We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Luxury and Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lumiere Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lumiere Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lumiere Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off summer, but hurry
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Telluride
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Luxury and Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just returned from three luxurious nights at the Lumiere Hotel, a boutique hotel, and what a wonderful experience it was!! Being greeted on arrival by Bas, the Assistant General Manager was so special. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite that was absolutely stunning with beautiful mountain views, state of the art kitchen appliances, a steam shower, and tastefully artistic decorated dining and living rooms Delicious gourmet coffee is provided each morning .
A yummy breakfast is included in the cozy restaurant.
The location is terrific, close to everything one needs to do in Telluride with easy access to the free gondola to historic Telluride or a few steps away to the mountain village. It is also ski in/ ski out.. A car isn't necessary.
What stands out more than anything else is the quality of service and friendliness of the hotel management,
Bas and Clare, as well as Brittany and the rest of the "family" of Lumiere.

Having lived in Colorado for almost 40 years, Telluride and Lumiere keep this beautiful state the way it was when I first moved here.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    11
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
50
97
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great stay at Lumiere on our recent trip to Telluride this summer. Debated about spending this much, but glad we splurged. This is a really luxurious boutique hotel in a very scenic spot. The condo's are very spacious, well decorated and well furnished with top of the line appliances. The steam shower alone would make the stay worthwhile. The beds were comfortable and rooms were quiet.
The continental breakfast was very good with fresh ingredients and a nice selection. The pool area and spa are really nice. The staff was very friendly, professional and helpful. Concierge had great recommendations and really helped accommodate and arrange reservations.
The location of the resort is also very good, just a short walk to the Gondola down into Telluride and in the middle of Mountain Village.
Truly is an exceptional place and look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Lumiere over Film Festival week in August. We loved the quiet, luxurious suite of rooms. Each with a balcony with beautiful views. Staff very attentive and welcoming. Location close to all you could need. Liked it so much we signed up for November return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My sister and I took a "sister trip" to celebrate our August birthdays at the Lumiere Hotel in Telluride. We were received warmly by the assistant manager, Bas, who gave us a tour of this small, personal, luxurious high end hotel. Our room was way beyond our expectations! We had a cozy, yet spacious, living room and kitchen. The art work was tasteful and the kitchen was up to the highest standards. The bathroom was a room in itself. The bedroom was large and comfortable. Our mountain view was stunning from both the bedroom and the living room. Whenever we needed help or had any questions whatsoever, Brittni or Bas or Clare was there to help us. The hotel staff are all very friendly and ready to help at all times.

Bas and the GM Clare recommended us to take the 4x4 excursion high into the mountains along the Imogene Pass (an old mule track) past the Tomboy Mine and way up to "the top of the world". The guide Roger (from Telluride Outside) was knowledgeable, interesting and enthusiastic. I am very glad that the hotel staff arranged this tour for us.

The hotel is located in a quiet residential street at the top of Telluride. It is a 5-minute walk to the free gondola service that runs from the top of Mountain Village down into the charming, historical town of Telluride. The ride is a 13-minute spectacle on its own. Our 4-day stay in Telluride went by much too quickly. It was very hard to leave the comfort, the location and the personal service provided at the Lumiere Hotel. This is truly a gem, a small shining gold nugget, true to its name "Lumiere", which means "light".

People who are looking for an exclusive, personal, small hotel should definitely consider staying at the Lumiere in Telluride!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our first trip to the Rockies and we had only intended to stay in Telluride for a few days and move on, but we received such a nice warm welcome into this lovely hotel by the great team that we found it very hard to leave so we changed our plans and stayed for the duration of our stay in Colorado.

The Hotel is in a prime location in the superb mountain village with easy access to the gondola for a spectacular trip to Telluride town centre; this means that you have very easy access to numerous good quality restaurants coffee shops and bars with no worry of a dedicated driver as your rental car will be parked securely at the Lumiere.

The one bedroom suite that we were allocated was amazing and the views from the various balconies were spectacular, leave the curtains open at night and wake every morning to a stunning view of the mountains!
Everything you need is provided for you in the magnificently appointed suite and you instantly feel at home, my wife cooked some great meals in the well equipped kitchen for our friends (One point to remember is that water boils at a lower temperature at 10,000feet) The bathroom was equally impressive with a fantastic shower that even included a steam function!
I found the under floor heating very easy to use, just set a temperature you want and leave it.

The Lumiere’ s other facilities were all very good too; nice big hot tub that was very welcome after day’s hiking in the mountains, The Little bar served a great continental style breakfast and the most amazing Sushi that must be tried

The management team that run the Lumiere are what really help to take this Hotel to another level, Claire and Bas have a great team that instantly make you feel at home nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, One really nice touch was the gratuity at checkout policy, This saves you constantly having to worry about carrying money in the hotel all the time.

I highly recommend this Hotel and would love to return in the winter as I could not think of a better place to ski from; The Lumiere is a top class Hotel for all seasons that is professionally managed and maintained to a very high standard.

Many thanks and well done to all the team for making our vacation a really good one.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell all the rooms have a great view as the lower floors are used for the Ski vale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent seven nights at Lumiere in August 2013 and could not have been more pleased and impressed with the quality of the lodging and the service we received. The furnishings in our suite -- particularly the bathroom and kitchen -- were first rate. We had a beautiful view of the mountains from our terrace. The management and staff could not have been more attentive to our every need and request, helping us to plan mountain hikes and debate which restaurant to try next. Breakfasts in the restaurant/bar were a perfect way to start the day and, in the evening, dinner and drinks were outstanding. This is simply an exceptional place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Lumiere for 2 nights. It was a beautiful place to stay and so peaceful. We were there in August so Telluride as a whole was not very busy. The hotel had a great pool/hot tub area that was great to hang out at after a long day of hiking and biking. The breakfast buffet was good. The Little Bar had a great wine selection and was a nice place to hang out in as well. Our room was very, very clean and pretty! The location cannot be beat...just a couple minutes walk from the gondolas which will take you into Telluride. We would definately stay here again!!! (ONLY kind of complaint- no AC so the room got a LITTLE toasty. There is a ceiling fan but wasn't making a ton of difference)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lumiere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumiere Hotel

Address: 118 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#2 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#4 Family Hotel in Telluride
#6 Business Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lumiere Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lumiere offers chic slope side lodging entirely pet friendly in the heart of Mountain Village Telluride, with ski-in/ski-out access and a full suite of services and amenities. Accommodations range from guest hotel rooms to four bedroom residences and five bedroom penthouses that are consistently designer furnished to the highest standards with hardwood hickory floors, hand-blown glass fixtures, and original artwork. All accommodations are well appointed with seven layer beds, Egyptian cotton linens, plush bathrobes and slippers. Each guest hotel room offers a large, luxury bathroom, flat panel television, mini Subzero Refrigerator, microwave and sink. All one-bedroom and larger residences and penthouses feature gourmet kitchens with Wolf and Subzero appliances, washer/dryer, gas fireplace, flat panel televisions, and oversized luxury baths with separate steam shower and tub. The little bar at lumiere offers the perfect place to unwind with signature cocktails and freshly prepared tapas and sushi. A Hot tub and soaking pools line the patio of the Little Bar, perfect for star gazing and taking in the alpenglow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Lumiere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumiere Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumiere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.