We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lumiere Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lumiere Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lumiere Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off summer, but hurry
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Telluride
colorado springs,co
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very nice European Breakfast included in the price of the room. Fruit juices, fruit, brie, several kinds of bread, scones, 5 or 6 types of meats, boiled eggs, yogurt with granola.Available at 7:00 am.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    11
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
49
97
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The rooms were great, very cozy, loved the carpet and bathrooms were well done. Concierge was wonderful. My husband especially liked the flat screen that swiveled off the wall to face the bed! However, the food and beverage was basically non existent. The restaurant was closed the night we got there (fine, it has to be closed sometime), thus not much to choose from on the bar side except for a few beers on draft. The next night was a limited appetizer menu because the chef couldn't make it in. Wouldn't you have a back up for when that happens? Breakfast buffet was to be provided at 7am every morning, however, both mornings we went down shortly after 7am and it was just starting to be set up, no coffee ready, tea kettle not plugged in and warming, etc. For a destination that is based on full days of recreation, an early morning start is normal. Needless to say we ate out. There are a lot of great restaurants and bars to checkout. Essentially a great place to stay, just be prepared to eat out or bring your own food for your room/residence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare E, General Manager at Lumiere Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Sandy

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback. Further to our conversation and my email yesterday I wanted to once again apologize for disappointing you. Myself and my team pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service and knocking everyone's socks off! We are truly sorry we fell short.

As I mentioned in our conversation our Head Chef actually went into labor and we were unable to bring a replacement on short notice. On the breakfast front, we took your comments and held a meeting with our team immediately. There is no excuse why Breakfast was not fully ready at 7am.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to lumière in the future, and thank you once again for the valuable feedback.

Kindest regards
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Picture a pristine ski resort, with a European feel and staying in a perfectly maintained, well managed boutique hotel, staffed by a passionate, committed, proud team and you begin to get the feel of the lumière. I travel a lot and so have high expectations of properties that describe themselves as 'luxury'. The lumière is top class and deserves this description. One thing I particularly loved was the tasteful homeliness of the apartments and the high end appliances - especially the shower and the big Wolf oven and hob, what a treat!

What really made it a wonderful experience for my husband and myself was the genuine care for us as customers. We are from the UK and will make the long journey back to lumière as it is such a unique and special place to stay.

Huge thanks to Bas, Clare and ALL the team, including the ladies who took care of our room twice a day, the guys who took care of our car, the team at breakfast who made sure we always had toast and orange marmalade :-) and to everyone else working so hard behind the scenes to ensure we had a fabulous holiday experience.

See you in 2014 guys!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just returned from three luxurious nights at the Lumiere Hotel, a boutique hotel, and what a wonderful experience it was!! Being greeted on arrival by Bas, the Assistant General Manager was so special. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite that was absolutely stunning with beautiful mountain views, state of the art kitchen appliances, a steam shower, and tastefully artistic decorated dining and living rooms Delicious gourmet coffee is provided each morning .
A yummy breakfast is included in the cozy restaurant.
The location is terrific, close to everything one needs to do in Telluride with easy access to the free gondola to historic Telluride or a few steps away to the mountain village. It is also ski in/ ski out.. A car isn't necessary.
What stands out more than anything else is the quality of service and friendliness of the hotel management,
Bas and Clare, as well as Brittany and the rest of the "family" of Lumiere.

Having lived in Colorado for almost 40 years, Telluride and Lumiere keep this beautiful state the way it was when I first moved here.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great stay at Lumiere on our recent trip to Telluride this summer. Debated about spending this much, but glad we splurged. This is a really luxurious boutique hotel in a very scenic spot. The condo's are very spacious, well decorated and well furnished with top of the line appliances. The steam shower alone would make the stay worthwhile. The beds were comfortable and rooms were quiet.
The continental breakfast was very good with fresh ingredients and a nice selection. The pool area and spa are really nice. The staff was very friendly, professional and helpful. Concierge had great recommendations and really helped accommodate and arrange reservations.
The location of the resort is also very good, just a short walk to the Gondola down into Telluride and in the middle of Mountain Village.
Truly is an exceptional place and look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Lumiere over Film Festival week in August. We loved the quiet, luxurious suite of rooms. Each with a balcony with beautiful views. Staff very attentive and welcoming. Location close to all you could need. Liked it so much we signed up for November return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My sister and I took a "sister trip" to celebrate our August birthdays at the Lumiere Hotel in Telluride. We were received warmly by the assistant manager, Bas, who gave us a tour of this small, personal, luxurious high end hotel. Our room was way beyond our expectations! We had a cozy, yet spacious, living room and kitchen. The art work was tasteful and the kitchen was up to the highest standards. The bathroom was a room in itself. The bedroom was large and comfortable. Our mountain view was stunning from both the bedroom and the living room. Whenever we needed help or had any questions whatsoever, Brittni or Bas or Clare was there to help us. The hotel staff are all very friendly and ready to help at all times.

Bas and the GM Clare recommended us to take the 4x4 excursion high into the mountains along the Imogene Pass (an old mule track) past the Tomboy Mine and way up to "the top of the world". The guide Roger (from Telluride Outside) was knowledgeable, interesting and enthusiastic. I am very glad that the hotel staff arranged this tour for us.

The hotel is located in a quiet residential street at the top of Telluride. It is a 5-minute walk to the free gondola service that runs from the top of Mountain Village down into the charming, historical town of Telluride. The ride is a 13-minute spectacle on its own. Our 4-day stay in Telluride went by much too quickly. It was very hard to leave the comfort, the location and the personal service provided at the Lumiere Hotel. This is truly a gem, a small shining gold nugget, true to its name "Lumiere", which means "light".

People who are looking for an exclusive, personal, small hotel should definitely consider staying at the Lumiere in Telluride!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lumiere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumiere Hotel

Address: 118 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#2 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#3 Family Hotel in Telluride
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#6 Business Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lumiere Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lumiere offers chic slope side lodging entirely pet friendly in the heart of Mountain Village Telluride, with ski-in/ski-out access and a full suite of services and amenities. Accommodations range from guest hotel rooms to four bedroom residences and five bedroom penthouses that are consistently designer furnished to the highest standards with hardwood hickory floors, hand-blown glass fixtures, and original artwork. All accommodations are well appointed with seven layer beds, Egyptian cotton linens, plush bathrobes and slippers. Each guest hotel room offers a large, luxury bathroom, flat panel television, mini Subzero Refrigerator, microwave and sink. All one-bedroom and larger residences and penthouses feature gourmet kitchens with Wolf and Subzero appliances, washer/dryer, gas fireplace, flat panel televisions, and oversized luxury baths with separate steam shower and tub. The little bar at lumiere offers the perfect place to unwind with signature cocktails and freshly prepared tapas and sushi. A Hot tub and soaking pools line the patio of the Little Bar, perfect for star gazing and taking in the alpenglow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Lumiere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumiere Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumiere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.