola in mountain village was easy, taking you right to the heart of Telluride. There are also several restaurants in Mountain Village that would be an easy walk from the Lumiere. During ski season, it is an ideal ski-in/ski-out location.

We live in Denver and had decided to do a short honeymoon here in Colorado to save up for a bigger international trip next summer. We could not have asked for a more perfect experience our first few days of marriage. A lot of this is owed to Bas and the staff at the Lumiere. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 40, which is a residence close to the front desk and the pool/spa area. Didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Lumiere for a wedding, and we were impressed from the moment we arrived! Incredible and courteous service, shockingly beautiful views, and a wonderful place to relax and BREATHE! The freshly baked homemade goodies and lemon water were our first "taste" of the Lumiere on our way to check in, and it only got better from there. We were lucky enough to stay in the penthouse suite with several other families--wow. That's all I can say. Just wow. Must go back and enjoy this quaint, little hotel (with outstanding service) again! Close to the gondola, great "Little Bar" onsite, nice hot tub with a breathtaking view of the stars on a cloudless night! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

What can I say, everything from the moment you arrive, to when you pack your bags to leave is amazing!!

Upon arrival you are greeted by the attentive bell hop, Jose, who is genuinely happy to help you get situated into your room and show you around the hotel. The manager Clare is very present in the front of house, and is very welcoming.

The last time we stayed here we were lucky enough to enjoy the amazing food at The Little Bar, we were at an event this time during our meals, so did not get to revisit, we definitely missed out! The sushi we had the last time (in the middle of the mountains) rivaled some of the sushi we have had right on the coast! The European breakfast is delicious, and the lady that assisted us was so thoughtful, letting me know that more food variety's were about to come out of the oven before I took our plates back to the room.

Saying that the rooms are extraordinary would be an understatement, they have literally thought of everything, and the views are to die for.

I cannot wait to come back for another fabulous stay at The Lumiere!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs,co
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very nice European Breakfast included in the price of the room. Fruit juices, fruit, brie, several kinds of bread, scones, 5 or 6 types of meats, boiled eggs, yogurt with granola.Available at 7:00 am.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lumiere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumiere Hotel

Address: 118 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#2 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#2 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#3 Family Hotel in Telluride
#6 Business Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lumiere Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lumiere offers chic slope side lodging entirely pet friendly in the heart of Mountain Village Telluride, with ski-in/ski-out access and a full suite of services and amenities. Accommodations range from guest hotel rooms to four bedroom residences and five bedroom penthouses that are consistently designer furnished to the highest standards with hardwood hickory floors, hand-blown glass fixtures, and original artwork. All accommodations are well appointed with seven layer beds, Egyptian cotton linens, plush bathrobes and slippers. Each guest hotel room offers a large, luxury bathroom, flat panel television, mini Subzero Refrigerator, microwave and sink. All one-bedroom and larger residences and penthouses feature gourmet kitchens with Wolf and Subzero appliances, washer/dryer, gas fireplace, flat panel televisions, and oversized luxury baths with separate steam shower and tub. The little bar at lumiere offers the perfect place to unwind with two fireplaces and a terrific lounge bar menu. A Hot tub and soaking pools line the patio of the Little Bar, perfect for star gazing and taking in the alpenglow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Lumiere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumiere Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumiere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.