We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lumiere Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lumiere Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lumiere Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off all summer long
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I have just read a review that is critical of this hotel. Can't believe it! We stayed here for 6 nights from Jan 14. It is just lovely. Our apartment( on floor 5) was sensational. Roomy. Wonderful bathrooms- that steam shower is amazing! Staff very pleasant at all times. In particular Christine ( from Michigan originally)!, at breakfast. I will concede that the " little bar" is a slightly odd room for communal breakfast. A bit cramped at times. The kids that were there with us were really well behaved, though I must say the buffet was ravaged!! Breakfast fairly hopeless on Christine's day off! The ski valet blokes magnificent. We will be back!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    11
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
52
110
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in a deluxe room with a view, nicely decorated with new furniture, and spacious bathroom appears to be quite new. Tile was warm and shower and tub are separate. In the mornings though, you can hear truck engines and rear beeps while making deliveries and trash pickup. The passage between the heavy large dresser under the TV and the granite top of the kitchen counter is only about two feet apart. As I tried to walk through one time I bumped my arm on the granite corner hurting my arm. If the dresser is moved to make more room it will block the spot to the a/c control panel so had to walk carefully through that passage - poor design there. Small frig motor turned on and off quite often keeping me awake at night; turned up the temp that seemed to slow down the cycles. Concierge was incredibly friendly however somehow two reservations they had setup, one with ground transportation and the other a spa appointment at another hotel, were wrong; they did well with making dinner reservations. The breakfast is self serve, was the same every morning and not much of a variety; usually they ran out of spoons, glasses or mugs so had to wait for staff to bring more. This hotel is a family friendly hotel in that the staff of the small and only restaurant there tolerates kids running around and jumping on the couch and chairs near two fireplaces. The parents tried to subdue the kids but gave up and continued to eat their breakfast or sip on their wine at dinner while patrons gave them annoying looks. I complained to concierge that the kids were out of control but all I got were apologies. The two outdoor pools are in between tall buildings that felt confining. There are steps that lead up to the jacuzzi with a capacity of about ten with a view of the hotel across the street and if you're in the right spot you can see the mountain peaks in between buildings. The dry sauna next to the jacuzzi doesn't work - water is supposed to be poured over the decorative rock and heater however when I turned on the timer from the outside to start the heater didn't warm up; after about ten minutes I gave up. There is a small fitness room with a treadmill and a few stationary bikes. For any spa treatment, there's only one room and you get to it by going through the room of what appeared to be the employee locker room. If you want a manicure or pedicure you have to go to the other side of mountain village to Peaks resort - when it's around 20 to 30 degrees outdoors, your newly painted nails and toes are instantly dry almost seconds after walking out. Concierge offers a drive to the resort but I opted to walk. I had the treatments done and made it an adventure to walk back to the hotel and walking into one of the shops to thaw out since I was wearing sandals and felt a little frost bite coming on! The hotel ski valet take your equipment up to the slope so you can ski to a lift. In the end, my bill was wrong and I had to spend time fixing it, time that I hadn't planned in the morning after I returned from getting breakfast in the village and had to pack fast so I wouldn't miss my ride to the airport.

Room Tip: Noise from street for room with a view. Room without a view may have less noise but appear to face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Thanks to Bas and the rest of the staff for top notch service and really making our stay enjoyable. We stayed for a week over the very busy New Years holiday period.

Things we liked best about Lumiere: very helpful and attentive staff; clean room with nice bathroom; The Little Bar for breakfast and sushi; just a few steps to the slopes where you can ski down to the lift; in the end its about skiing and the ski valet rocks.

Not so great: for couples be prepared to be surrounded by children and and a few bed-headed, pyjama clad parents at breakfast; while the larger rooms are spectacular the smallest rooms are small and dark.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

First, we want to thank all the staff at Hotel Lumiere, they were wonderful. Every member of staff was genuinely friendly and overly accomodating. Special thanks for setting up Thanksgiving dinner in our room. Also the breakfasts were wonderful and the chef's enthusiasm perked us up as much as the coffee.

The room was great, felt like home. The hotel only has a few rooms which makes it feel more personal.

While in Telluride, we also ate a few resturants and would highly recommend Siam for Thai (great, large menu), and Bloody Mary's at Floradora where the best we have had outside of New Orleans (our original home).

Finally, would like to thank everyone at Telluride ski school. Our daughter age 6, had two great days of instruction from Janet. My wife also had two days from Bill Davis. They were the best !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Visited for 3 very enjoyable off-season nights, and accommodations and staff were all superb -- GM Clare, Asst Mgr Bas, Laina, Kristina, Brittany, Emily and Jose all professional, attentive, friendly and (so important for us) completely unpretentious. Housekeepers also personable and efficient, regretfully didn't get their names as we bypassed some of our daily maid service in favor of relaxing in our room.

I'm sure we benefitted from some additional attention given few guests in-house during our mid-week dates, and at first we tippy-toed around a bit so staff didn't feel compelled to jump up for us everytime we rounded a corner. But we quickly overcame that and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful common spaces the hotel offers, such as the cozy Little Bar and colorful patio and hot tub areas. The Little Bar had just closed for shoulder season the day prior to our arrival, so no chance to try their famous sushi, we'll have to come a little earlier next year. :-)

Great stay in lovely surroundings, with a great location close to the gondolas down to Telluride proper (best way to get around in 50 states!)

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: 46 if you can swing it, corner suite with one full balcony and one Juliet balcony = two times the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great Sushi with great service. We did not stay at the hotel, but we may consider the next time we are in town. Awesome location in Mountain Village and a very professional staff. Great outdoor seating and the hotel is as cozy as it gets without loosing charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have made several trips to Telluride; this was our first visit to Lumiere and what a fantastic experience! We were fortunate to arrive at Aspen peak and a fresh fall of snow capping the San Juans', and our top shelf one-bedroom residence provided an incomparable view of one of natures most beautiful displays. To add to this we were blessed with the most accommodating staff and warm, cozy surroundings making our one week stay a truly special life experience.

My life's profession required extensive travel and exposure to countless stays away from home both for business and for pleasure so it is no light matter for me to rate the Lumiere as one of the top hotels in this part of the world. Special kudos to Clare, the General Manager and her staff, Brittni, Shiana, Hali, Bas, Christine and Jose for going above and beyond to ensure our every need was met.

Don,t miss this opportunity if you plan to visit Telluride.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lumiere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumiere Hotel

Address: 118 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#2 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#2 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#3 Family Hotel in Telluride
#5 Business Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lumiere Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lumiere offers chic slope side lodging entirely pet friendly in the heart of Mountain Village Telluride, with ski-in/ski-out access and a full suite of services and amenities. Accommodations range from guest hotel rooms to four bedroom residences and five bedroom penthouses that are consistently designer furnished to the highest standards with hardwood hickory floors, hand-blown glass fixtures, and original artwork. All accommodations are well appointed with seven layer beds, Egyptian cotton linens, plush bathrobes and slippers. Each guest hotel room offers a large, luxury bathroom, flat panel television, mini Subzero Refrigerator, microwave and sink. All one-bedroom and larger residences and penthouses feature gourmet kitchens with Wolf and Subzero appliances, washer/dryer, gas fireplace, flat panel televisions, and oversized luxury baths with separate steam shower and tub. The little bar at lumiere offers the perfect place to unwind with signature cocktails and freshly prepared tapas and sushi. A Hot tub and soaking pools line the patio of the Little Bar, perfect for star gazing and taking in the alpenglow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Lumiere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumiere Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumiere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.