We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious getaway for the whole family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lumiere Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lumiere Hotel to your Saves list
Lumiere Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious getaway for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Lumiere and fell in love. Telluride is such a special place, we were pleased to find somewhere that made it even more special to us. We went to celebrate our anniversary and we were greeted in open arms. It is a pet friendly hotel with easy access to the outdoors. It's located within short walking distance to the gondola allowing you to leave your car at the hotel for your entire stay. With breakfast included, extremely friendly service and comfortable accommodations, we will not stay anywhere else. Hopefully you will be lucky enough to meet Emily and Jose-- they will take care of you and helped to make our anniversary unforgettable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the valley- the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    11
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
63
137
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the Lumiere for our honeymoon in September 2013. We had used a living social deal for two of the nights we were there, so they could have easily treated us differently from those who pay full price. When we arrived, Bas (the on-site manager) greeted us at the door and gave us a tour around the place. And to our surprise they had upgraded our room to one of the "residences" rather than the traditional room we had booked.

The room was incredible. Full kitchen, dining room, two bathrooms, an incredible shower, comfortable beds, multiple flat screen televisions. There was also a bottle of champagne with a hand written note congratulating us on our new marriage. The concierge was great about recommendations and helping us schedule massages.

We ate dinner at the Little Bar the first night we were there. Pretty limited tapas style menu (it was off-season so even more limited than normal) but everything we tried was great. They had local Telluride Brewery beers on tap which we appreciated. Breakfast every morning was great- traditional European cold breakfast- fine meats and cheeses, smoked salmon and bagels, pastries, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt and local coffee.

We used the hot tub and the sauna and the comfy robes left in the room (especially great because we were not expecting SNOW on our honeymoon, but sure enough!). The walk to the free Gondola in mountain village was easy, taking you right to the heart of Telluride. There are also several restaurants in Mountain Village that would be an easy walk from the Lumiere. During ski season, it is an ideal ski-in/ski-out location.

We live in Denver and had decided to do a short honeymoon here in Colorado to save up for a bigger international trip next summer. We could not have asked for a more perfect experience our first few days of marriage. A lot of this is owed to Bas and the staff at the Lumiere. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 40, which is a residence close to the front desk and the pool/spa area. Didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lumiere for a wedding, and we were impressed from the moment we arrived! Incredible and courteous service, shockingly beautiful views, and a wonderful place to relax and BREATHE! The freshly baked homemade goodies and lemon water were our first "taste" of the Lumiere on our way to check in, and it only got better from there. We were lucky enough to stay in the penthouse suite with several other families--wow. That's all I can say. Just wow. Must go back and enjoy this quaint, little hotel (with outstanding service) again! Close to the gondola, great "Little Bar" onsite, nice hot tub with a breathtaking view of the stars on a cloudless night! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

What can I say, everything from the moment you arrive, to when you pack your bags to leave is amazing!!

Upon arrival you are greeted by the attentive bell hop, Jose, who is genuinely happy to help you get situated into your room and show you around the hotel. The manager Clare is very present in the front of house, and is very welcoming.

The last time we stayed here we were lucky enough to enjoy the amazing food at The Little Bar, we were at an event this time during our meals, so did not get to revisit, we definitely missed out! The sushi we had the last time (in the middle of the mountains) rivaled some of the sushi we have had right on the coast! The European breakfast is delicious, and the lady that assisted us was so thoughtful, letting me know that more food variety's were about to come out of the oven before I took our plates back to the room.

Saying that the rooms are extraordinary would be an understatement, they have literally thought of everything, and the views are to die for.

I cannot wait to come back for another fabulous stay at The Lumiere!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs,co
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very nice European Breakfast included in the price of the room. Fruit juices, fruit, brie, several kinds of bread, scones, 5 or 6 types of meats, boiled eggs, yogurt with granola.Available at 7:00 am.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The rooms were great, very cozy, loved the carpet and bathrooms were well done. Concierge was wonderful. My husband especially liked the flat screen that swiveled off the wall to face the bed! However, the food and beverage was basically non existent. The restaurant was closed the night we got there (fine, it has to be closed sometime), thus not much to choose from on the bar side except for a few beers on draft. The next night was a limited appetizer menu because the chef couldn't make it in. Wouldn't you have a back up for when that happens? Breakfast buffet was to be provided at 7am every morning, however, both mornings we went down shortly after 7am and it was just starting to be set up, no coffee ready, tea kettle not plugged in and warming, etc. For a destination that is based on full days of recreation, an early morning start is normal. Needless to say we ate out. There are a lot of great restaurants and bars to checkout. Essentially a great place to stay, just be prepared to eat out or bring your own food for your room/residence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare E, General Manager at Lumiere Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Sandy

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback. Further to our conversation and my email yesterday I wanted to once again apologize for disappointing you. Myself and my team pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service and knocking everyone's socks off! We are truly sorry we fell short.

As I mentioned in our conversation our Head Chef actually went into labor and we were unable to bring a replacement on short notice. On the breakfast front, we took your comments and held a meeting with our team immediately. There is no excuse why Breakfast was not fully ready at 7am.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to lumière in the future, and thank you once again for the valuable feedback.

Kindest regards
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Picture a pristine ski resort, with a European feel and staying in a perfectly maintained, well managed boutique hotel, staffed by a passionate, committed, proud team and you begin to get the feel of the lumière. I travel a lot and so have high expectations of properties that describe themselves as 'luxury'. The lumière is top class and deserves this description. One thing I particularly loved was the tasteful homeliness of the apartments and the high end appliances - especially the shower and the big Wolf oven and hob, what a treat!

What really made it a wonderful experience for my husband and myself was the genuine care for us as customers. We are from the UK and will make the long journey back to lumière as it is such a unique and special place to stay.

Huge thanks to Bas, Clare and ALL the team, including the ladies who took care of our room twice a day, the guys who took care of our car, the team at breakfast who made sure we always had toast and orange marmalade :-) and to everyone else working so hard behind the scenes to ensure we had a fabulous holiday experience.

See you in 2014 guys!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#5 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
1.8 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
1.8 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#3 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumiere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumiere Hotel

Address: 118 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#1 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#1 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#1 Family Hotel in Telluride
#6 Business Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lumiere Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lumiere offers chic slope side lodging entirely pet friendly in the heart of Mountain Village Telluride, with ski-in/ski-out access and a full suite of services and amenities. Accommodations range from guest hotel rooms to four bedroom residences and five bedroom penthouses that are consistently designer furnished to the highest standards with hardwood hickory floors, hand-blown glass fixtures, and original artwork. All accommodations are well appointed with seven layer beds, Egyptian cotton linens, plush bathrobes and slippers. Each guest hotel room offers a large, luxury bathroom, flat panel television, mini Subzero Refrigerator, microwave and sink. All one-bedroom and larger residences and penthouses feature gourmet kitchens with Wolf and Subzero appliances, washer/dryer, gas fireplace, flat panel televisions, and oversized luxury baths with separate steam shower and tub. The little bar at lumiere offers the perfect place to unwind with two fireplaces and a terrific lounge bar menu. A Hot tub and soaking pools line the patio of the Little Bar, perfect for star gazing and taking in the alpenglow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Lumiere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumiere Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumiere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.